Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Find books, articles, media, and more at Butler and beyond
Academic Search Complete
This large multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,770 journals, including full text for over 4,000 peer-reviewed titles.
JSTOR provides access to full-text academic electronic journals in various disciplines including economics and finance, political science, history, literature, anthropology, mathematics, sociology, statistics, and education.
A collection of more than 19,000 streaming documentaries and foreign/indie feature films, available on a patron-driven acquisition model (all titles are available to you, Butler University Libraries pays for licenses that hit usage triggers)
Films on Demand
Films on Demand is a state-of-the-art streaming video platform for a variety of educational media content.
World History in Context
From ancient Europe to Latin America and from the Far East to the Renaissance, World History in Context is a collection of reference, full-text articles from leading scholarly publications, an array of primary sources, and images, maps and charts which provide expansive geographic and chronological research materials for the study of world history.
Global Road Warrior
Use this database to find cultural, economic, and travel information for over 170 countries. Includes statistics, maps, and photos.
Global Issues in Context
Global Issues in Context covers a wide variety of subject areas, including sociology, current events, civics, politics, science, economics, cultural/religious studies, women's studies, human rights, English composition and many more.
Art & Architecture (Oxford Reference Online)
Oxford Reference provides definitions and in-depth, specialist encyclopedic entries across the broad disciplines of Art and Architecture.
Statistics from United Nations members states on a variety of topics
SocINDEX with Full Text
SocINDEX with Full Text is the world's most comprehensive and highest quality sociology research database.
Cambridge Companions to Philosophy, Religion, & Culture
This online collection serves as reference works for an inter-disciplinary audience, and contains over 900 downloadable essays taken from the Cambridge Companions to Philosophy, Religion and Culture (more than 90 volumes).
U.N. Human Development Reports
2018 Statistical Update: Includes information related to the development of a country's society, including information related to health, education, income, and poverty.
World Health Organization
Trying to find international health information and statistics? This site contains statistics on - "Road safety," "Air pollution," "Water, sanitation, and hygiene," "Chemicals and second-hand smoke," and "Epidemic prone diseases," to name a few.
International Financial Statistics (International Monetary Fund)
The IFS includes data on the following topics: balance of payments, banking and financial systems, labor, exchange rates, fund position, government finance, interest rates, international liquidity, national accounts, population, prices, production, and trade.
ProQuest Business Collection
The most comprehensive business offering, comprising all content from ABI/INFORM Complete, Accounting & Tax, Asian Business & Reference, Banking Information Source, Entrepreneurship, and the International Bibliography of the Social Sciences.
When You Have Already Identified a Good Source
Backwards Reference Searching
What it yields:
It looks into the sources that your author referenced. This means the sources have already been vetted by your author for credibility, and you know that they are related to the topic at hand. However, it also means that the sources must have been published before your original source, so you will be retrieving older materials.
How to do it:
- Look through the reference page of your source.
- Identify sources that seem relevant or interesting.
- Track down the full-text of these sources.
Tools to use:
Trying to track down an article? Journals A-Z will show you whether we own the journal, what years we have access to, and give you links into the databases that provide full-text. Search by journal title.
Search Butler University Libraries and beyond for articles, books, media, and more.
Forward Reference Searching
What it yields:
It looks into the newer sources that have cited your original source. It is a good indicator that the sources will be on related topics and of good quality.
How to do it:
There are several tools to help you identify which newer sources list your original source on their reference page.
Do You Remember ... The Future? by JD Hancock. Used under CC BY 2.0
Tools to use:
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations.