Research Guides (LibGuides): World Music: Music Research Resources

Books & Articles

Cambridge Companions to Music This link opens in a new window
Cambridge Companions to Music provide clear and accessible information on composers, instruments or musical topics. Each volume provides essays by leading authorities offering comprehensive coverage and indispensable reference material.
Ethnographic Sound Archives Online This link opens in a new window
Ethnographic Sound Archives Online brings together over 2,000 hours of previously unpublished historic field recordings from around the world.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR provides access to full-text academic electronic journals in various disciplines including economics and finance, political science, history, literature, anthropology, mathematics, sociology, statistics, and education.
Music Periodicals Database (ProQuest) [Formerly IIMP-Full Text] This link opens in a new window
A music journal resource with more than half a million indexed articles from over 430 journals, plus detailed abstracts and full text from 1874 to current, covering the scholarly to the popular.
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature This link opens in a new window
Provides article citations and abstracts from 3500 international music journals and other scholarly works including books, dissertations, bibliographies, concert reviews, critical commentaries, videos and films, etc.
RIPM - Retrospective Index to Music Periodicals This link opens in a new window
An international, highly annotated database with detailed content analysis of writings on musical history and culture between 1800 and 1950, all provided by internationally-recognized scholars and editors.

Ethnomusicology by Society for Ethnomusicology
ISBN: 2156-7417
Publication Date: (1953-Present)
As the official journal of the Society for Ethnomusicology, Ethnomusicology is the premier publication in the field. Its scholarly articles represent current theoretical perspectives and research in ethnomusicology and related fields, while playing a central role in expanding the discipline in the United States and abroad. Aimed at a diverse audience of musicologists, anthropologists, folklorists, cultural studies scholars, musicians, and others, this inclusive journal also features book, recording, film, video, and multimedia reviews. Peer-reviewed by the Society's international membership, Ethnomusicology has been published three times a year since the 1950s.
Ethnomusicology forum by British Forum for Ethnomusicology
ISBN: 1741-1920
Publication Date: 1992-7 years ago (moving wall embargo)
The BFE's journal Ethnomusicology Forum (formerly known as the British Journal of Ethnomusicology) is a peer-reviewed journal published twice a year (in June and November), that seeks to provide a dynamic forum for the presentation of new thinking in the field of ethnomusicology.
Ethnomusicology Review by UCLA Department of Ethnomusicology
ISBN: 2164-4578
Publication Date: 2011 (v.16)-present
Established as Pacific Review of Ethnomusicology in 1984, Ethnomusicology Review is the graduate student publication of the UCLA Department of Ethnomusicology. It is edited by graduate students and refereed by a faculty advisory board. Funding for the journal is provided by GSA Publications at UCLA.

Ethnomusicology Review is an Open Access journal and follows the standard set by the Directory of Open Access Journals of a Creative Commons license. This license allows users to use, reuse, and build upon the material published in this journal but only for non-commercial purposes.
Journal of American Folklore by American Folklore Society
ISBN: 1535-1882
Publication Date: 1889-present
The Journal of American Folklore is the official journal of the American Folklore Society and presents recent scholarship by AFS members and scholars in allied fields. AFS, founded in 1889, is an organization of folklorists with over l, 000 members in the US, Canada, and other countries throughout the world. The journal regularly publishes book, film, and exhibit reviews as well as articles on expressive culture and how groups make meaning through interactive activities.
Journal of Musicological Research by Taylor & Francis
ISBN: 1547-7304
Publication Date: 1979-present
The Journal of Musicological Research publishes original articles on all aspects of the discipline of music: historical musicology, style and repertory studies, music theory, ethnomusicology, music education, organology, and interdisciplinary studies.

Because contemporary music scholarship addresses critical and analytical issues from a multiplicity of viewpoints, the Journal of Musicological Research seeks to present studies from all perspectives, using the full spectrum of methodologies. This variety makes the Journal a place where scholarly approaches can coexist, in all their harmony and occasional discord, and one that is not allied with any particular school or viewpoint.
The Musical Quarterly (MQ) by Oxford University Press
ISBN: 0027-4631
Publication Date: 1915-present
The Musical Quarterly, founded in 1915 by Oscar Sonneck, has long been cited as the premier scholarly musical journal in the United States. The journal focuses on the merging areas in scholarship where much of the challenging new work in the study of music is being produced. Regular sections include 'American Musics', 'Music and Culture', 'The Twentieth Century', and an 'Institutions, Industries, Technologies' section which examines music and the ways it is created and consumed. In addition, a fifth section entitled 'Primary Sources' features discussions on issues of biography, texts, and manuscripts; reflections on leading figures; personal statements by noted performers and composers; and essays on performances and recordings.

Use the WorldCat Discover Box (found below and also on the Butler Libraries homepage) to begin your search for print books owned by Butler Libraries, PALNI (Private Academic Library Network of Indiana) Libraries and other Libraries around the world.

Search Butler Libraries

The Butler Libraries use the Library of Congress Classification system. You can learn more about it under the Classifications Systems section of this guide. This is an alpha-numeric system of classification (meaning it uses both letters and numbers to describe the classification and location of an item).

