Philosophy: General Resources

Link leads to ebook version available with Butler University credentials.

"This best-selling dictionary covers all areas of philosophy and contains terms from the related fields of religion, science, and logic. Clear and authoritative definitions and make it an essential resource for students and teachers and an ideal introduction for anyone with an interest in philosophy. This edition includes 500 biographies of famous and influential philosophers and covers the most recent terms and concepts from Western philosophical traditions, as well as Chinese, Indian, Islamic, and Jewish philosophy. There are also many entries with recommended web links."

Link leads to ebook version available with Butler University credentials.

Features essays about major and minor philosophers; surveys all the subdisciplines of philosophy, such as ethics, religion, epistemology, and logic; and includes brief definitions of philosophically important terms. Arranged alphabetically with cross-references.

"A single source of clear and understandable definitions of philosophic terms, [particularly in] epistemology, metaphysics, logic, ethics, aesthetics and the philosophies of religion and politics."

"Written by a distinguished international assembly of over 100 leading philosophers, this is the most authoritative and comprehensive dictionary of philosophy available today. This new, single-volume work provides accurate and exhaustive coverage of all the key concepts, doctrines, and schools of thought from both the Anglo-American and Continental philosophical traditions, from their Ancient beginnings to the present day. A unique feature of this dictionary is the powerful series of philosophical self-portraits by many of today's leading figures - including Sir Isaiah Berlin, W. V. O. Quine, Richard Rorty, John Searle and Peter Singer, amongst others. In addition, the volume includes an extensive system of cross-references and unique usage notes, as well as comprehensive and helpful guidance on pronunciation and etymology."

Link leads to ebook version available with Butler University credentials.

"Covers the diverse and challenging terminology, concepts, schools and traditions of the vast field of world philosophy."

Link leads to ebook version available with Butler University credentials.

"Presenting a short biography of each writer, an exposition and analysis of his or her doctrines and ideas, a bibliography of writings, and suggestions for further reading, this volume includes both academic and non-academic philosophers, and a large number of female and minority thinkers whose work has been neglected."

"Talking Philosophy presents an informative and critical look at the basic terminology of twentieth-century Anglophone philosophy. It also examines the more important aspects of the terminology which philosophy shares with common discourse, and the language of argument generally."

The major general reference work in philosophy. Full and detailed coverage of philosophy as understood by the Anglo-American academic mainstream, yet reflects the growing pluralism of world philosophy.

"A survey of contemporary philosophical thought, an account of the current state of philosophical thinking"

"This work deals with major philosophical problems and philosophers with signed articles and annotated bibliographies on many topics."