Butler University History Materials - PCA 202: Introduction to Art History - Special Collections Tour - Research Guides (LibGuides) at Butler University

Butler University History Materials in Special Collections

The University Archives held by the department of Special Collections, Rare Books, and University Archives preserves the history of Butler University. The large collection of materials includes a variety of mediums, purposes, and time periods. Included are a selection of frequently requested materials as well as links to digital collections containing numerous photographs, documents, and other ephemeral materials documenting the history of the University. In addition, links to the digital collections of The Drift (Butler University yearbook) and the Butler Collegian (Butler University student-run newspaper) are included for exploration.

Selection of Frequently Requested Items

The following are a selection of items that are frequently requested from University Archives. See each individual item's description for more information. Follow the links included with each photo to view a large image.

1922 Butler University Student Photograph

This photograph captures Butler University students in 1922 in front of the Soldiers & Sailors Monument on Monument Circle in downtown Indianapolis, Indiana. The writing at the bottom reads: "Making Butler History, Oct. 14, 1922 at Urbana. Butler 10 Illinois 7." It is assumed that the photograph was taken in celebration of a football team victory.

1922 Butler University Student Photograph
10 in. x 31 in.
Holland Studio.

Sketches of Proposed Landscaping in Front of Irwin Library, circa 1963

These sketches portray proposed landscaping plans for the area around Irwin Library. The sketches were completed during the construction of Irwin Library, placing their creation date around circa 1963.

Sketch of Proposed Landscaping in Front of Irwin Library (Facing West)
12 in. x 23.5 in.
Writing on sketch reads: "Irwin Library" and "Walking from Irwin Library toward [Jordan] Hall over bridge & water."
Sketch of Proposed Landscaping in Front of Irwin Library (Facing East)
12 in. x 23.5 in.
Irwin Library is in the background.
Sketch of Proposed Landscaping in Front of Irwin Library (Facing Southeast)
12 in. x 23.5 in.
Irwin Library is in the background.

Collections with Campus History Materials

Butler University Buildings and Grounds Digital Collection
The Butler University Buildings and Grounds Collection includes texts and documents, photos and visual images, and architectural plans that document the history of historical and current Butler University campuses and their buildings. Content is continuously being added to the digital collection online with descriptive metadata (information about the image). Content includes numerous buildings during construction, remodeling, and various other states of being; aerial photography of campus, illustrations, and architectural plans.
more...less...
Collection Description: "The Butler University Buildings and Grounds Collection includes text materials (correspondence, documents, ephemera, publications), images (illustrations, photographs), and architectural plans relating to buildings and grounds owned by, used by, or associated with Butler University, circa 1855–present.
These buildings and grounds were or are associated with one of Butler University’s historical—and present—campuses, including its first location at College Avenue on the near-north side of Indianapolis from circa 1855–1878 (13th Street and College Avenue), its second in the small town of Irvington just east of Indianapolis from 1878–1928 (approximately Emerson Avenue, Butler Avenue, and two railroads), and its current campus on the northwest side of Indianapolis (approximately Hampton Drive, Sunset Avenue, 52nd Street, and the Central Canal).
The materials in this collection were collected and compiled by the Butler University Special Collections and University Archives and include secondary and primary sources including research files, correspondence on building construction and dedication planning, ephemera related to building ceremonies and events, building specification documents, preliminary campus plans and surveys, photographs and depictions of construction and changes to buildings over time, and select architectural plans."

A Quick Guide to Accessing & Searching The Digital Collection of the Butler University Buildings and Grounds Collection (UA00.01)

Butler University Irwin Library Images Collection
The Butler University Irwin Library Images Collection is an artificial collection (a collection assembled from various donors, sources, and other collections) available online to celebrate the 50th anniversary of the Irwin Library building (1963-2013). Content includes a selection of photographs, architectural plans, and documents documenting prior campus history, student and faculty life, and the construction, dedication, and changes at the Irwin Library building.
more...less...
Collection Description: "The Butler University Irwin Library Images Collection includes photographs and documents related to the Irwin Library at Butler University which was designed by noted architect Minoru Yamasaki. The building was completed in 1963. Images of two earlier campuses of the University are also included."

Publications

A Quick Guide to Accessing & Searching The Digital Collection of The Drift, Butler University’s Yearbook
The Drift is Butler University’s yearbook. Many of the publication’s issues have been digitized and are available for online viewing and are searchable. The issues from the following years are available online: 1891-2013. Physical copies are available to view on-site in Irwin Library in Special Collections (3rd floor) and behind the Information Commons desk (1st floor). Three important notes include: 1. The Drift was not published every year so a missing year in the digital collection means a yearbook doesn’t exist; 2. The Drift went by other names during its history (The Gallery, Senior Book, Carillon), and these issues are included in the digital collection; 3. Yearbooks for Butler University’s predecessor institutions (Jordan Conservatory of Music’s Opus, Indianapolis College of Pharmacy’s The Mistura) are also available online in separate digital collections.

Butler University Yearbook (The Drift)
The Drift is the Butler University yearbook. All editions are available online. The department of Special Collections, Rare Books, and University Archives holds a full run of the Drift.
See the Resource Guides section on the Special Collections website for more detailed information on accessing and searching the Drift.

A Quick Guide to Accessing & Searching The Digital Collection of The Butler Collegian, Butler University’s Student Newspaper
The Butler Collegian is Butler University’s student-run newspaper. Many of the publication’s issues have been digitized and are available for online viewing and are searchable. The issues from the following years are available online: 1886–1892, 1893 [incomplete], 1935 [incomplete], 1936–2004, and 2005 [incomplete]. The issues published between 1893 and 1935 are not available digitally but can be viewed in the Irwin Library on microfilm; many of the publication’s issues are available for viewing in the microfilm format. Physical copies of the publication are available in the University Archives, but viewing is limited for the preservation of the materials. Current issues are available on the Butler Collegian website: www.thebutlercollegian.com.

Butler University Student Newspaper (The Butler Collegian)
The Butler Collegian is the Butler University student-run newspaper on campus. Most issues are available to view online. The department of Special Collections, Rare Books, and University Archives holds a near-full run of the Butler Collegian.
See the Resource Guides section on the Special Collections website for more detailed information on accessing and searching the Butler Collegian.

Special Collections, Rare Books, and University Archives at Butler University

This concludes the Special Collections Session and the selection of materials from the department of Special Collections, Rare Books, and University Archives at Butler University.

For more information on Special Collections and the department's holdings, visit our website:

Special Collections, Rare Books, and University Archives at Butler University The department of Special Collections, Rare Books, and University Archives at Butler University contains many books and manuscript collections relating to Indiana history and influential Hoosiers including the Etheridge Knight Collection, the Will D. Howe / Irvington Athenaeum Collection, the Kin Hubbard Collection, the papers of Emma Lou Thornbrough, and also the Butler University Archives. For more information, please visit the Special Collections' website or come to the Irwin Library, third floor.

For general information and questions, please email:

specialcollections@butler.edu.

PCA 202: Introduction to Art History - Special Collections Tour

Special Collections Associate (Liaison Librarian)

Search SC, RB, and UA

Butler University History Materials in Special Collections

Selection of Frequently Requested Items

Collections with Campus History Materials

Publications

Special Collections, Rare Books, and University Archives at Butler University

CONTACT

QUICK LINKS