Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
HINDU PRESS INTERNATIONAL
ATLA Religion Database with ATLA Serials
ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials combines the premier index to journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion with ATLA's online collection of major religion and theology journals. This database is produced by the American Theological Library Association.
Cambridge Companions to Philosophy, Religion, & Culture
This online collection serves as reference works for an inter-disciplinary audience, and contains over 900 downloadable essays taken from the Cambridge Companions to Philosophy, Religion and Culture (more than 90 volumes).
JSTOR provides access to full-text academic electronic journals in various disciplines including economics and finance, political science, history, literature, anthropology, mathematics, sociology, statistics, and education.
Covers literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, etc. Contains current full text scholarly journals which cover these fields and a significant collection of recent scholarly books.
Journal of Hindu Studies
Coverage: 1996-present (Vols. 1-current)
"The Journal of Hindu Studies is committed to a critical approach to Hindu Studies, focusing on themes that address overarching issues within the field, publishing the proceedings of research projects and conferences, and providing a forum for peer-reviewed articles. The journal aims to create a forum for constructive interdisciplinary discourse by linking the wider community of scholars in an exploration of key questions, through the lens of their own research."
International Journal of Hindu Studies
Coverage: 1997-present (Vols. 1-current)
"The International Journal of Hindu Studies offers a scholarly exploration of topics in Hindu studies, fostering new work in neglected areas, alternative perspectives, and the exchange of information. The Journal supports critical inquiries, hermeneutical interpretive proposals, and historical investigations into all aspects of Hindu traditions."
Journal of Hindu-Christian Studies
Coverage: 1988-present (Vols. 1-current)
"The aim of the journal is to create a worldwide forum for the presentation of Hindu-Christian scholarly studies, book reviews, and news of relevant past and upcoming events. Materials selected for publication will be balanced between historical research and contemporary practice and, where possible, will employ analytical and theoretical analysis set within the context of our shared contemporary experience."
Handbook of Hindu Mythology by
Call Number: BL1111.4 .W55 2003
Publication Date: 2003-10-10
"Handbook of Hindu Mythology offers an informative introduction to this dauntingly complex mythology of multifaceted deities, lengthy heroic tales, and arcane philosophies-all with a 3,000-year history of reinterpretations and adaptations."
Dictionary of Hindu Lore and Legend by
Publication Date: 2004-08-12
"The Dictionary of Hindu Lore and Legend provides a large number of accessible, informative and authoritative entries to answer any major question about Hinduism, its mythology, practices, customs and laws."
Encyclopedia of Hinduism by
Publication Date: 2007-01-01
"Encyclopedia of Hinduism explores a religion that emerged from prehistory and lives today in astonishing variety. Offering approximately 700 A-to-Z entries, this accessible encyclopedia focuses on the most significant groups within this religion, noteworthy teachers and their contributions, the religions and cultural movements that enriched its history, and the diaspora of Hindu thought and practice around the world."
Historical Dictionary of Hinduism by
Call Number: BL1105 .S85 1997
Publication Date: 1997-07-23
"The Historical Dictionary of Hinduism presents the Hindu religious tradition's major events, individuals, texts, sects, and concepts in the context of its historical development through various periods. In addition, sacred Hindu pilgrimage sites, the rituals performed as religious practices, the manifestations of Hindu religious sensibilities in biography, art, the caste system of social organization, mythology, and the theories of salvation developed through the history of Hinduism are also presented. A pronunciation guide to Sanskrit and Tamil, and a chronology of the history of Hinduism are included."
Butler Libraries use the Library of Congress classification system, so you can find books on Hinduism at the following locations in Irwin Library:
BL 1100 - BL 1295
An Introduction to Hinduism by
Call Number: BL1202 .F56 1996
Publication Date: 1996-07-13
"This book provides a much-needed thematic and historical introduction to Hinduism, the religion of the majority of people in India. Dr. Flood traces the development of Hindu traditions from ancient origins and the major deities to the modern world. Hinduism as both a global religion and a form of nationalism are discussed. Emphasis is given to the tantric traditions, which have been so influential; to Hindu ritual, more fundamental than belief or doctrine; and to Dravidian influences. It introduces some debates within contemporary scholarship."
