Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
JEWISH TELEGRAPHIC AGENCY
Posen Library of Jewish Culture and Civilization
NEW! " Users can find works by Saul Bellow, Golda Meir, Isaiah Berlin, and Esther Jungreis among hundreds of others featured in this digital collection of nearly 800 works. Access to the resource is free but requires registration to benefit from all of its features."
Encyclopedia Judaica Online, 2nd ed.
Provides an exhaustive and organized overview of Jewish life and knowledge from the Second Temple period to the contemporary State of Israel, from Rabbinic to modern Yiddish literature, from Kabbalah to "Americana" and from Zionism to the contribution of Jews to world cultures.
ATLA Religion Database with ATLA Serials
ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials combines the premier index to journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion with ATLA's online collection of major religion and theology journals. This database is produced by the American Theological Library Association.
Cambridge Companions to Philosophy, Religion, & Culture
This online collection serves as reference works for an inter-disciplinary audience, and contains over 900 downloadable essays taken from the Cambridge Companions to Philosophy, Religion and Culture (more than 90 volumes).
JSTOR provides access to full-text academic electronic journals in various disciplines including economics and finance, political science, history, literature, anthropology, mathematics, sociology, statistics, and education.
Covers literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, etc. Contains current full text scholarly journals which cover these fields and a significant collection of recent scholarly books.
Coverage: 2002-1 year ago (Vol. 26); 1976-6 years ago (Vol. 1) available at JSTOR
publishes scholarly articles and book reviews covering the field of Jewish Studies. From biblical and rabbinic textual and historical studies to modern history, social sciences, the arts, and literature, the journal welcomes articles of interest to both academic and lay audiences around the world. A substantial portion of each volume is devoted to reviews of the latest scholarly Judaica and to review essays on current trends in publishing."
American Jewish History
Coverage: 1996-present (Vols. 84-current)
"American Jewish History is the official publication of the American Jewish Historical Society, the oldest national ethnic historical organization in the United States. The most widely recognized journal in its field, AJH focuses on every aspect of the American Jewish experience. Founded in 1892 as Publications of the American Jewish Historical Society, AJH has been the journal of record in American Jewish history for over a century, bringing readers all the richness and complexity of Jewish life in America through carefully researched, thoroughly accessible articles."
Coverage: 1990-present (Vols. 31-current)
"Hebrew Studies is a journal devoted to Hebrew language and literature. It is an internationally recognized scholarly journal devoted to studies of Hebrew language and literature of all periods."
Holocaust and Genocide Studies
Coverage: 1996-present (Vols. 10-current)
"The major forum for scholarship on the Holocaust and other genocides, Holocaust and Genocide Studies is an international journal featuring research articles, interpretive essays, and book reviews in the social sciences and humanities. It is the principal publication to address the issue of how insights into the Holocaust apply to other genocides."
Coverage: 1996-present (Vols. 1-current)
"Israel Studies presents multidisciplinary scholarship on Israeli history, politics, society and culture. Each issue includes essays and documents on issues of broad interest reflecting diverse points of view. Temporal boundaries extend to the pre-state period, although emphasis is on the State of Israel. Due recognition is also given to events and phenomena in diaspora communities as they affect the Israeli State."
Coverage: 1997-present (Vols. 11-current); 1986-4 years ago (Vol. 1) available at JSTOR
, the sole English language publication devoted exclusively to history and the Jews, expands the horizons of historical writing on the Jews. Not only does the journal publish contributions from the field of history, but also from the intersection of history with art, literature, sociology, and anthropology."
Jewish Political Studies Review
Coverage: 2008-present (Vols. 20-current)
"The Jewish Political Studies Review is the first and only journal dedicated to the study of Jewish political institutions and behavior, Jewish political thought, and Jewish public affairs."
Jewish Quarterly Review
Coverage: 2002-present (Vols. 93-current); 1888-6 years ago (Vol. 1) available at JSTOR
"Established by Israel Abrahams and Claude Montefiore in 1889, The Jewish Quarterly Review
is the oldest English-language journal in the field of Jewish studies. JQR
preserves the attention to textual detail so characteristic of the journal's early years, while encouraging scholarship in a wide range of fields and time periods. In each quarterly issue of JQR
the ancient stands alongside the modern, the historical alongside the literary, the textual alongside the contextual."
