Research Guides (LibGuides): Sociology Research: Find Journal Articles

Core Databases for Sociology

The Butler Libraries subscribe to important article databases that are not freely available via the Web. Search these databases to find journal articles about sociology, criminology, and related topics. In your search result list, look for links to full text, or click the "Find It!" button to access full text from another source, or to request an interlibrary loan.

SocINDEX with Full Text

A comprehensive and high quality sociology research database, including full text coverage of more than 500 sociology journals dating back to 1908, and abstracts for more than 800 journals dating back to 1895. This database also includes ebooks, conference papers, and “Author Profiles” on prominent authors within the database.
Academic Search Elite

This large multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,770 journals, including full text for over 4,000 peer-reviewed titles.
JSTOR
JSTOR provides access to full-text academic electronic journals in various disciplines including economics and finance, political science, history, literature, anthropology, mathematics, sociology, statistics, and education.
PsycINFO
PsycInfo, from the American Psychological Association (APA), contains nearly 2.3 million citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, all in psychology and related disciplines, dating as far back as the 1800s.

Includes access to APA PsycInfo research services, an alternative interface for searching and browsing the PsycInfo database. To access PsycInfo research services, visit the following url and enter your Butler email address: https://psycinfo.apa.org

Sage Journals
Sage publishes over 100 academic sociology journals, and you can search for articles from those journals directly on their site

Nexis Uni
Nexis Uni provides access to the full text of hundreds of major business and legal journals, magazines, and U.S. and international newspapers. Company financial, country, tax, medical, federal and state legal information, and accounting information can also be accessed.
HeinOnline
HeinOnline is a fully searchable, image-based government document and legal research database. It contains comprehensive coverage from inception of both U.S. statutory materials, U.S. Congressional Documents and more than 2,300 scholarly journals, all of the world's constitutions, all U.S. treaties, collections of classic treatises and presidential documents, and access to the full text of state and federal case law.

Social Science Open Access Repository
SSOAR collects electronic full texts from the domain of the Social Sciences and makes these texts available according to the Berlin Declaration on Open Access to Scientific Knowledge.
Annual Review in Sociology

Google Scholar

Rather than using Google, which will only provide access to information that is freely available, use Google Scholar to locate and access scholarly library-subscribed content. Google Scholar acts as a metasearch engine, providing results from all library-subscribed databases, and a clickable "Find It" button to link you to full text when available.

Google Scholar
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations.

Browse Journals by Subject

Browzine
Browzine allows users to browse, read, and monitor journals which Butler University Libraries provides access to. See also Android and IOS apps.

Full Text Journals at the Butler Libraries

The Butler Libraries provide access to many journal titles, some online and some in print format. To browse an alphabetical list of Sociology or Criminology titles, or to search for a specific journal title, follow these links:

Sociology Research

Contact Your Librarian!

Core Databases for Sociology

Google Scholar

Browse Journals by Subject

Full Text Journals at the Butler Libraries

CONTACT

QUICK LINKS