Research Guides (LibGuides): BSHS/RX 495 Hot Topics in Healthcare (Moore): Welcome!

Resources to Think About

Health Sciences Research Guides and Databases

AccessMedicine This link opens in a new window
AccessMedicine is a resource that features medical content, plus multimedia, self-assessment, algorithms, case studies, and more.
AccessPharmacy This link opens in a new window
AccessPharmacy is an online resource that allows users to explore pharmacy references, search curriculum topics, and research
Lexidrug [previously called Lexi-Comp Online] This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Clinical Reference Library integrates industry leading clinical databases, drug interactions, and drug images.
PubMed (MEDLINE) This link opens in a new window
Article citations, often with abstracts, from more than 4,000 national and international periodicals, books and dissertations in medicine, nursing, dentistry, and related topics; online equivalent to Index Medicus.

High Quality Online Health Information Resources

MedlinePlus
The National Institutes of Health's Web site for information about diseases, conditions, and wellness issues.
National Institutes of Health
Resource for information on health issues, clinical trials, research, education, and more.
CDC
CDC is the nation’s leading science-based, data-driven, service organization that protects the public’s health.
National Library of Medicine
NLM provides a comprehensive introduction to graphic medicine, including instructional and programming resources.
Cleveland Clinic
Find thousands of health articles and videos to help you take care of yourself and your family.
Mayo Clinic
Find reliable healthcare information from the Mayo Clinic, a national recognized nonprofit healthcare center.
Health and Medical Societies and Organizations
This list is composed of organizations and agencies whose materials appear on MedlinePlus health topic pages. These organizations include NIH Institutes, Centers and Offices; other U.S. federal government agencies; and selected non-government organizations. The consumer health content they create meets the MedlinePlus Guidelines for Links.
ClinicalTrials.gov
ClinicalTrials.gov is a database of privately and publicly funded clinical studies conducted around the world.
DailyMed
List of current labeling of drugs (with package inserts).
NIH Office of Dietary Supplements
Gives a current overview of individual vitamins, minerals and other dietary supplements

Fact Checking Sites, Databases, and LibGuides

Checking the Facts LibGuide
Snopes
An independent fact-checking organization that researches the origin of rumors, urban legends, and memes. The site is best known for debunking false claims, and also contains a Fake News Archive.
FactCheck.org
A project of the Annenberg Public Policy Center of the University of Pennsylvania, FactCheck.org is a "nonpartisan, nonprofit 'consumer advocate' for voters that aims to reduce the level of deception and confusion in U.S. politics."
PolitiFact
"A [Pulitzer-Prize winning] fact-checking website that rates the accuracy of claims by elected officials and others who speak up in American politics." The site is best known for its "Truth-O-Meter," which rates statements on a scale of True, Mostly True, Half True, Mostly False, False, or the lowest rating: "Pants on Fire."
SourceWatch
SourceWatch "profiles the activities of front groups, PR spinners, industry-friendly experts, industry-funded organizations, and think tanks trying to manipulate public opinion on behalf of corporations or government."