Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
RETHINKING BIBLICAL CHRISTIANITY
Biblical Studies Resources
ATLA Religion Database with ATLA Serials
ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials combines the premier index to journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion with ATLA's online collection of major religion and theology journals. This database is produced by the American Theological Library Association.
Cambridge Companions to Philosophy, Religion, & Culture
This online collection serves as reference works for an inter-disciplinary audience, and contains over 900 downloadable essays taken from the Cambridge Companions to Philosophy, Religion and Culture (more than 90 volumes).
JSTOR provides access to full-text academic electronic journals in various disciplines including economics and finance, political science, history, literature, anthropology, mathematics, sociology, statistics, and education.
Covers literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, etc. Contains current full text scholarly journals which cover these fields and a significant collection of recent scholarly books.
The Bible and Critical Theory
Coverage: 2004-present (Vols. 1-current)
"The Bible and Critical Theory is an exploratory and innovative online scholarly journal for biblical studies, published by the Bible and Critical Theory Seminar. The journal explores the intersections between critical theory, understood in the broad sense, and biblical studies. It publishes peer-reviewed articles that investigate the contributions from critical theory to biblical studies, and contributions from biblical studies to critical theory."
Interpretation: A Journal of Bible and Theology
Coverage: 1947-12 months ago (Vol. 1)
"Since 1947, Interpretation has offered pastors, scholars, and theologians a valuable resource for study, preaching, and teaching. Each issue explores a theme or biblical book with writers who have relevant expertise. Four to five major articles, "Between Text and Sermon" essays, and book reviews offer a variety of options for adding to and enhancing our readers' knowledge."
Coverage: 1999-12 months ago (Vol. 7); 1993-5 months ago (Vol. 1) available from ATLA
"Provides articles on various aspects of current biblical criticism. Provides a practical demonstration of how a particular literary approach may be instructively applied to a biblical text. Includes feminist and post-structuralist readings among others."
Biblical Theology Bulletin
Coverage: 1999-present (Vols. 29-current)
"Biblical Theology Bulletin is a distinctive, peer-reviewed, quarterly journal containing articles and reviews written by experts in biblical and theological studies. The editors select articles that provide insights derived from critical biblical scholarship, culture-awareness, and thoughtful reflection on meanings of import for scholars of Bible and religion, religious educators, clergy, and those engaged with social studies in religion, inter-religious studies, and the praxis of biblical religion today."
Coverage: 1999-12 months ago (Vol. 1)
"Provides a common platform for all those engaged in research into the Aramaic versions of the Hebrew Bible, the Apocrypha and Pseudepigrapha and the New Testament."
Currents in Biblical Research
Coverage: 2002-present (Vols. 1-current)
"Currents in Biblical Research summarizes the spectrum of recent research on particular topics or biblical books. Articles cover specific biblical books or clusters of books, ancillary ancient literature, archaeology, historical studies, as well as new and developing areas of study."
Journal of Biblical Literature
Coverage: 2011-present (Vols. 130-current)
"The flagship journal of the field, the Journal of Biblical Literature is published quarterly and includes scholarly articles and critical notes by members of the Society."
A Dictionary of the Bible by
Publication Date: 2011-05-01
"A Dictionary of the Bible is the most acclaimed, accessible, and up-to-date dictionary of its kind. Containing over 2,000 authoritative entries it provides clear and concise information about all of the important places, people, themes, and doctrines of the Bible. Terms range from earthquakes and mice to martyrs and art, and new to this edition are entries on Act of God, Old Testament and New Testament theology, Hanukkah, the Koran, mysticism, and many more."
The Oxford Companion to the Bible by
Publication Date: 1993-10-14
"Ranging far beyond the scope of a traditional Bible dictionary, The Oxford Companion to the Bible features, in addition to its many informative, factual entries, an abundance of interpretive essays. Here are extended entries on religious concepts from immortality, sin, and grace, to baptism, ethics, and the Holy Spirit. The contributors also explore biblical views of modern issues such as homosexuality, marriage, and anti-Semitism, and the impact of the Bible on the secular world (including a four-part article on the Bible's influence on literature)."
The Macmillan Dictionary of the Bible by
Publication Date: 2001-12-31
"A quick-reference guide to the Bible. Entries consist of the main people, places, customs, religious and cultural aspects, events, and institutions of the Bible."
Oxford Bible Atlas by
Publication Date: 2007-03-22
"A superb guide to the geography, history, and archaeology of Bible lands."
The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Books of the Bible by
Publication Date: 2011-11-18
"Books of the Bible provides a single source for authoritative reference overviews of scholarship on some of the most important topics of study in the field of biblical studies. The Encyclopedia contains almost 120 in-depth entries, ranging in length from 500 to 10,000 words, on each of the canonical books of the Bible, major apocryphal books of the New and Old Testaments, important noncanonical texts, and thematic essays on topics such as canonicity, textual criticism, and translation."
Oxford Encyclopedia of Biblical Interpretation by
Publication Date: 2013-10-15
"This work fills a crucial need in the field of biblical studies by providing detailed, comprehensive treatments of the latest approaches to, and methods for, interpretation of the Bible. Entries are written by expert practitioners and collectively provide a single source for authoritative reference overviews of the scholarship on some of the most important topics in the field of biblical studies."
Butler Libraries use the Library of Congress classification system, so you can find books on Biblical Studies at the following locations in Irwin Library:
BS 1 - BS 2970
The Bible: A Biography by
Call Number: BS450 .A763 2007
Publication Date: 2007-11-10
"Religious historian Armstrong discusses the conception, gestation, life, and afterlife of history's most powerful book. Armstrong analyzes the social and political situation in which oral history turned into written scripture, how this all-pervasive scripture was collected into one work, and how it became accepted as Christianity's sacred text. She explores how "as the pragmatic scientific ethos of modernity took hold, scripture was read for the information that it imparted" and how, in the nineteenth century, historical criticism of the Bible caused greater fear than Darwinism."