Jewish Social Studies
Coverage: 1970-present (Vols. 32-50 (original series) 1-current (new series)); 1939-2010 (Vols. 1-50 (original series), 1-17 (new series)) available at JSTOR
"Jewish Social Studies
recognizes the increasingly fluid methodological and disciplinary boundaries within the humanities and is particularly interested both in exploring different approaches to Jewish history and in critical inquiry into the concepts and theoretical stances that underpin its problematics. It publishes specific case studies, engages in theoretical discussion, and advances the understanding of Jewish life as well as the multifaceted narratives that constitute its historiography."
Journal of Modern Jewish Studies
Coverage: 2002-18 months ago (Vol. 1)
"The Journal of Modern Jewish Studies is international and interdisciplinary, covering history, social studies, religion, thought, literature and the arts. Individual articles have covered a wide range of topics including early eighteenth-century Jewish-Christian polemics, Jewish-Christian neighborly relations in 19th-century Russia, a Philo-Judaean Society in 19th-century Britain, Mark Rothko and the Holocaust, The 'New Age' of Kabbalah in the United States, Israeli secularism, Spanish Jewish literature, and an ongoing series on Moroccan Jewry."
Journal of Semitic Studies
Coverage: 1996-present (Vols. 41-current)
"The Journal of Semitic Studies is one of the leading international academic journals in its field. The term ‘Semitic Studies’ indicates a linguistic limitation to the languages of the Semitic family and includes the modern as well as the ancient and medieval periods. Special emphasis is placed on the publication of research on the languages and literatures of the Near and Middle East and material accepted for publication is always focused either on particular texts or authors or on linguistics and philology."
Coverage: 1996-present (Vols. 16-current); 1981-8 years ago (Vol. 1) available at JSTOR
provides a distinctive, interdisciplinary forum for discussion of the modern Jewish experience since the Haskalah, the Jewish Enlightenment. Its contributors address topics pertinent to the understanding of Jewish life today and the forces that have shaped that experience, including the Zionist movement and the establishment of the State of Israel, the socio-political role assumed by literary works of art, and the rise of modern anti-Semitism and its devastating climax in the Holocaust."
Nashim: A Journal of Jewish Women's Studies & Gender Issues
Coverage: 2003-present (Vols. 6-current)
"Nashim: A Journal of Jewish Women's Studies & Gender Issues regularly includes articles on literature, text studies, anthropology, theology, contemporary thought, sociology, the arts, and more. It aims to create communication channels within the Jewish women's and gender studies community, to bring the fruits of that community's work to a wider audience, and to enhance their educational, political, and cultural impact on the Jewish world and beyond. In addition, each issue of Nashim highlights the new voices that seek to redefine the place of women in the Jewish tradition and Jewish learning in ways that incorporate female creativity and spirituality."
Prooftexts: A Journal of Jewish Literary History
Coverage: 1998-present (Vols. 18-current); 1981-2010 (Vols. 1-30) available at JSTOR
"For sixteen years, Prooftexts: A Journal of Jewish Literary History
has brought to the study of Jewish literature, in its many guises and periods, new methods of study and a new wholeness of approach. A unique exchange has taken place between Israeli and American scholars, as more work from Israelis has appeared in the journal. Prooftexts
' thematic issues have made important contributions to the field."
Shofar: An Interdisciplinary Journal of Jewish Studies
Coverage: 1990-present (Vols. 9-current)
"Shofar, a quarterly, interdisciplinary journal of Jewish studies, is the official journal of the Midwest and Western Jewish Studies Associations. Under the editorship of Zev Garber and Peter Haas and a distinguished editorial board, Shofar ranges far and wide in a multidisciplinary world that spans four thousand years. It publishes original, scholarly work for a general university audience and reviews a wide range of recent books in Judaica."
Studies in American Jewish Literature
Coverage: 2008-present (Vols. 27-current)
"Studies in American Jewish Literature is dedicated to publishing work analyzing the place, representation, and circulation of Jews and Jewishness in American literatures, and to serving as a venue for theorizing, as broadly and intensely as possible, the ways in which it makes sense to talk about identity in literature."
