Butler Libraries' Butler+ Student Guide

Looking for research or magazine articles?

Butler Libraries has over 200 databases that contain research articles, trade magazine articles, book chapters, conference proceedings, reports and other materials.  The links below direct you to these:

• Databases A-Z (alphabetical listing by name)

• Databases by Subject 

• LibGuides (Research Guides created by librarians)

Can't decide which database to search?  Contact your Subject Librarian or our LibChat service!

It's the article you need, but the Library doesn't have access to it...

Request the article through our Interlibrary Loan service.

Interlibrary Loan is a service where, if Butler Libraries' does not have access to the article, we will request it from another academic or public library. We will notify you, via email, when the article is available.

While this is a free service, note that it will take up to 1-2 business days for you to receive the article since we are requesting it from another library.

To initiate an interlibrary loan, look for the ILL Request button for the article record you are viewing: 

Quick Steps for finding Articles
 

• Locate a database from the Databases by Subject.  We have so many that this can be challenging!  Remember to contact your Subject Librarian or the Libraries' LibChat for assistance with this.
   

• Search the database with keywords and use the database's filters such as: date limits, type of resources, language and other limiters to direct your search.
   
• If the article is not directly available as a PDF or as html full-text, look for the Find it Butler link to find it in another library database: 
   
• If the full text is not available via the Find Full Text link, select the Request through Interlibrary Loan option. (note: this free service can take 2-3 days for you to receive the requested item).