Research Guides (LibGuides): FYS: Music &amp; Language across Comm D (Bergeson): Welcome!

Welcome!

Welcome to the Research Guide for the First Year Seminar:

Music and Language Across Comm D

This guide is meant to help you develop the skills and tools to accomplish your course objectives:

To reflect on significant questions about yourself, your community, and your world.
To develop the capacity to read and think critically.
To develop the capacity to write clear and persuasive expository and argumentative essays with an emphasis on thesis formation and development.
To gain an understanding of basic principles of oral communication as they apply to classroom discussion.
To understand the liberal arts as a vital and evolving tradition and to see yourself as agents within that tradition.
To develop capacities for careful and open reflection on questions of values and norms.
To develop the ability to carry out research for the purpose of inquiry and to support claims.

The library (and your librarian) are here to help you! Use us early and often!

Resources To Think About

Academic Search Elite

This large multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,770 journals, including full text for over 4,000 peer-reviewed titles.
JSTOR
JSTOR provides access to full-text academic electronic journals in various disciplines including economics and finance, political science, history, literature, anthropology, mathematics, sociology, statistics, and education.
PsycINFO

PsycInfo, from the American Psychological Association (APA), contains nearly 2.3 million citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, all in psychology and related disciplines, dating as far back as the 1800s.

Includes access to APA PsycInfo research services, an alternative interface for searching and browsing the PsycInfo database. To access PsycInfo research services, visit the following url and enter your Butler email address: https://psycinfo.apa.org
Project MUSE
Covers literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, etc. Contains current full text scholarly journals which cover these fields and a significant collection of recent scholarly books.
Google Scholar
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations.

Looking for more?

Don't limit yourself to the databases listed above! Do you know what sort of subject area that your research falls under? Try finding a database through the Databases Grouped by Subject page. Pick a subject and you'll be taken to a page where the liaision librarian for that subject has compiled a list of appropriate databases for you to use.

ComDisDome (Communication Sciences and Disorders Dome Online)
ComDis Dome provides access to information in the fields of audiology and speech-language pathology. The database includes books, journal articles and dissertations, as well as professional resources such as institutions, and web sites, scholars, and grants.
PsycINFO

PsycInfo, from the American Psychological Association (APA), contains nearly 2.3 million citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, all in psychology and related disciplines, dating as far back as the 1800s.

Includes access to APA PsycInfo research services, an alternative interface for searching and browsing the PsycInfo database. To access PsycInfo research services, visit the following url and enter your Butler email address: https://psycinfo.apa.org

Need more on Communication Sciences and Disorders? Check out the CSD LibGuide for more resources!

JSTOR
JSTOR provides access to full-text academic electronic journals in various disciplines including economics and finance, political science, history, literature, anthropology, mathematics, sociology, statistics, and education.
Project MUSE
Covers literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, etc. Contains current full text scholarly journals which cover these fields and a significant collection of recent scholarly books.

JSTOR
JSTOR provides access to full-text academic electronic journals in various disciplines including economics and finance, political science, history, literature, anthropology, mathematics, sociology, statistics, and education.
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature
Provides article citations and abstracts from 3500 international music journals and other scholarly works including books, dissertations, bibliographies, concert reviews, critical commentaries, videos and films, etc.

All About eBooks LibGuide

ACLS Humanities E-Book Collection
ACLS Humanities E-Book (HEB) is an online collection of more than 5,000 books of high quality in the humanities, dating from the mid-20th century through the 2010s.
EBSCO Ebook Collection
Taylor & Francis eBooks
This eBook database contains accessible titles in the sociology, history, politics, and business & management collections

A book held by the Libraries will be listed in WorldCAT with the following information:

First, you'll want to note where it is. Is it in the Irwin Library? Or Science Library? Is it in a special collection or on reserve? If you're not sure what the location is or where it is, ask at the IC desk. After that, you'll need to look at the call number: this will tell you where exactly the book is in the library and on the shelf. The call number is like coordinates for finding a book on the shelves.

In Class Activities: Academic Scenarios

Football

New Phone

Tunes

What classes do you take?

Where to eat?

You're sick

FYS: Music & Language across Comm D (Bergeson)

Your FYS Librarian

Report an Access Problem

Want to reuse this content?

Welcome!

Resources To Think About

In Class Activities: Academic Scenarios

CONTACT

QUICK LINKS