Today's proliferation of Web sites and Internet search engines provide a wealth of research sources not available before the creation of the Internet. One needs to be careful, however, because many of the sources easily accessed through Internet search engines, such as Google, and Yahoo may (and often DO!) contain unreliable and/or false information. In addition, queries made using these search engines often produce a large number of irrelevant or minimally useful resources. Sorting through them can be time-consuming!
REMEMBER: using WorldCat Discovery /online library catalogs and commercially-produced subscription indexes and databases is generally a more efficient and reliable method of doing research than "surfing the Net!"
Also, REMEMBER: Work out some of your search strategy before going online! Think about your topic. Write down key terms, concepts, titles, and the names of key people / authors whose thinking or work is relevant to your topic. Be sure to include synonyms of key terms and concepts. Also, consider important geograhic locations and time periods (i.e., geogrpahic and chronological limiters).
Places to look for information:
Use to find:
What It Is: A search that allows you to discover items in the Butler Libraries' collections and beyond.
What It Searches: Books, ebooks, articles, media, and more.
Click on "Databases A-Z" on the Butler Libraries' Home Page (www.butler.edu/library)
Use to find:
Internet Search Engines
Examples include: Google, Google Scholar, Yahoo, AltaVista, AskJeeves, etc.
The Library strongly urges students to begin by searching Google Scholar! It's available from the "Databases" list.
Use to find websites containing revevant information to your topic, but BE CAREFUL! Take the Butler Libraries' tutorial on "Evaluating Web Sites."
KF 27 Congressional documents. House. Monographs by committee and date of initial hearing.
KF 2971 - KF 3192 Regulation of industry, trade, and commerce. Intellectual Property.
KF 2971 -KF 2980 General
KF 2986 - KF 3080 Copyright
KF 3084 Author and puboisher. The publishing contract
KF 3086 Design protection
KF 3091 - KF 3092 Patent law and trademarks
KF 4270 - KF 4330 Regulation of industry, trade, and commerce. Science and the arts. Research.
KF 4288 - KF 4302 The Arts. (Includes government aid to the arts)
KF 4305 Museums and galleries. Regulations of industry, trade, and commerce.
ML 3795 Musical life - works about social and economic conditions of the musical profession
NX 1 - NX 820 Arts in general
NX 1 - NX 260 General
NX 280 - NX 410 Study and teaching. Research
NX 411 - NX 415 Competitions
NX 420 - NX 430 Exhibitions
NX 440 - NX 632 History of the arts
NX 650 - NX 694 Special subjects, characters, persons, religious arts, etc.
NX 700 - NX 750 Patronage of the arts
NX 760 - NX 770 Administration of the arts
NX 775 - NX 777 Voluntarism in the arts
NX 798 - NX 820 Arts centers and facilities
PN 2000 - PN 3307 Dramatic representation. The theatre.
PN 2052 Dircectories, guidebooks, etc. (International)
PN 2053 Management, administration, production, and direction
PN 2053.5 Public relations
PN 2291 Dramatic representations. The theater. America. Management, organization, administration
Art and society -- United States
Art boards -- United States
Art commission -- United States -- Management
Art patronage -- United States
Arrts -- Censorhip -- United States
Arts -- Management
Arts -- Management -- Vocational guidance -- United States
Arts -- Studying and teaching -- United States -- Management
Arts -- United States -- Finance
Arts -- United States -- Management
Arts fund raising -- United States -- Handbooks, manuals, etc.
Arts publicity -- United States -- Handbooks, manuals, etc.
Community arts projects -- United States
Copyright -- Music -- United States
Cultural industries -- Unioted States
Cultural property -- United States
Government aid to the arts -- United States
National Endowment for the Arts -- Management
Performing arts -- United States -- Management
Public-private sector cooperation -- United States