Sharing Mary: Bible and Qur'an Side by Side by
Call Number: BL205 .S53 2010
Publication Date: 2010-07-12
"This book is an anthology which includes all the stories shared by both the Bible and the Qur'an presented side by side, showing verse by verse the similarities and differences between the two. Starting with creation in six days, it leads to the Last Day of Reckoning, with its promise of heaven or hell, ending with characteristics God and Allah share. In the New Testament Jesus saves souls, who become angels on passing through the gates of heaven; in the Qur'an deserving men and women return to the Garden of Eden. It also includes controversial topics such as the position of women, crime, and war."
Ancient Texts for the Study of the Hebrew Bible by
Call Number: BS1184 .S63 2005
Publication Date: 2005-06-01
"The Hebrew Bible represents no mere collection of books but a stunning array of literary genres. To fully illuminate the history and culture of the Old Testament, it is necessary to compare these ancient writings to similar texts written concurrently by Israel's neighbors. Beginning with an overview of the important literary archives of the ancient Near East, Sparks provides exhaustive references to the ancient literary counterparts to the Hebrew Bible's major genres. Surveying the ancient writings found throughout Egypt, Mesopotamia, Anatolia, and Palestine, Sparks provides a brief summary of each text discussed, translating brief portions and linking them to literarily similar biblical passages."
Ancient Texts for New Testament Studies by
Call Number: BS2530 .E93 2005
Publication Date: 2005-11-01
"In Ancient Texts for New Testament Studies, Evans looks at the literature that had impact on, or is closely related to, NT texts. A summary is provided for each of the hundreds of important documents. A bibliography for each entry contains information as to where the texts may be found published both in their original languages and in English and other modern languages. The bibliographies also contain information about commentaries, scholarly discussions of the passages, and works of general discussion on matters of interpretation when applicable."
The Bible in English: Its History and Influence by
Call Number: BS455 .D27 2003
Publication Date: 2003-08-11
"A history of English translations of the Bible, from approximately the fourth century to the present day, explains the work of major translators, the history of influential translations following Tyndale, including Coverdale's, the Geneva Bibles and the King James Bible, and how greatly American translations have contributed in the late twentieth century."
The Bible and Narrative Tradition by
Call Number: BS535 .B49 1986
Publication Date: 1986-04-17
"This collection of six essays by noted literary critics and biblical scholars--including Harold Bloom, Hans Frei, Frank Kermode, James Robinson, Donald Foster, and Herbert Schneidau--explores the Bible as poetry, rhetoric, and narrative. The authors treat such issues involved in biblical narrative as its genesis, its revisionist dynamic, its fictional character, its interpretive nature, and its contradictions, prejudices, and claims. McConnell's introduction elucidates and unifies the book's themes."
The Cambridge Companion to Biblical Interpretation by
Call Number: BS511.2 .C35 1998
Publication Date: 1998-07-28
"This book provides the first complete guide for students to the present state of biblical studies. The twenty-one specially commissioned chapters are written by established scholars from North America and Britain, and represent both traditional and contemporary points of view. The chapters in Part One cover all the methods and approaches currently practised in the academic study of the Bible, while those in Part Two examine the major categories of books in the Bible from the perspective of recent scholarship - e.g. historical books of the Old Testament, Gospels, prophetic literature. Major issues raised are: the relation of modern 'critical' study of the Bible to 'pre-critical' and 'post-critical' approaches; the place of history in the study of the Bible; feminist, liberationist and new historicist concerns; the relation of Christian and Jewish scholarship; and recent interest in the Bible as literature."
The Old Testament: A Very Short Introduction by
Publication Date: 2008-03-28
"The author offers an exploration of the 'Old Testament', illuminating its importance as history, literature, and sacred text. He provides an overview of one of the great pillars of Western religion and culture, a book which remains important today for Jews, Christians, and Muslims worldwide."
The Dead Sea Scrolls: A Very Short Introduction by
Publication Date: 2006-01-19
"Everyone has heard of of the Dead Sea Scrolls, but amidst the conspiracies, the politics, and the sensational claims, it can be difficult to separate myth from reality. Here, Timothy Lim explores the cultural and historical background of the scrolls, and examines their significance for our understanding of the Old Testament and the origins of Christianity and Judaism. Lim tells the fascinating story of the scrolls since their discouvery; their cultural context through the archaeology and history of the Dead Sea region. He explains the science behind their deciphering and dating, and does not omit the cast of characters, scandals, and controversies that have hastened the scrolls' rise to the status of cultrual icon."
The New Testament as Literature: A Very Short Introduction by
Publication Date: 2008-10-24
"The words, phrases, and stories of the New Testament permeate the English language. Indeed, this relatively small group of twenty-seven works, written during the height of the Roman Empire, not only helped create and sustain a vast world religion, but also have been integral to the larger cultural dynamics of the West, above and beyond particular religious expressions. Looking at the New Testament through the lens of literary study, Kyle Keefer offers an engrossing exploration of this revered religious text as a work of literature, but also keeps in focus its theological ramifications."
The Bible Now by
Publication Date: 2011-01-01
"The Bible has been a positive force but also has been misread, mistranslated, and misused. Friedman and Dolansky address what the Bible has to say about key issues in current events, including homosexuality, abortion, gender, capital punishment, and the earth."