Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Databases & Web Resources
ATLA Religion Database with ATLA Serials
ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials combines the premier index to journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion with ATLA's online collection of major religion and theology journals. This database is produced by the American Theological Library Association.
Cambridge Companions to Philosophy, Religion, & Culture
This online collection serves as reference works for an inter-disciplinary audience, and contains over 900 downloadable essays taken from the Cambridge Companions to Philosophy, Religion and Culture (more than 90 volumes).
The Philosopher's Index provides indexing and abstracts from books and over 480 journals of philosophy and related fields.
Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy
The Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy is a publishing project of the Metaphysics Research Lab at the Center for the Study of Language and Information (CSLI) at Stanford University. This is a dynamic reference work and each entry is maintained and kept up to date by an expert or group of experts in the field. All entries and updates are refereed by the members of a distinguished Editorial Board before they are made public.
Humanities International Index
Humanities International Index is a comprehensive database covering journals, books and other important reference sources in the humanities.
Covers literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, etc. Contains current full text scholarly journals which cover these fields and a significant collection of recent scholarly books.
JSTOR provides access to full-text academic electronic journals in various disciplines including economics and finance, political science, history, literature, anthropology, mathematics, sociology, statistics, and education.
Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance
Provides citations from scholarly books and journals pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700) periods.
Religion in American History
Scholarly blog about the role of religion in historical and modern American life.
The Immanent Frame
"The Immanent Frame publishes interdisciplinary perspectives on secularism, religion, and the public sphere. TIF serves as a forum for ongoing exchanges among leading thinkers across the social sciences and humanities, featuring invited contributions and original essays that have not been previously published in print or online."
The Way of Improvement Leads Home
"Reflections at the intersection of American history, religion, politics, and academic life"
Faith and Theology
"Australian-Anglican theologian Ben Myers writes this popular “blog for theological scholarship and contemporary theological reflection.” Posts are often lengthy, literary, and are rarely news-driven."
Exploring Our Matrix
Blog by Butler professor Dr. James McGrath about religion, theology, politics, society, science, and science fiction, among other topics.
The New Landscape of the Religion Blogosphere
"This report surveys nearly 100 of the most influential blogs that contribute to an online discussion about religion in the public sphere and the academy. It places this religion blogosphere in the context of the blogosphere as a whole, maps out its contours, and presents the voices of some of the bloggers themselves." Appendix II
provides links to a wide variety of sectarian and nonsectarian blogs.