Research Guides (LibGuides): Art+Design: Databases and Print Journals

Art + Design Databases by Content Type

Art & Architecture (Oxford Reference Online)
Oxford Reference provides definitions and in-depth, specialist encyclopedic entries across the broad disciplines of Art and Architecture.
Art and Architecture Archive
A full-text archive of magazines comprising key research material in the fields of art and architecture, dating from the late-nineteenth century to the twenty-first. Subjects covered include fine art, decorative arts, architecture, interior design, industrial design, and photography.
Humanities International Index
Humanities International Index is a comprehensive database covering journals, books and other important reference sources in the humanities.
JSTOR
JSTOR provides access to full-text academic electronic journals in various disciplines including economics and finance, political science, history, literature, anthropology, mathematics, sociology, statistics, and education.

OpenBibArt
OpenBibArt reviews the literature on arts from Late Antiquity to the present day, providing access to close to 1.2 million of bibliographic records of periodicals, books, exhibition and auction catalogues, published between 1910 and 2007.

more... less...

OpenBibArt is a bibliographic database born out of a collaboration between the Institut National d’Histoire de l’Art (INHA), the Getty Research Institute (GRI) and the Institut de l’Information Scientifique et Technique of the CNRS (Inist-CNRS).

Oxford Art Online
Includes Grove Art Online and Oxford Art Reference in one location.

Academic Search Elite

This large multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,770 journals, including full text for over 4,000 peer-reviewed titles.
ATLA Religion Database
ATLA Religion Database is the premier index to journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion. This database is produced by the American Theological Library Association.
Ebook Central
Google Scholar
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations.
Periodicals Archive Online
Periodicals Archive Online is an archive that makes the backfiles of scholarly periodicals in the arts, humanities and social sciences.
Project MUSE
Covers literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, etc. Contains current full text scholarly journals which cover these fields and a significant collection of recent scholarly books.
Visible Body Websuite

Visible Body is a group of online programs covering anatomy and physiology through interactive 3D models, animations, images, and quizzes.
After clicking the access URL, click the "Don't have Account? Sign Up" link to register for a personal user account. After signing up for a personal account, login to Visual Body with credentials you set up during the registration.

New York Times (Historical)
The New York Times (1851-2013) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
New York Times (Site License)
Click the "Star" icon for instructions on how to register for an individual New York Times account. Includes access to News, Cooking, Audio, and Wirecutter.
Once you are registered, you can log in to your account directly at nyt.com. Faculty and staff accounts must be renewed every four years.

This resource is provided by SGA, Student Affairs, Academic Affairs, and Butler University Libraries
Newspaper Source

This database provides a full-text digital collection of the world's major news content. It includes millions of articles from newspapers, newswires and news magazines. In addition, it offers television and radio news transcripts and ongoing daily updates from popular news sources.
Nexis Uni
Nexis Uni provides access to the full text of hundreds of major business and legal journals, magazines, and U.S. and international newspapers. Company financial, country, tax, medical, federal and state legal information, and accounting information can also be accessed.

AVON - Academic Video Online (Alexander Street Press)
AVON: Academic Video Online is a comprehensive multidisciplinary streaming video resource.
Films on Demand
Films on Demand is a state-of-the-art streaming video platform for a variety of educational media content.
Kanopy Streaming
A collection of more than 19,000 streaming documentaries and foreign/indie feature films.

Bridgeman Art Library Archive
Founded in 1972, the Bridgeman Art Library works with museums, art galleries and artists to make the best art available for reproduction. The result is an outstanding archive of images drawn from collections throughout the world. Every subject, concept, style and medium is represented, from the masterpieces of national museums to the hidden treasures of private collections. Fine art is just one of the sources of images; design, antiques, maps, architecture, furniture, glass, ceramics, anthropological artefacts and many others also feature in the collection.
LIFE Photo Archive
Search millions of photographs from the LIFE photo archive, stretching from the 1750s to today. Most were never published and are now available for the first time through the joint work of LIFE and Google.

