Research Guides (LibGuides): CME109: Survey of the Recording Industry (Armstrong): Articles

Recommended Sources of Articles

Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Business Source Complete is the world's definitive scholarly business database. Includes books, case studies, company profiles, economic reports, industry reports, SWOT analyses, in addition to nearly 2,000 peer-reviewed journals.

Audio Engineering Society (AES)
The AES E-Library contains over 15,000 fully searchable PDF files documenting the progression of audio research from 1953 to the present day. The E-library includes every AES paper published at a convention, conference or in the Journal

Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
Communications and Mass Media Complete combines two previous resources related to communication and mass media (CommSearch and Mass Media Articles Index). It provides full text for over 200 journals and contains citation coverage for more.
Music Periodicals Database (ProQuest) [Formerly IIMP-Full Text] This link opens in a new window
A music journal resource with more than half a million indexed articles from over 430 journals, plus detailed abstracts and full text from 1874 to current, covering the scholarly to the popular.
Alternative Press Index This link opens in a new window
Indexes international and interdisciplinary journals covering cultural, economic, political & social change
Film & Television Literature Index Full Text This link opens in a new window
Film & Television Literature Index Full Text is the definitive online tool for film and television research. Subject coverage includes film & television theory, preservation & restoration, screenwriting, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews. Variety movie reviews from 1914 to the present and a large number of images from the MPTV Image Archive are also included.

MULTIDISCIPLINARY DATABASES

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.

Billboard is indexed in this source.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations.
Readers' Guide Retrospective: 1890-1982 This link opens in a new window
Readers’ Guide Retrospective: 1890-1982 provides indexing of over three million articles from more than 550 leading magazines, including full coverage of the original print volumes of Readers’ Guide to Periodical Literature.

Using your Keywords

There are a few simple ways to use your keywords to improve your searches:

Quotation Marks

If you are using a phrase with terms that should be found together, you need to make this clear to your search engine by placing the terms in quotation marks.

Ex. "sony entertainment"

Combine your Keywords

Combining your keywords leads to more effective searches. There are a few easy ways to do this:

Good Search String examples:

"indie labels" and profit university and "concert booking" recording or audio university or college

Finding Full-text Material -- Find it Button

The button will appear on a record if the title is not full-text within a particular database (if, for example, only the title and abstract are available through the database, not the entire article).

To see if we have access to the item, in another database electronically or in print, click on the button. A window will pop up and direct you to the resource, if available,

Keywords with Multiple Endings

Truncate your keywords to find plural and multiple variant word endings:

CME109: Survey of the Recording Industry (Armstrong): Articles

Recommended Sources of Articles

Using your Keywords

Finding Full-text Material -- Find it Button

Keywords with Multiple Endings

record* = record, records, recording

CONTACT

QUICK LINKS