Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
AMERICAN BUDDHIST PERSPECTIVE
ATLA Religion Database with ATLA Serials
ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials combines the premier index to journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion with ATLA's online collection of major religion and theology journals. This database is produced by the American Theological Library Association.
Cambridge Companions to Philosophy, Religion, & Culture
This online collection serves as reference works for an inter-disciplinary audience, and contains over 900 downloadable essays taken from the Cambridge Companions to Philosophy, Religion and Culture (more than 90 volumes).
JSTOR provides access to full-text academic electronic journals in various disciplines including economics and finance, political science, history, literature, anthropology, mathematics, sociology, statistics, and education.
Covers literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, etc. Contains current full text scholarly journals which cover these fields and a significant collection of recent scholarly books.
Buddhist Studies Review
Coverage: 2003-present (Vols. 20-current)
Buddhist Studies Review features articles on the following topics: "the different cultural areas where Buddhism exists or has existed (in South, Southeast, Central and East Asia); historical and contemporary aspects (including developments in 'Western' Buddhism); theoretical, practical and methodological issues; textual, linguistic, archaeological and art-historical studies; and different disciplinary approaches to the subject (e.g. Archaeology, Art History, Anthropology, Asian Studies, Comparative Religion, Law, Oriental Studies, Philosophy, Philology, Psychology, Religious Studies, Theology)."
Coverage: 1999-present (Vols. 19-current); 1981-2010 (Vols. 1-30) available at JSTOR
"A scholarly journal devoted to Buddhism and Christianity and their historical and contemporary interrelationships, Buddhist-Christian Studies
presents thoughtful articles, conference reports, and book reviews. It also includes sections on comparative methodology and historical comparisons, as well as ongoing discussions from two dialogue conferences: the Theological Encounter with Buddhism, and the Japan Society for Buddhist Christian Studies."
Canadian Journal of Buddhist Studies
Coverage: 2005-present (Vols. 1-current)
"Canadian Journal of Buddhist Studies seeks to to provide an avenue to share information on proposed, ongoing and completed reasearch activities on Canadian Buddhism and to help develop a pan-Buddhist understanding, at both the theoretical and the praxis levels."
Coverage: 2003-18 months ago (Vol. 4)
"Contemporary Buddhism is cross-disciplinary in its outlook and in addition to Buddhist and Religious Studies approaches, presents work from philosophers, anthropologists, psychologists, sociologists, historians, theologians and political scientists. Contemporary Buddhism examines the historical, doctrinal, literary, social and political developments that have formed contemporary versions of Buddhism, East and West."
Coverage: 1967-2012 (Vols. 2-43)
"The Eastern Buddhist carries articles on all aspects of Buddhism as well as English translations of classical Buddhist texts and works by modern Buddhist thinkers."
Journal of Buddhist Ethics
Coverage: 1994-present (Vols. 1-current)
"The Journal of Buddhist Ethics is the first academic journal dedicated entirely to Buddhist ethics. Subject matter includes: Vinaya and Jurisprudence; Medical Ethics; Philosophical Ethics; Human Rights; Ethics and Psychology; Ecology and the Environment; Social and Political Philosophy; Cross-cultural Ethics; Ethics and Anthropology; Interfaith Dialogue on Ethics"
Journal of Buddhist Philosophy
Coverage: 2014-present (Vols. 1-current)
"The Journal of Buddhist Philosophy provides a forum for the exploration and investigation of Buddhist philosophy using terms from within the Buddhist tradition and allows Buddhist philosophy as an independent discipline to engage in conversations with buddhology, comparative philosophy, and Buddhist critical reflection."
Journal of Global Buddhism
Coverage: 2000-present (Vols. 1-current)
"The Journal of Global Buddhism has been established to promote the study of Buddhism's globalization and its transcontinental interrelatedness. This aim shall be achieved through the publication of research articles, special issues, discussions, critical notes, and book reviews. Additionally, the journal will function as an independent research tool itself, emphasizing surveys, the creation of databases, empirical investigations, and through the presentation of ongoing research projects."
Journal of the International Association of Buddhist Studies
Coverage: 1978-5 years ago (Vol. 1)
"The Journal of the International Association of Buddhist Studies is the organ of the International Association of Buddhist Studies. The JIABS welcomes scholarly contributions in all areas of Buddhist Studies and publishes lengthy and substantial review articles."
Journal of the Oxford Centre for Buddhist Studies
Coverage: 2011-2013 (Vols. 1-4)
The Journal of the Oxford Centre for Buddhist Studies publishes articles on various topics relating to Buddhism, giving preference to articles accessible to non-specialists.