Essential Hinduism by
Call Number: BL1202 .R55 2006
Publication Date: 2006-10-01
"This straightforward overview focuses primarily on monotheistic Vaishnavism, the most common form of Hinduism. Beginning with chapters about the foundations of Hinduism, Steven Rosen clearly lays out the religion's otherwise complicated history. Providing Hindu terms alongside English translations, he illuminates the basics of the faith for readers unacquainted with its varieties and tenets and examines commonly held misconceptions. Chapters about practices, including festivals, teachings, chanting, eating habits, and more, bring Hinduism to life in vivid detail."
Classical Hindu Mythology by
Call Number: BL1135 .P6213
Publication Date: 1978-06-15
"The Mahapuranas embody the received tradition of Hindu mythology. This anthology contains fresh translations of these myths, only a few of which have ever been available in English before, thus providing a rich new portion of Hindu mythology."
The Strides of Vishnu: Hindu Culture in Historical Perspective by
Call Number: BL1215.C76 G58 2008
Publication Date: 2008-05-09
"Books about Hinduism often begin by noting the immense size and complexity of the subject. Hinduism is vast and diverse, they say. Or it doesn't exist at all -- Hinduism is merely a convenient (and foreign) term that masks a plurality of traditions. In either case, readers are discouraged by the thought that they are getting only a tiny sample or a shallow overview of something huge and uniquely difficult. This book is designed to be accessible and sophisticated, holding the reader's interest in the dynamic sequence of ideas through time and place. Each of the 12 chapters combines historical material with key religious, scientific and philosophical ideas, supported by substantial quotations from scriptures and other texts. Historic places and persons are fleshed out as actors in a narrative about the relation of the sacred to ordinary existence as it is mediated through arts, sciences, rituals, and philosophical ideas. Although many books introduce the Hindu tradition, this is the first with a broad historical and cultural focus that emphasizes archaeological as well as textual evidence."
The Ramayana: A Shortened Modern Prose Version of the Indian Epic by
Call Number: PR9499.3.N3 R3 1993
Publication Date: 1993-02-01
"A sweeping tale of abduction, battle, and courtship played out in a universe of deities and demons, The Ramayana is familiar to virtually every Indian. Although the Sanskrit original was composed by Valmiki around the fourth century BC, poets have produced countless versions in different languages. Here, drawing on the work of an eleventh-century poet called Kamban, Narayan employs the skills of a master novelist to re-create the excitement he found in the original. A luminous saga made accessible to new generations of readers, The Ramayana can be enjoyed for its spiritual wisdom, or as a thrilling tale of ancient conflict."
Darśan: Seeing the Divine Image in India by
Call Number: BL1205 .E25 1998
Publication Date: 1998-11-17
"The role of the visual is essential to Hindu tradition and culture, but many attempts to understand India's divine images have been laden with misperceptions. Darśan, a Sanskrit word that means "seeing," is an aid to our vision, a book of ideas to help us read, think, and look at Hindu images with appreciation and imagination."
India: A Sacred Geography by
Call Number: BL2001.3 .E25 2011
Publication Date: 2012-03-27
"India: A Sacred Geography is the culmination of more than a decade's work from the renowned Harvard scholar Diana L. Eck. The book explores the sacred places of India, taking the reader on an extraordinary trip through the beliefs and history of this rich and profound place, as well as providing a basic introduction to Hindu religious ideas and how those ideas influence our understanding of the modern sense of "India" as a nation."
