Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

PCA 202: Introduction to Art History - Special Collections Tour

Welcome

Welcome! This topic guide is primarily for PCA 202: Introduction to Art History but also may be of interest to other Butler University courses, students, alums, or affiliated individuals.

This topic guide contains a selection of materials from the department of Special Collections, Rare Books, and University Archives at Butler University. The selection exhibits a variety of mediums, purposes, and time periods.

There are two options for navigating this LibGuide: 

  • The menu in the left sidebar
  • The "Next Page" and "Previous Page" links at the bottom of each page

For more library resources and library-related information for the Art+Design program, please visit the following LibGuide via the link below: 

Special Collections Session

PCA 202: Introduction to Art History encourages the examination of art through the perspectives of different mediums, purposes of forms and objects, and historical context. The department of Special Collections, Rare Books, and University Archives at Butler University contains a wide variety of materials to help in this examination. The following pages contain a selection of materials of various mediums, purposes, and time periods that provide a visual exploration of the ideas taught in this course. The formats of the selected materials include books, manuscripts, maps, posters, and prints. 

To navigate through the following pages in this LibGuide, either use 1) the menu in the left sidebar or 2) the "Next Page" and "Previous Page" links located at the bottom of each page. 

PCA 202 Course Description

Through a series of case studies, this course examines the importance of art as cultural expression across time and from a global perspective. The course introduces art through formal elements, medium, historical context, and themes. Students will analyze the style, subject, and patronage of works of art, and will explore art's relationship to religion, ideology, society, economy, gender and racial identities, and the interaction of cultures. Case studies will include painting, sculpture, architecture, design, printmaking, photography, among others. The course also incorporates mandatory assignments and activities related to a local museum, for example, the Indianapolis Museum of Art at Newfields.

Search Special Collections, Rare Books, and University Archives

Search Butler University Libraries online catalog for materials held by the department of Special Collections, Rare Books, and University Archives:

Material Format (Optional):

Advanced Search                                                                                    Powered by 

Special Collections, Rare Books, and University Archives at Butler University

CONTACT

Email Butler University Libraries
Irwin Library: 317-940-9227
Science Library: 317-940-9937
CAT: 317-940-8575

Like us on FacebookInstagramFollow us on Twitter