Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
ATLA Religion Database with ATLA Serials
ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials combines the premier index to journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion with ATLA's online collection of major religion and theology journals. This database is produced by the American Theological Library Association.
Cambridge Companions to Philosophy, Religion, & Culture
This online collection serves as reference works for an inter-disciplinary audience, and contains over 900 downloadable essays taken from the Cambridge Companions to Philosophy, Religion and Culture (more than 90 volumes).
JSTOR provides access to full-text academic electronic journals in various disciplines including economics and finance, political science, history, literature, anthropology, mathematics, sociology, statistics, and education.
Covers literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, etc. Contains current full text scholarly journals which cover these fields and a significant collection of recent scholarly books.
Church History: Studies in Christianity and Culture
Coverage: 1932-present (Vols. 1-current)
"Church History: Studies in Christianity and Culture is published quarterly by Cambridge University Press for the American Society of Church History. The journal seeks essays that advance knowledge of the role Christianity has played in mediating larger social and intellectual forces."
Studies in World Christianity
Coverage: 1995-12 months ago (Vol. 1)
"Studies in World Christianity is concerned through its articles and book reviews to promote creative thinking and lively scholarly interchange in the interpretation of all aspects of Christianity as a world religion. Articles from historical, theological, and social scientific perspectives are equally welcome."
Christianity and Literature
Coverage: 1973-present (Vols. 1-current)
"Christianity and Literature is devoted to the scholarly exploration of how literature engages Christian thought, experience, and practice. The journal presupposes no particular theological orientation but respects an orthodox understanding of Christianity as a historically defined faith."
Studies in Christian Ethics
Coverage: 1988-present (Vols. 1-current)
"Studies in Christian Ethics is an English-language journal devoted exclusively to questions arising in the field of Christian ethics and moral theology."
Journal of Early Christian Studies
Coverage: 1993-present (Vols. 1-current)
"The Journal of Early Christian Studies focuses on the study of Christianity in the context of late ancient societies and religions from c.e. 100-700. Incorporating The Second Century (an earlier publication), the Journal publishes the best of traditional patristics scholarship while showcasing articles that call attention to newer themes and methodologies than those appearing in other patristics journals. An extensive book review section is featured in every issue."
Journal of Research on Christian Education
Coverage: 1997-present (Vols. 6-current)
"The Journal of Research on Christian Education (JRCE) provides a vehicle for the scholarly interchange of research findings relative to every level of Christian education. Particular emphasis is given to Christian schooling within the Protestant tradition as well as to research findings from other traditions which have implications for such schools."
Spiritus: A Journal of Christian Spirituality
Coverage: 2001-present (Vols. 1-current)
"An expansion of the highly regarded Christian Spirituality Bulletin, Spiritus covers a wide range of disciplines within the field of religious studies: history, philosophy, theology, and psychology. Ecumenical in its approach, Spiritus explores the connections between spirituality and cultural analysis--including literary and artistic expression, social activism, and spiritual practice."
Coverage: 1998-present (Vols. 4-current)
"Christian Bioethics is an interdenominational journal exploring the content-full commitments of the Christian faiths with regard to the meaning of human life, sexuality, suffering, illness, and death within the context of medicine and health care. The journal seeks to be fresh, novel, and controversial by taking the content of Christianity seriously, while critically assessing how the different Christian faiths authentically realize that content with respect to bioethical issues."
Coverage: 1917-3 months ago (Vol. 34)
"The Christian Century is a progressive, ecumenical magazine based in Chicago. Committed to thinking critically and living faithfully, the Century explores what it means to believe and live out the Christian faith in our time."
Christian Studies: Scholarship for the Church
Coverage: 1980-present (Vols. 1-current)
The mission of Christian Studies "is to educate individuals & edify churches in the understanding & practice of the Christian faith & to equip ministers & other Christians for service in the Kingdom of God."
American Catholic Studies
Coverage: 2011-present (Vols. 125-current)
"American Catholic Studies is a double-blind refereed journal that publishes high quality studies and book reviews for academics, opinion leaders, and informed general readers in the fields of U.S. Roman Catholic history, sociology, theology, architecture, art, cinema, music, popular movements, and related areas."
Logos: A Journal of Catholic Thought and Culture
Coverage: 1997-present (Vols. 1-current)
"Logos is an interdisciplinary quarterly committed to exploring the beauty, truth, and vitality of Christianity, particularly as it is rooted in and shaped by Catholicism. We seek a readership that extends beyond the academy, and publish articles on literature, philosophy, theology, history, the natural and social sciences, art, music, public policy, and the professions."
Coverage: 1949-1 year ago (Vol. 1)
"A journal for the Evangelical Lutheran Church everywhere, discussing its history and theology."
Coverage: 1990-present (Vols. 50-current)
"Franciscan Studies is an annual scholarly review, published by The Franciscan Institute at Saint Bonaventure University, and containing articles in the major languages of the western world on Franciscan history, sources, philosophy and theology."
Coverage: 1906-present (Vols. 1-current)
"Quaker History is a peer reviewed journal consisting of illuminating articles on Quaker (Religious Society of Friends) contributions to issues such as social justice, education, and literature. The journal also includes book and article reviews and is published by the Friends Historical Association."
Baptist History and Heritage
Coverage: 1965-present (Vols. 1-current)
"The Baptist History & Heritage Journal, a publication of the Baptist History & Heritage Society, is published three times yearly. Contributors include Baptist and religious historians, as well as clergy and lay persons."