Hinduism: A Very Short Introduction by
Publication Date: 1998
"In this Very Short Introduction, Kim Knott combines a succinct and authoritative overview of a major religion with an analysis of the challenges facing it in the twentieth century. She discusses key preoccupations of Hinduism such as the centrality of the Veda as religious texts, the role of brahmins, gurus, and storytellers in the transmission of divine truths, and the importance of epics such as the Ramayana. Issues such as the place of women and dalits (untouchables) in contemporary society are also addressed, making this book stimulating reading for Hindus and non-Hindus alike."
The Bhagavad Gita by
Publication Date: 2009-06-01
"In the Bhagavad Gita, Prince Arjuna asks direct, uncompromising questions of his spiritual guide on the eve of a great battle. In this expanded edition of the most famous and popular of Indian scriptures, Eknath Easwaran contextualizes the book culturally and historically and explains the key concepts of Hindu religious thought and the technical vocabulary of yoga. Chapter introductions, notes, and a glossary help readers understand the book's message. Most importantly, this translation uses simple, clear language to impart the poetry, universality, and timelessness of the Gita's teachings."
The Upanishads by
Publication Date: 2007-08-28
"Among the oldest of India's spiritual texts, the Upanishads are records of intensive question-and-answer sessions given by illumined sages to their students. Widely featured in philosophy courses, the Upanishads have puzzled and inspired wisdom seekers from Yeats to Schopenhauer. Eknath Easwaran makes this challenging text more accessible by selecting the passages most relevant to readers seeking timeless truths today."
Understanding Hinduism by
Publication Date: 2010-01-01
"In this book, author Frank Whaling provides an overview of the history and development of the Hindu tradition. He takes account of recent scholarship and regards Hinduism as a world-view, as well as a religious tradition. The book covers the core areas of Hindu religious organization, rituals, ethics, social involvement, and sacred texts, as well as key concepts, aesthetics, and spirituality. It illustrates these topics by personal example, as well as by informed analysis. While more stress is placed upon the modern situation, including the neo-Hindu and Hindutva movements, the Hindu past is not ignored. Village Hinduism and 'high' Hinduism are addressed, along with the Hindu presence in Britain and the wider world."
Introducing Hinduism: A Graphic Guide by
Publication Date: 2005-01-01
"Introducing Hinduism offers a guide to the key philosophical, literary, mythological and cultural traditions of this extraordinarily diverse faith. It untangles the complexities of Hinduism's gods and goddesses, its caste system and its views on sex, everyday life and asceticism. Why do Hindus revere the cow? Must Hindus be vegetarian? And much more..."
Women in the Hindu Tradition: Rules, Roles, and Exceptions by
Publication Date: 2010-03-16
"This book accounts for the origin and evolution of the nature and roles of women within the Hindu belief system. It explains how the idea of the goddess has been derived from Hindu philosophical ideas and texts of codes of conduct and how particular models of conduct for mortal women have been created."
Hindu Nationalism: A Reader by
Publication Date: 2009-01-10
"Hindu nationalism came to world attention in 1998, when the Hindu nationalist Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) won national elections in India. Although the BJP was defeated nationally in 2004, it continues to govern large Indian states, and the movement it represents remains a major force in the world's largest democracy. This book presents the thought of the founding fathers and key intellectual leaders of Hindu nationalism from the time of the British Raj, through the independence period, to the present. Spanning more than 130 years of Indian history and including the writings of both famous and unknown ideologues, this reader reveals how the Hindutuva movement approaches key issues of Indian politics. Covering such important topics as secularism, religious conversion, relations with Muslims, education, and Hindu identity in the growing diaspora, this reader will be indispensable for anyone wishing to understand contemporary Indian politics, society, culture, or history."
The Mewar Ramayana
"One of the world's most beautiful Ramayana manuscripts. The original was prepared for Maharana Jagat Singh, the ruler of the Rajput kingdom of Mewar in Rajasthan, in the middle of the seventeenth century. [...] Digitisation has made it possible for this long-divided manuscript to be brought together again for the first time in almost 200 years. The majority of text pages in the manuscript have been digitised as well as the paintings so that Valmiki’s work can be read in the original Sanskrit."