Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Gallery of Great Philosophers
Philosopher's Index This link opens in a new window
The Philosopher's Index provides indexing and abstracts from books and over 480 journals of philosophy and related fields.
Cambridge Companions to Philosophy, Religion, & Culture This link opens in a new window
This online collection serves as reference works for an inter-disciplinary audience, and contains over 900 downloadable essays taken from the Cambridge Companions to Philosophy, Religion and Culture (more than 90 volumes).
Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy This link opens in a new window
The Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy is a publishing project of the Metaphysics Research Lab at the Center for the Study of Language and Information (CSLI) at Stanford University. This is a dynamic reference work and each entry is maintained and kept up to date by an expert or group of experts in the field. All entries and updates are refereed by the members of a distinguished Editorial Board before they are made public.
Humanities International Index This link opens in a new window
Humanities International Index is a comprehensive database covering journals, books and other important reference sources in the humanities.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR provides access to full-text academic electronic journals in various disciplines including economics and finance, political science, history, literature, anthropology, mathematics, sociology, statistics, and education.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Covers literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, etc. Contains current full text scholarly journals which cover these fields and a significant collection of recent scholarly books.
Hypatia: A Journal of Feminist Philosophy
Coverage: 1997-2019 at http://onlinelibrary.wiley.com/journal/10.1111/(ISSN)1527-2001. t (Vols. 12-2019); 1986-6 years ago (Vol. 1) available at JSTOR
. As of 2020, Hypatia is no longer published by Wiley. Current content can be found on the new publisher's website: https://www.cambridge.org/core/journals/hypatia
"The only journal for scholarly research at the intersection of philosophy and women's studies, Hypatia
is a leader in reclaiming the work of women philosophers and is indispensable for those interested in philosophy."
Journal of Philosophy
Coverage: 2003-present (Vols. 100-current); 1921-6 years ago (Vol. 18) available at JSTOR
The purpose of the Journal of Philosophy
is "to publish philosophical articles of current interest and encourage the interchange of ideas, especially the exploration of the borderline between philosophy and other disciplines."
Coverage: 1996-present (Vols. 105-current); 1876-8 years ago (Vol. 1) available at JSTOR
has long been the leading journal in philosophy. For well over 100 years it has presented the best of cutting edge thought in epistemology, metaphysics, philosophy of language, philosophy of logic, and philosophy of mind."
Coverage: 1997-present (Vols. 31-current); 1967-11 years ago (Vol. 1) available at JSTOR
, the ancient Greek term for intellect, or mind, is one of the premier philosophy journals today. In its commitment to a broad, pluralist, non-doctrinal approach, Noûs
publishes high-quality critical essays, brief discussions, and important results of philosophic research. Noûs
has developed a high reputation for the stature of its book reviews and the range of its contributors."
Coverage: 2000-present (Vols. 109-current); 1892-6 years ago (Vol. 1) available at JSTOR
"In continuous publication since 1892, the Philosophical Review
has a long-standing reputation for excellence and has published many papers now considered classics in the field, such as W. V. O. Quine's “Two Dogmas of Empiricism,” Thomas Nagel's “What Is It Like to Be a Bat?” and the early work of John Rawls. The journal aims to publish original scholarly work in all areas of analytic philosophy, with an emphasis on material of general interest to academic philosophers, and is one of the few journals in the discipline to publish book reviews."
Coverage: 2006-present (Vols. 1-current)
"Unique in both range and approach, Philosophy Compass is an online-only journal publishing peer-reviewed survey articles of the most important research from and current thinking from across the entire discipline. In an age of hyper-specialization, Philosophy Compass provides an ideal starting point for the non-specialist, offering pointers for researchers, teachers and students alike, to help them find and interpret the best research in the field."
Radical Philosophy Review
Coverage: Previous 2 years (Print Only)
"Radical Philosophy Review provides an interdisciplinary, peer-reviewed forum for activist scholars, community activists, and artists to explore concepts central to the humanistic transformation of society. This biannual journal features original articles, special discussions, and reviews that will be of interest to those who share the view that society should be built on cooperation rather than competition, and that social decision-making should be governed by democratic procedures."