Pacific World: Journal of the Institute of Buddhist Studies
Coverage: 1999-2011 (Vols. 1-13); issues from 1982-1996 can be located at the journal homepage
"Pacific World: Journal of the Institute of Buddhist Studies
provides a venue for the publication of research and reflection on contemporary issues in Buddhism, with a particular but not exclusive emphasis on the Shin tradition. Contemporary issues include both those related to the application of Shin and Buddhist thought in our present world, and those having to do with the origin, development, and current state of Buddhism as an institution, practice, and system of thought."
A Dictionary of Buddhism by
Publication Date: 2012
"This dictionary features broad-ranging entries on the history and doctrines of the major Buddhist schools, information on the spread of Buddhism in Asia and the West, and coverage of issues of contemporary concern such as human rights, abortion, euthanasia, ‘engaged Buddhism’, and the role of women in Buddhist teachings."
The Princeton Dictionary of Buddhism by
Publication Date: 2013-11-24
"With more than 5,000 entries totaling over a million words, this is the most comprehensive and authoritative dictionary of Buddhism ever produced in English. The Princeton Dictionary of Buddhism bridges the major Buddhist traditions to provide encyclopedic coverage of the most important terms, concepts, texts, authors, deities, schools, monasteries, and geographical sites from across the history of Buddhism."
The A to Z of Buddhism by
Publication Date: 2009
"The A to Z of Buddhism covers and clarifies Buddhist concepts, significant figures, movements, schools, places, activities, and periods. This is done through a chronology, an introductory essay, a bibliography, and over 700 cross-referenced dictionary entries."
Encyclopedia of Buddhism by
Call Number: REF BQ128 .E62 2004 v. 1-2
Publication Date: 2005
"Providing a comprehensive overview of one of Asia's most important religious and social forces, the Encyclopedia of Buddhism describes the Buddhist world view, basic teachings and practices of Buddhism, as well as its different schools and sects. In addition to containing entries on Buddhist scriptures, art, architecture, saints, demons, monastic orders, festivals, rites and ceremonies, this two-volume set explores the history of Buddhism, the different forms it has taken in different parts of the world, and how Buddhism has blended with other religions like Shinto, Confucianism, Taoism and Christianity."
Encyclopedia of Buddhism by
Call Number: BQ128 .E625 2007
Publication Date: 2004-02-20
"Reflects the state of scholarship in Buddhist Studies, its entries being written by specialists in many areas, presenting an overview of Buddhist history, thought and practices, most entries having cross-referencing to others and bibliographical references. This work contains around 1000 pages and 500,000 words, totalling around 1200 entries."
Butler Libraries use the Library of Congress classification system, so you can find books on Buddhism at the following locations in Irwin Library:
BQ 1 - BQ 9519
Call Number: BQ4022 .H38 1999
Publication Date: 1998-09-02
"Buddhism is a concise and readable survey of the history of Buddhism from its roots in India to its spread across South and East Asia and its present day manifestation in Europe and America. Focusing particularly on the modern period, it provides a valuable introduction to the different paths of Buddhism—the beliefs and practices—and looks at the ways in which this religion is meeting the challenges of the modern world."
Early Buddhist Discourses by
Call Number: BQ1192.E53 H65 2006
Publication Date: 2006-03-01
"An anthology of discourses from the Pali Canon, this work provides an account of Buddhist teachings from the earliest primary sources. It contains a general introduction that discusses the structure and language of the Pali Canon - its importance within the Buddhist tradition, and the historical context in which it developed."
The Tibetan Book of the Dead by
Call Number: BQ4490 .K3713 2006
Publication Date: 2006-01-19
"Contains a translation of the key Buddhist text that follows a Buddhist priest and student as they guide a deceased person into afterlife, chronicling the progress of the soul through death and rebirth in three stages."
Call Number: BQ882 .A76 2001
Publication Date: 2001-02-19
"A world-renouned religious thinker contemplates one of the world's most sacred figures. In a profound blend of biography, religion, history, and philosophy, Armstrong's highly original portrait of the Buddha explores both the archetypal religious icon and Buddha the man."
An Introduction to Buddhist Psychology by
Call Number: BQ4570.P76 D47 2005
Publication Date: 2005-11-29
"This introduction to the foundations of Buddhist psychology provides coverage of the basic concepts and issues in the psychology of Buddhism and thus it deals with the nature of psychological inquiry, concepts of mind, consciousness and behavior, motivation, emotions, perception, and the therapeutic structure of Buddhist psychology."
