Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
ATLA Religion Database with ATLA Serials
ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials combines the premier index to journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion with ATLA's online collection of major religion and theology journals. This database is produced by the American Theological Library Association.
Cambridge Companions to Philosophy, Religion, & Culture
This online collection serves as reference works for an inter-disciplinary audience, and contains over 900 downloadable essays taken from the Cambridge Companions to Philosophy, Religion and Culture (more than 90 volumes).
JSTOR provides access to full-text academic electronic journals in various disciplines including economics and finance, political science, history, literature, anthropology, mathematics, sociology, statistics, and education.
Covers literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, etc. Contains current full text scholarly journals which cover these fields and a significant collection of recent scholarly books.
Journal of Islamic Studies
Coverage: 1996-present (Vols. 7-current)
"The Journal of Islamic Studies is a multidisciplinary publication dedicated to the scholarly study of all aspects of Islam and of the Islamic world. Particular attention is paid to works dealing with history, geography, political science, economics, anthropology, sociology, law, literature, religion, philosophy, international relations, environmental and developmental issues, as well as ethical questions related to scientific research."
Coverage: 2007-present (Vols. 1-current)
"Contemporary Islam provides insights into the contemporary dynamics of Muslim life by focusing on questions concerning the presence of Muslim migrants in the West as well as western-born Muslims, and the continuing active role that Islam plays in their lives. The journal also intends to provide insights into the idea of ‘the West’ among Muslims as well as the relationship between Muslim identities and social life."
Journal of Muslim Minority Affairs
Coverage: 1996-18 months ago (Vol. 16)
"The Journal of Muslim Minority Affairs is the only scholarly journal studying Muslim communities in non-Muslim societies. It provides a wealth of information about these communities that cannot be found anywhere else in documented form. The journal has opened up a new area of specialization in minority studies with original articles addressing the minority condition from the historical, demographic, social and economic perspective. Our research interests extend to include non-Muslim minorities living in Muslim societies, interfaith dialogue to promote understanding and the study of Muslim minority women, the minorities’ minority."
The Muslim World
Coverage: 1997-present (Vols. 87-current); 1948-1 year ago (Vol. 38) available from ATLA
"Founded in 1911, and edited by Hartford Seminary since 1938, The Muslim World
is dedicated to the promotion and dissemination of scholarly research on Islam and Muslim societies and on historical and current aspects of Muslim-Christian relations. The journal includes research articles, book reviews, notices and surveys of periodicals."
Encyclopedia of Islam and the Muslim World by
Call Number: REF BP40 .E525 2004 v. 1-2
Publication Date: 2003-12-02
"This two-volume set on Islam is a timely resource aimed at the general reader. More than 500 articles, 200-5,000 words in length, describe the Islamic world from its known beginnings to the present day. A 'Synoptic Outline of Entries' at the beginning of volume one presents a thematic overview of the encyclopedia that facilitates browsing. A glossary of terms and a pronunciation key appear at the end of volume two, followed by genealogies, timelines, and a detailed index."
Historical Atlas of Islam by
Call Number: G1786.S1 R9 2004
Publication Date: 2004-05-28
"Lucid and inviting full-color maps chronicle the changing internal and external boundaries of the Islamic world, showing the principal trade routes through which goods, ideas, and customs spread. Ruthven traces the impact of various Islamic dynasties in art and architecture and shows the distribution of sects and religious minorities, the structure of Islamic cities, and the distribution of resources. Among the book's valuable contributions is the incorporation of the often neglected geographical and environmental factors, from the Fertile Crescent to the North African desert, that have helped shape Islamic history."
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Islam and Politics by
Publication Date: 2014-03-21
"The Encyclopedia provides in-depth coverage of the political dimensions of Islam and the Muslim world. Developments in Muslim societies in the nineteenth and twentieth centuries have highlighted the need for a major reference work focusing primarily on these dimensions. The realization of internal decay and relentless quest for reform; the collapse of the Islamic caliphate; the fall of most parts of the Muslim world under western colonialism; the emergence of nation-states; the dominance of secular ideologies; the rise of Islamic revivalist movements and faith-based political, economic, and social alternatives; and the confrontation between Islamic movements and secular inspired regimes have constituted major turning points in the contemporary history of Muslim societies."