Encyclopaedia Judaica by
Call Number: REF DS102.8 .E496 v. 1-16
Publication Date: 2006-12-01
"Provides an exhaustive and organized overview of Jewish life and knowledge from the Second Temple period to the contemporary State of Israel, from Rabbinic to modern Yiddish literature, from Kabbalah to "Americana" and from Zionism to the contribution of Jews to world cultures, Encyclopaedia Judaica, 2nd edition is important to scholars, general readers and students."
Dictionary of Judaism in the Biblical Period by
Call Number: REF BM50 .D525 1996 v. 1-2
Publication Date: 1995-11-01
"This invaluable reference defines concepts, religious practices, theological terms, persons, places, and essential vocabulary from the writings of Judaism, ranging from the time of the Pentateuch's final formation until the close of the Babylonian Talmud."
Concise Companion to the Jewish Religion by
Publication Date: 1999-09-09
"This highly readable guide to Judaism contains a wealth of information on every aspect of Jewish belief and practice, both ancient and modern. From Maimonides to Methuselah, Kabbalah to Kibbutz, Louis Jacobs provides an invaluable source of information for anyone wanting to learn more about the rich and diverse heritage of the Jewish religion. With all Hebrew terms clearly explained, entries range from personalities in the Bible to present-day Jewish thinkers and writers, and other coverage includes customs, traditions, and Jewish ideas on subjects as diverse as dance, vegetarianism, and eternity. This illuminating and authoritative guide contains a wealth of information on every aspect of Jewish belief and practice, both ancient and modern."
The Oxford Dictionary of the Jewish Religion by
Call Number: BM50 .O94 1997
Publication Date: 1997-03-13
"In 2,400 entries, The Oxford Dictionary of the Jewish Religion covers more than three millennia of Jewish religious thought, custom, law, and practice, from traditional approaches to Reform, Conservative, Reconstructionist and post-denominational Judaism. Brief definitions and longer essays, all supplemented with bibliographies, enlighten readers about the major figures, folklore, and events in the history of Judaism throughout the world."
The New Encyclopedia of Judaism by
Publication Date: 2009-02-03
"Includes hundreds of special articles covering subjects in analytical depth, as well as short biographies of the major figures in the story of Judaism."
Atlas of the Jewish World by
Call Number: Basement OVERSIZE DS117 .D4 1984
Publication Date: 1984-01-01
"An illustrated survey of the history and culture of the Jewish people from earliest times to the present."
Butler Libraries use the Library of Congress classification system, so you can find books on Judaism at the following locations in Irwin Library:
BM 1 - BM 990
The Way of Torah: An Introduction to Judaism by
Call Number: BM565 .N487 2004
Publication Date: 2003-04-17
"This classic text from one of the leading Judaic scholars today, The Way of Torah introduces students to Judaism via a three-pronged examination of its history, its scriptures, and its practices. Neusner first defines Judaism across time, showing its changes and development. He then introduces students to the classic texts of Judaism, the Hebrew Bible, and beyond. Finally, the Torah and Judaism are presented in their living contexts. It is the only interpretive work that addresses Judaism within the context of religious studies in general as opposed to the many other texts that use an historical or scriptural approach exclusively."
An Introduction to Early Judaism by
Call Number: DS121.65 .V36 2001
Publication Date: 2000-10-01
"Based on the best, most recent archaeological research, this illustrated volume explores the history of Judaism during the Second Temple period (516 B.C.E. - 70 C.E.), describing the body of Jewish literature written during these centuries and the most important groups, institutions, and practices of the time."
American Reform Judaism by
Call Number: BM197 .K37 2003
Publication Date: 2003-04-29
"As its title indicates, this book is an introduction to Reform Judaism that provides an overview of the Movement's history and a description of what it stands for today. As important, the book offers an in-depth look at the issues Reform Judaism struggles with well into its second century as an American liberal religious movement. Someone who has grown up as a Reform Jew will be able to reflect on personal experience in light of the events, trends and forces that were in play at the time. Someone who is a newcomer to Reform Judaism will gain the necessary background to appreciate the evolution of a dynamic American religious experience."
Back to the Sources by
Call Number: BM496.5 .B33 1984
Publication Date: 1984-09-01
"Essays analyze the major traditional texts of Judaism from literary, historical, philosophical, and religious points of view."