Scholars Resource Art Images
A database of art images including: painting, sculpture, architecture, and decorative arts from various time periods. This resource also includes photos taken by Butler faculty who have traveled to various countries for teaching research in support of Butler's Global and Historical Studies course.
Visible Body Websuite

Visible Body is a group of online programs covering anatomy and physiology through interactive 3D models, animations, images, and quizzes.
After clicking the access URL, click the "Don't have Account? Sign Up" link to register for a personal user account. After signing up for a personal account, login to Visual Body with credentials you set up during the registration.

Full List of Art + Design Databases

Art & Architecture (Oxford Reference Online)
Oxford Reference provides definitions and in-depth, specialist encyclopedic entries across the broad disciplines of Art and Architecture.
JSTOR
JSTOR provides access to full-text academic electronic journals in various disciplines including economics and finance, political science, history, literature, anthropology, mathematics, sociology, statistics, and education.
Oxford Art Online
Includes Grove Art Online and Oxford Art Reference in one location.
Academic Search Elite

This large multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,770 journals, including full text for over 4,000 peer-reviewed titles.
ATLA Religion Database
ATLA Religion Database is the premier index to journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion. This database is produced by the American Theological Library Association.
AVON - Academic Video Online (Alexander Street Press)
AVON: Academic Video Online is a comprehensive multidisciplinary streaming video resource.
Digital Theatre +
Contains streaming videos of a variety of theatre productions and includes study materials and interviews with practitioners.
Ebook Central
Films on Demand
Films on Demand is a state-of-the-art streaming video platform for a variety of educational media content.
Google Scholar
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations.
Hollywood, Censorship, and the Motion Picture Production Code, 1927-1968
The Motion Picture Association of America (MPAA) Production Code Administration Files collection documents forty years of self-regulation and censorship in the motion picture industry.
Humanities International Index
Humanities International Index is a comprehensive database covering journals, books and other important reference sources in the humanities.
New York Times (Site License)
Click the "Star" icon for instructions on how to register for an individual New York Times account. Includes access to News, Cooking, Audio, and Wirecutter.
Once you are registered, you can log in to your account directly at nyt.com. Faculty and staff accounts must be renewed every four years.

This resource is provided by SGA, Student Affairs, Academic Affairs, and Butler University Libraries
Newspaper Source

This database provides a full-text digital collection of the world's major news content. It includes millions of articles from newspapers, newswires and news magazines. In addition, it offers television and radio news transcripts and ongoing daily updates from popular news sources.
Nexis Uni
Nexis Uni provides access to the full text of hundreds of major business and legal journals, magazines, and U.S. and international newspapers. Company financial, country, tax, medical, federal and state legal information, and accounting information can also be accessed.
Periodicals Archive Online
Periodicals Archive Online is an archive that makes the backfiles of scholarly periodicals in the arts, humanities and social sciences.
Project MUSE
Covers literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, etc. Contains current full text scholarly journals which cover these fields and a significant collection of recent scholarly books.
Visible Body Websuite

Visible Body is a group of online programs covering anatomy and physiology through interactive 3D models, animations, images, and quizzes.
After clicking the access URL, click the "Don't have Account? Sign Up" link to register for a personal user account. After signing up for a personal account, login to Visual Body with credentials you set up during the registration.

Journals in the Irwin Library

Artforum International
Location Butler Irwin Library Periodical Stacks
Summary Holdings v.20 (1982)-current
Latest issues in Scholarly Journals Collection.
ARTnews
Location Butler Irwin Library Periodical Stacks
Summary Holdings v.82 (1983)-current
Latest issues in Scholarly Journals Collection.
Communication Arts
Location Butler Irwin Library Periodical Stacks
Summary Holdings Retains latest 5 volumes (starting with 2010)
Latest issues in Popular Journals Collection.
Dwell
Location Butler Irwin Library Periodical Stacks
Summary Holdings Retains latest 5 volumes (starting with 2009)
Latest issues in Popular Journals Collection.
Hi-Fructose
Location Butler Irwin Library Periodical Stacks
Summary Holdings v.11 (2009)-current
Latest issues in Scholarly Journals Collection.
Sculpture
Location Butler Irwin Library Periodical Stacks
Summary Holdings Retains latest 5 years (starting with 2010)
Latest issues in Popular Journals Collection.

Art+Design

Performing and Visual Arts Librarian

Art + Design Databases by Content Type

Full List of Art + Design Databases

Journals in the Irwin Library

CONTACT

QUICK LINKS