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Islam and Women by
Publication Date: 2013-10-16
"Organized around the central conceptual themes in research on Islam and women including Self and Body, Immigration and Minorities, Culture and Expression, Politics and Polity, and Community and Society, as well as Science, Medicine and Education among others, this work examines the scholarship on Islam and women that has expanded exponentially over the past twenty years, as well as cross-pollination between other fields and disciplines."
Butler Libraries use the Library of Congress classification system, so you can find books on Islam at the following locations in Irwin Library:
BP 1 - BP 253
Islam: A Short History by
Call Number: BP50 .A69 2000
Publication Date: 2000-08-22
"No religion in the modern world is as feared and misunderstood as Islam. It haunts the popular imagination as an extreme faith that promotes terrorism, authoritarian government, female oppression, and civil war. In a vital revision of this narrow view of Islam and a distillation of years of thinking and writing about the subject, Karen Armstrong’s short history demonstrates that the world’s fastest-growing faith is a much more complex phenomenon than its modern fundamentalist strain might suggest."
Studying Islam by
Call Number: BP42 .B46 2010
Publication Date: 2010-02-10
"Structured to cover all the major areas of study, including historical foundations, scripture, society, thought, ethics, rituals, spirituality and aesthetics, Studying Islam is a study aid for those approaching Islam for the first time. Rather than attempting to cover all the material, the critical and methodological issues that students need to grasp in the study of Islam and religion in general are drawn out, and the major contemporary debates explored."
After the Prophet: The Epic Story of the Shia-Sunni Split in Islam by
Call Number: BP55 .H42 2009
Publication Date: 2009-09-15
"In this gripping narrative history, Lesley Hazleton tells the tragic story at the heart of the ongoing rivalry between the Sunni and Shia branches of Islam, a rift that dominates the news now more than ever."
No god but God: The Origins, Evolution, and Future of Islam by
Call Number: BP161.3 .A79 2005
Publication Date: 2005-03-15
"Presents the origins and history of Islam, with emphasis on its relation to other religions and the impact that terrorism is having on the current perception of Islam throughout the non-Islamic world."
Feminism in Islam: Secular and Religious Convergences by
Call Number: HQ1785 .B335 2009
Publication Date: 2009-02-01
"Written by one of the world's foremost experts on the subject, this landmark volume is informed by numerous interviews, letters, and memoirs of Muslim women, both historical and current. Combining both original and previously published contributions, Badran paints an engaging portrait of feminism in the Islamic world, its achievements to date, and the challenges it will face in years to come."
Islam: A Very Short Introduction by
Publication Date: 1997
"In this thoroughly revised new edition, Malise Ruthven offers a balance, compact, and reliable overview of Islam. An internationally recognized authority on Islam, Ruthven offers essential insights into this major world religion, examining such issues as why Islam has such major divisions between movements such as the Shi'ites, the Sunnis, and the Wahhabis, and the central importance of the Shar'ia (Islamic law) in Islamic life. He also provides fresh perspectives on contemporary questions: Why is the greatest Jihad (holy war) now against the enemies of Islam, rather than the struggle against evil? Can women find fulfillment in Islamic societies? How must Islam adapt as it confronts the modern world?"
An Introduction to Islam in the 21st Century by
Publication Date: 2013-01-02
"An Introduction to Islam in the 21st Century provides an engaging depiction of Islam as a living religion. Exploring Islam's historical context and core elements of the tradition, the authors provide a global perspective that captures the diversity of Islam in different regions and countries."
Understanding Islam by
Publication Date: 2007-02-22
"Islam can be one of the most misunderstood religions. For some people it is a religion of war, while for the others it is a religion of peace. So there is a great need for an academic and sympathetic understanding of Islam. The author introduces Islam in its many dimensions covering the main historical, theological, practical, ethical, spiritual, social, and global themes. The bed-rock of Islam is the unity of God based on the Qur'anic revelation. But on this foundation a wide diversity of approaches and understandings have been built, ranging from the theological, philosophical, and Sufistic to the fundamentalist, traditionalist, modernist, and post-modernist of recent times. The book presents Islam from a mainstream and moderate perspective."