South Asian Buddhism: A Survey by
Call Number: BQ322 .B47 2010
Publication Date: 2009-08-13
"Presents a comprehensive historical survey of a range of Buddhist traditions throughout South Asia from the beginnings of the religion up to the present. This book discusses the rise of Buddhist monastic organizations and texts among the early Mainstream Buddhist schools."
What Makes You Not a Buddhist by
Call Number: BQ4132 .D96 2007
Publication Date: 2006-12-05
"So you think you're a Buddhist? Think again. Tibetan Buddhist master Dzongsar Jamyang Khyentse, one of the most creative and innovative lamas teaching today, throws down the gauntlet to the Buddhist world, challenging common misconceptions, stereotypes, and fantasies. With wit and irony, Khyentse urges readers to move beyond the superficial trappings of Buddhism—beyond the romance with beads, incense, or exotic robes—straight to the heart of what the Buddha taught."
Buddhism: A Very Short Introduction by
Publication Date: 1996-01-01
"Buddhism: A Very Short Introduction introduces the reader to the teachings of the Buddha and to the workings of Buddhism in daily life. Damien Keown looks at the distinctive features of Buddhism, examining who the Buddha was and what his teachings were. By considering how Buddhist thought has developed over the centuries, Keown considers how contemporary dilemmas can be faced from a Buddhist perspective."
The Buddha: A Very Short Introduction by
Publication Date: 2001-01-01
"Michael Carrithers guides us through the complex and sometimes conflicting information that Buddhist texts give about the life and teaching of the Buddha. He discusses the social and political background of India in the Buddha's time, and traces the development of his thought. He also assesses the rapid and widespread assimilation of Buddhism and its contemporary relevance."
The Foundations of Buddhism by
Publication Date: 1998-07-01
"Buddhism is a vast and complex religious and philosophical tradition with a history that stretches over 2,500 years, and which is now followed by around 115 million people. In this introduction to the foundations of Buddhism, Rupert Gethin concentrates on the ideas and practices which constitute the common heritage of the different traditions of Buddhism (Thervada, Tibetan, and Eastern) that exist in the world today. From the narrative of the story of the Buddha, through discussions of aspects such as textual traditions, the framework of the Four Noble Truths, the interaction between the monastic and lay ways of life, the cosmology of karma and rebirth, and the path of the bodhisattva, this book provides a stimulating introduction to Buddhism as a religion and way of life."
The Different Paths of Buddhism by
Call Number: BQ4022 .O57 2005
Publication Date: 2005-01-06
"Offers a comprehensive introduction to the main branches of the Buddhist tradition in both the Mahayana and Theravada schools, including the Madhyamika school, the Yogacara school, Pure Land devotionalism, Tibetan Tantric Buddhism, Zen Buddhism, and village folk Buddhist traditions. Chapters explore the life and teachings of the Buddha in historical context, the early development and institutionalization of Buddhism, its geographic spread across Asia and eventually to the United States, philosophy and ethics, the relationship between monks and laity, political and ethical implications, the role of women in the Buddhist tradition, and contemporary reinterpretations of Buddhism."
The Spirit of the Buddha by
Call Number: BQ1172.E5 B38 2010
Publication Date: 2010-07-27
"In this slim, enlightening volume, internationally recognized Buddhist teacher Martine Batchelor presents the basic tenets and teachings of the Buddha through a selection of essential texts from the Pali canon, the earliest Buddhist scriptures. Viewed by scholars as the actual substance of the historical teachings (and possibly even the words) of the Buddha, these texts are essential to an understanding of the Buddhist faith, and Batchelor illuminates them with her lucid analysis and interpretations. Both accessible to nonpractitioners and helpful to scholars, The Spirit of the Buddha touches upon key themes, including dharma, compassion, meditation, and peace, among others, creating a panoramic view of one of the world's most widely practiced faiths that is deeply rooted in its most vital texts."
Introducing Buddha: A Graphic Guide by
Publication Date: 2005-01-01
"Introducing Buddha describes the life and teachings of the Buddha, but it also shows that enlightenment is a matter of experiencing the truth individually and by inspiration which is passed from teacher to student. Superbly illustrated by Borin Van Loon, the book illuminates this process through a rich legacy of stories and explains the practices of meditation, Taoism and Zen. It goes on to describe the role of Buddhism in modern Asia and its growing influence on Western thought."