Journal of the Evangelical Theological Society
Coverage: 1969-2 years ago (Vol. 1)
"The Journal of the Evangelical Theological Society is a refereed theological journal published by the Evangelical Theological Society."
Dialogue: A Journal of Mormon Thought
Coverage: 1966-present (Vols. 1-current)
"Dialogue: A Journal of Mormon Thought is an independent quarterly established to express Mormon culture and to examine the relevance of religion to secular life. It is edited by Latter-day Saints who wish to bring their faith into dialogue with the larger stream of world religious thought and with human experience as a whole and to foster artistic and scholarly achievement based on their cultural heritage."
The Concise Oxford Dictionary of the Christian Church by
Publication Date: 2006-08-24
"Based on the highly acclaimed Oxford Dictionary of the Christian Church, this is an indispensable guide to every aspect of the Christian religion and life, including theology, patristic scholarship, churches and denominations, the church calendar and organization, and the Bible."
World Christian Encyclopedia by
Call Number: REF BR157 .W67 2001 v. 1-2
Publication Date: 2001-01-18
"The Encyclopedia presents and analyzes an unmatched wealth of information about the extent, status, and characteristics of twentieth-century Christianity worldwide. It takes full account of Christianity's ecclesiastical branches, subdivisions, and denominations, and treats Christianity in relation to other faiths and the secular realm. It offers an unparalleled comparative study of churches and religions throughout the modern world."
Atlas of Global Christianity by
Call Number: http://butler.worldcat.org/oclc/607860337
Publication Date: 2009-12-21
"Maps and essays explore the status of Christianity today, looking at major traditions, Christianity in different continents and regions, Christianity by peoples and language groups, missionary work, and evangelism."
Encyclopedia of Modern Christian Politics by
Call Number: REF BR115.P7 E58 2006 v. 1-2
Publication Date: 2006-09-01
"Does religion have a place in politics? This work reveals the global reach and relevance of Christian political activities, examining how individuals, reform groups, and political organisations have employed Christian principles in participating in politics at a local, national, and global scale."
The Oxford Companion to Christian Art and Architecture by
Call Number: N7830 .M87 1996
Publication Date: 1996-11-14
"The Oxford Companion to Christian Art and Architecture is a unique and fascinating exploration of the art and architecture that has been influenced and inspired by biblical stories and Christian history and beliefs. Richly illustrated the Companion combines general essays on the periods and styles important in the history of Christian art with hundreds of shorter entries that describe specific works, artists, themes, and visual images and which give the reader practical guidance on where in Europe to locate the works described."
The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Reformation by
Call Number: REF BR302.8 .O93 1996 v. 1-4
Publication Date: 1996-02-29
"The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Reformation is the definitive source for information about the entire range of religious and social changes that altered the face of Europe in the sixteenth century, encompassing not only issues of church polity and theology but also developments in politics, economics, demographics, art and literature. This broadly cast, interdisciplinary definition allows for a comprehensive social and intellectual history of early modern Europe."
The Oxford Encyclopedia of South Asian Christianity by
Publication Date: 2012
"Ambitious, authoritative, and comprehensive, The Oxford Encyclopedia of South Asian Christianity covers for the first time the 2000-year old story of Christianity in India and its neighboring countries. Looking at Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, Pakistan, Nepal, Bhutan, and Maldives, alongside India, as well as Myanmar, Afghanistan, and the global South Asian diaspora, the Encyclopedia celebrates the trans-cultural, migratory, and unique nature of South Asian Christianity."
Butler Libraries use the Library of Congress classification system, so you can find books on Christianity at the following locations in Irwin Library:
BR 1 - BR 1725
Christian Denominations: BX 1 - 9999
Christianity Today by
Publication Date: 2010-06-01
"Illustrated throughout with examples and case studies taken from lived religion, each chapter of Christianity Today looks at Christianity in a modern context, and modern issues relevant to the religion. After an initial chapter providing an overview of the faith, its history and basic theological tenets, George Chryssides moves through key contemporary themes: sources of authority in Christianity, science and Christianity, fundamentalism, mission and ecumenism, ethics, and women and Christianity. Concluding with a final section looking at the future for Christianity in the face of secularism, secularization and materialism, and its relative growth and decline worldwide."
Understanding Christianity by
Publication Date: 2004-09-30
"Gilleasbuig Macmillan responds to the questions likely to be asked by an interested person wishing to know how the Christian faith began, what it teaches and how its followers have tried to practice and spread their faith through the centuries. The diversity of Christianity is taken into account, notably the division between the Orthodox East and the Catholic West, the Reformation and its consequences, the flow out from Europe with empires and the development from corporate 'tribal' religion to religion as a matter of individual choice."
Christianity: An Introduction by
Publication Date: 2011-01-01
"How a provincial sect, with its seemingly outrageous ideas, became first the sanctioned religion of the Roman Empire and then, over the course of 2000 years, the creed of billions of people, is the improbable story that Christianity: An Introduction tells. It is a story of freethinkers, friars, fanatics, and firebrands; and of the lay people (not just the clerical or the powerful) who have made up the great mass of Christians over the centuries. Many introductions to Christianity are written by Christians, for Christians. This elegant textbook, by contrast, shows that the history of the religion, while often glorious, is not one of unimpeded progress, but something still more remarkable, flawed and human."