Pirke Avot by
Call Number: BM506.A2 E5 1993
Publication Date: 1993-01-01
"This very readable commentary on Pirke Avot makes a classic Jewish text available to all. the English translation and modern commentary will help to reawaken an interest in studying Jewish ethics, and the commentary sections include writing by some of today's more popular Jewish scolars and authors."
Judaism: A Very Short Introduction by
Publication Date: 1997-01-16
"Norman Solomon's succinct book is an ideal introduction to Judaism as a religion and way of life. In addition to surveying the nature and development of Judaism, this Very Short Introduction outlines the basics of practical Judaism--its festivals, prayers, customs, and various sects. Modern concerns and debates of the Jewish people are also addressed, such as the impact of the Holocaust, the establishment of the State of Israel, the status of women, and medical and commercial ethics."
Modern Judaism: An Oxford Guide by
Publication Date: 2005-03-17
"A multi-disciplinary, multi-authored guide to Jewish life and thought. This book covers the major areas of thought in Jewish Studies, including considerations of religious differences, sociological, philosophical, and gender issues, geographical diversity, inter-faith relations, and the impact of the Shoah (the Holocaust) and the modern state of Israel."
The Cambridge Companion to American Judaism by
Publication Date: 2005-08-15
"This Companion provides readers with a comprehensive introduction to the most important and interesting historical and contemporary facets of Judaism in America. Written by twenty-four leading scholars from the fields of religious studies, history, literature, philosophy, art history, sociology, and musicology, the survey adopts an inclusive perspective on Jewish religious experience. Three initial chapters cover the development of Judaism in America from 1654, when Sephardic Jews first landed in New Amsterdam, until today."
The Cambridge History of Judaism by
Publication Date: 1984-02-16
"The Cambridge History of Judaism covers the history of the Jews from the Exile in 587 B.C.E. to the early Roman period extending into the third century C.E. A comprehensive examination is made of all the relevant literary and archeological sources, and special attention is given to the interaction of Iranian, Semitic, Hellenistic and Roman cultures. The contributors include both Jewish and Gentile scholars from many countries, and this History thus helps to deliver the study of Jewish history and Christian origins from geographical and religious limitations, and contributes to a deeper understanding and a broader tolerance."
Jews and Judaism in World History by
Publication Date: 2010-01-29
"Jews and Judaism in World History is a survey of the history of the Jewish people from biblical antiquity to the present, spanning nearly 2,500 years and traversing five continents. The book explores the social, political and cultural aspects of Jewish history, and examines the changes and continuities across the whole of the Jewish world throughout its long and varied history."
Studies in the Meaning of Judaism by
Publication Date: 2002-11-27
"Gathered in this single volume are 33 essays covering the themes of modern Jewish theology, education, the history of Reform Judaism in America, Jewish law, ethics, and religious dialogue. This collection will appeal to a wide audience, including rabbis; scholars; and readers of religion, modern Jewish thought, and liturgy."
Creating Judaism: History, Tradition, Practice by
Publication Date: 2006-12-18
"Presenting snapshots of Judaism from around the globe and throughout history, Michael L. Satlow explores the links between vastly different communities and their Jewish traditions. He studies the geonim, rabbinical scholars who lived in Iraq from the ninth to twelfth centuries; the intellectual flourishing of Jews in medieval Spain; how the Hasidim of nineteenth-century Eastern Europe confronted modernity; and the post-World War II development of distinct American and Israeli Jewish identities. Satlow pays close attention to how communities define themselves, their relationship to biblical and rabbinic texts, and their ritual practices. His fascinating portraits reveal the amazingly creative ways Jews have adapted over time to social and political challenges and continue to remain a 'Jewish family'."
Judaism Today by
Publication Date: 2010
"For nearly four millennia Judaism was essentially a unified religious system based on shared traditions. Despite the emergence of various sub-groups through the centuries such as the Sadducees, Pharisees, Essenes, Karaites, Shabbateans and Hasadim, Jewry was united in the belief in a providential God who had chosen the Jews as his special people and given them a code of law. In the modern period, however, the Jewish religion has fragmented into a series of separate denominations with competing ideologies and theological views. Despite the creation of the State of Israel, the Jewish people are deeply divided concerning the most fundamental issues of belief and practice. Judaism Today gives an account of the nature of traditional Judaism, provides an introduction to the various divisions that currently exist in the Jewish world and identifies and discusses contemporary issues with which the Jewish faith engages in the twenty-first century."