Research Guides (LibGuides): MBA 535: Marketing Management and Research Methods (Robinson): Databases

Helpful Databases

If you know the name of the database you need, start with the Databases A-Z tab above.
Click on the other tabs to find databases by topic and type of source (ex: Wall Street Journal).
Read any notes under databases linked on this guide. Some databases have limits on the number of simultaneous users or other restrictions.
Best databases to start with: IBISWorld, Mintel, RKMA ebooks, and Statista.
If your topic involves sports, try the Sports Market Analytics (SBRNet) database.
For data visualizations, including maps, use the SimplyAnalytics database.

Tips for Using the Sports Market Analytics (SBRNet) Database
Sample map from SimplyAnalytics
Shows percentage of those who bought from McDonalds over a six-month time period

Databases A-Z

First Research (via Mergent Intellect) This link opens in a new window
To get to First Research, click on the First Research link below the search bar on the Mergent Intellect home page.
IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
Includes SWOT analyses for some industries

Passport Database Registration Instructions

Passport (Euromonitor) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides marketing data and reports on countries, companies, markets, and consumers from approximately 200 countries.
Statista This link opens in a new window
See the Reports section. Also try keyword searches.

These databases provide brief company profiles and will help you create company lists (ex: competitors). For databases with articles on companies, go to the section on this page for "Articles: News/Trades/WSJ."

AtoZ Databases This link opens in a new window
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Includes company profiles and SWOT analyses for public companies.
Hoovers This link opens in a new window
Mergent Intellect This link opens in a new window
PrivCo This link opens in a new window

Thomasnet.com
Profiles for over 500,000 industrial suppliers. Tip: Set up free account for full access to profiles.

33 Customer Review Sites
Hubspot Blog posting found with Google search

Mintel Reports This link opens in a new window
Mintel Reports offers product and industry market research reports covering US marketplaces. Each report combines data and analysis of the competitive landscape, supply chain, market-share size and trends, and consumer profiles.
RKMA eBooks This link opens in a new window
Includes handbooks on consumer behavior, advertising, and marketing,
SimplyAnalytics This link opens in a new window
Choose "Sign in as guest" to access without creating an account. Limited to 3 concurrent users. SimplyAnalytics is a web-based mapping, analytics and data visualization program providing over 100,000 data variables.
Sports Market Analytics (SMA) This link opens in a new window
SMA is an online international sport marketing and business information provider focusing on sport participation, fan profiles, sports facilities, sport finance, sporting goods, sponsorship, marketing, media, and directories.

Public Companies: Mergent Online will provide detailed financials on public companies. Mergent Online also provides some supply chain information in public company profiles.
Private Companies: It is difficult to find reliable financials for private companies, so try BizMiner to find financial norms and benchmarks by industry (not for specific companies) and geographic location.

BizMiner This link opens in a new window
Mergent Online This link opens in a new window

Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
One Business (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window

Google News

Wall Street Journal - Eastern Edition (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
This is the Eastern edition of the Wall Street Journal, available from 1984 to the present.
Wall Street Journal (Site License) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
If you registered for your Butler WSJ account, you will have access to articles from wsj.com

Business Research Tutorials
Tutorials on business databases and other research resources

MBA 535: Marketing Management and Research Methods (Robinson)

Which Database should I use?

Report a Database Problem

Helpful Databases

CONTACT

QUICK LINKS