Research Guides (LibGuides): MK 380: Principles of Marketing (Chamberlaine): Business Databases

Databases (Organized by Broad Topic)

If you know the name of the database you need, start with the Databases A-Z tab above.
Click on the other tabs to find databases by topic and type of source (ex: Consumers or Wall Street Journal-WSJ).

Databases A-Z

Note: The profiles in company databases are brief overviews and typically do not include specifics on company marketing issues or strategies. Use other databases to find that information. (Ex: Use Mintel for information on consumers and products.)

More detailed reports are available on public companies in the databases than on private companies. You will also find news about a company in a profile from a database.

For public companies, see the Form 10-K, which is an annual SEC report (government report). You can find the Form 10-K under the "Investors" section on a public company's website. See the Business section of the 10-K for helpful information on a company's products, customers, supply chain, and more. Also see the 10-K section on "Risk Factors." For help finding and using a public company's Form 10-K, see the "Company Research Tips" menu on this LibGuide.

AtoZ Databases This link opens in a new window AtoZdatabases is a reference and marketing database marketed to Library, Academic, and Government institutions throughout the U.S. This web-based solution provides details on businesses and households within the U.S.
Hoovers This link opens in a new window NOTE: Hoover's data is also available in Mergent Intellect; Hoover's provides information on over 24 million public and private companies. Search by company name or ticker symbol for company profiles, financials, IPO filings, news, and executive bios. Use multiple criteria to create company lists targeted to specific industries or geographic regions. Hoover's also provides a link to industry reports generated by First Research.
Mergent Intellect This link opens in a new window Mergent Intellect provides access to information on private and public U.S. and international companies.
PrivCo This link opens in a new window
PrivCo provides information on many private companies.

Mintel is a great resource for consumer information.
Statista will help you find reports, statistics, and infographics.

Mintel Reports This link opens in a new window
Statista This link opens in a new window

Use the eBook databases linked below to find free books on business topics for your case study assignments.

EBSCO Ebook Collection This link opens in a new window
Includes ebooks on business topics
Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
Includes eBooks on business topics
RKMA eBooks This link opens in a new window
RKMA Market Research reports contains a number of business reference handbooks

Business Source Complete has articles on global and supply chain issues. To find those, try filtering your results to "trade publications."
HeinOnline is a legal research database. Search for articles or case law using company names or subject keywords (ex: "insider trading").
IBISWorld provides information on supply chain issues within specific industries. If you are researching a company, look for a report for the industry in which the company operates. (Ex: Kroger operates within the grocery store industry).
Passport is a database for international business research. It is a great resource for all kinds of information on industries, products, brands, consumers, and more. First-time users: See the registration instructions on the "star" icon by the database name.

Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window Business Source Complete is the world's definitive scholarly business database. Includes books, case studies, company profiles, economic reports, industry reports, SWOT analyses, in addition to nearly 2,000 peer-reviewed journals.
HeinOnline This link opens in a new window HeinOnline is a fully searchable, image-based government document and legal research database. It contains comprehensive coverage from inception of both U.S. statutory materials, U.S. Congressional Documents and more than 2,300 scholarly journals, all of the world's constitutions, all U.S. treaties, collections of classic treatises and presidential documents, and access to the full text of state and federal case law.
IBISWorld This link opens in a new window Provides industry research, industry risk rating reports, and business environment reports. Industry research reports provide key statistics, market characteristics, operating conditions, current and forecasted performance, major industry participants, and other information.
Passport (Euromonitor) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides marketing data and reports on countries, companies, markets, and consumers from approximately 200 countries.

Note: Industry research databases provide information on industries (ex: grocery store industry), not on companies (ex: Kroger). However, you can learn about the industry in which a company operates by reviewing a report in one of the databases linked below. Tip: Start with IBISWorld.

IBISWorld This link opens in a new window Provides industry research, industry risk rating reports, and business environment reports. Industry research reports provide key statistics, market characteristics, operating conditions, current and forecasted performance, major industry participants, and other information.
Statista This link opens in a new window
First Research (via Mergent Intellect) This link opens in a new window
First Research provides comprehensive research reports on over 200 industries. Search by keyword, SIC, or NAICS codes to find industry studies that cover trends and opportunities, the competitive environment, financials, and executive profiles. NOTE: To get to First Research, click on the First Research link below the search bar on the Mergent Intellect home page.

Business Source Complete and ProQuest One Business are helpful databases for scholarly (academic) and trade publication articles. Articles from the Harvard Business Review are available in the Business Source Complete database.
The Wall Street Journal often publishes articles on large public companies.

Note:

The Wall Street Journal site license link will take you to the digital edition of the Wall Street Journal (wsj.com) to search for articles going back four years. (This is the personal WSJ subscription available through Butler Libraries. If you have not already signed up for your personal WSJ account, follow the directions with the link below to register).

Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window Business Source Complete is the world's definitive scholarly business database. Includes books, case studies, company profiles, economic reports, industry reports, SWOT analyses, in addition to nearly 2,000 peer-reviewed journals.
One Business (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window ProQuest One Business is a business library containing millions of full-text items across scholarly and popular periodicals, newspapers, market research reports, dissertations, books, videos and more.
Wall Street Journal - Eastern Edition (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
This is the Eastern edition of the Wall Street Journal, available from 1984 to the present.

Wall Street Journal (online edition)
You have full access if you registered for your free Butler account.

Wall Street Journal (Site License) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Click the "Star" icon for instructions on how to register for an individual Wall Street Journal account.

MK 380: Principles of Marketing (Chamberlaine)

Which Database Should I Use?

Report a Database Problem

Databases (Organized by Broad Topic)

CONTACT

QUICK LINKS