Sociology Research: Data!

The Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research maintains a data archive of more than 500,000 files of research in the social sciences. It hosts 16 specialized collections of data in education, aging, criminal justice, substance abuse, terrorism, and other fields.

Data.gov provides descriptions of US Federal datasets (metadata), information about how to access the datasets, and tools that leverage government datasets.

From the Census Department, The American Community Survey (ACS) is an ongoing survey that provides data every year -- giving communities the current information they need to plan investments and services.

A longitudinal study of a nationally representative sample of adolescents in grades 7-12 in the United States during the 1994-95 school year

The ARDA strives to democratize access to the best data on religion, now including American and international collections and developing features for educators, journalists, religious congregations, and researchers.

State of Indiana data sets

The Dataverse Network provides access to data collections curated by the Odum Institute as well as collections owned by other institutions and individual scholars.

The GSS contains a standard 'core' of demographic, behavioral, and attitudinal questions, plus topics of special interest. Many of the core questions have remained unchanged since 1972 to facilitate time-trend studies as well as replication of earlier findings.

The Census has discontinued the American Fact Finder tool for exploring a number of US Census Bureau surveys and data sets at the community level. The census site still has a wealth of research.

Federal Government data sets on education across all states, demographics

An open-source database including information on terrorist events around the world from 1970-2017