To browse the stacks, it is useful to know the basic LC class for the general topic you want to find. Here are a some common topics to get you started:

M = Scores

M1627 Songs, international

M1629 Songs, United States

M1630.18 Popular music

M1685-M1853 National music (vocal) by country

ML = Music History & Literature

ML100-109 Dictionaries and encyclopedias

ML113-158 Bibliography

ML159-3797 History and criticism

ML 198-350.5 By region or country

ML 198-239 America

ML 240-325 Europe

ML 330-345 Asia

ML 350-350.5 Africa

ML3544-3776: Folk, national, and ethnic musics

ML3550-ML3562: North America

ML3556: African American music

ML3557: Music of Indian nations and tribes

ML3563: Canadian music

ML3565: West Indies & Caribbean music

ML3570-3572: Central America (including Mexico)

ML3575: South America

ML3580-ML3730: Europe and Russia

ML3740-3758: Asia & Middle East (including Turkey)

ML3760 Africa

ML3770 Australia

ML3771 New Zealand

ML3774-ML3775 Oceania

ML3776 Jewish music

ML3798 Ethnomusicology

ML3799 Ethnomusicology--Addresses, essays, lectures; History and criticism; Fieldwork

ML3799.2 Applied ethnomusicology

MT = Musical Instruction and Study (scores or books)

MT3 History of music education

MT5.5-7 Music theory

MT6.5 Collections of music for analysis

MT90-146 Analytical guides

MT170-810 Instrumental techniques

MT820-949 Voice instruction

The best place to find individual titles of eBooks is searching in the Butler University Library Catalog (WorldCat). In addition to searching for books individually, there are several online collections of eBooks that you can browse. Several of those are listed below. You are welcome to find out more on the eBook LibGuide, including how institutional eBooks differ from ones you would use personally, which devices are supported by each collection, how to search and download chapters and titles, and more.

Search Butler Libraries

Cambridge Companions to Music This link opens in a new window
Cambridge Companions to Music provide clear and accessible information on composers, instruments or musical topics. Each volume provides essays by leading authorities offering comprehensive coverage and indispensable reference material.
EBSCO Ebook Collection This link opens in a new window
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR eBooks download as pdf files (one chapter at a time). These can be read on any device with a pdf reader.
Oxford Scholarship Online eBooks This link opens in a new window
Contains scholarly eBooks from Oxford University Press
SpringerLink This link opens in a new window
SpringerLink offers over 2,250 peer reviewed eJournals, more than 45,000 eBooks and 24,000 Protocols spanning many disciplines but focusing on Science, Technology, & Medicine. More than 7,000 eBooks, eReferences and eBook Series titles are scheduled to be added each year.

Cultural Equity Research Center (Lomax)
Created by Anna Lomax Wood, daughter of noted musicologist Alan Lomax, "with the goal of advancing Lomax's work by preserving, disseminating, and sharing the music and documentation he recorded with the world ... Included on the website are over 17,000 streaming audio recordings organized into 30 collections and totaling over 800 hours of music, stories and interviews, recorded mostly from 1946 through the 1990s in the southern U.S. ...
more...less...
As described in the section on accessing materials in the ACE Online Archive, the site also features 5,000 photographs taken during Lomax's recording trips, Lomax's lectures and speeches (1960s–1990s), and recordings of radio programs (1939–1950s) that Lomax wrote, produced, or hosted.
There are also a small number of lesson plans, mainly for K–12 teachers, showing how the music can be used in a variety of local settings and different disciplines." (from the Website)
Ethnomusicology, Folk Music, and World Music
Links to sites related to ethnomusicology provided and maintained by the University of Washington.
Instrument Encyclopedia
This site contains a wealth of resources about musical instruments and instrument groups as well as a geographical browser and a guide to instrument collections in the United States and Canada.
Smithsonian Folkways
Includes liner notes and audio samples from all musical and spoken word recordings issued by Folkways and its affiliates. Site also includes complete audio for selected songs of more recent releases and short video presentations.
Society for Ethnomusicology
Good link to sources relating to various aspects of ethnomusicology; includes access to issues of the Journal of the Society for Ethnomusicology.

Reference Resources

eResources:

Garland Encyclopedia of World Music This link opens in a new window
"Garland's ambitious 10-volume series takes a cultural approach to its focus on the music of all the world's peoples. Each volume is arranged topically, regionally, or by ethnic group, and complemented by an extensive index. Of exceptional value are the CDs that accompany each volume, often with previously unrecorded music, as well as the resource guides, extensive bibliographies, and photographs."
Oxford Music Online This link opens in a new window
"The authoritative resource for music research with over 52,000 articles written by nearly 9,000 scholars charting the diverse history and cultures of music around the globe." -- from their description
Includes: Encyclopedia of Popular Music, Grove Music Online, Oxford Companion to Music, and Oxford Dictionary of Music.
Oxford Bibliographies: Music This link opens in a new window
Oxford Bibliographies: Music contains articles on current scholarship in the field of Music with original commentary and annotations and provides researches a pathway to reliable resources.

Ethnomusicology: A Research and Information Guide by Jennifer C. Post
Call Number: eBook (older print edition in Reference: ML 128 .E3 P67 2004)
ISBN: 9780203814161
Publication Date: 2013
This is an annotated bibliography to books, recordings, videos, and websites in the field of ethnomusicology. The book is divided into two parts. Part One is organized by resource type in categories of greatest concern to students and scholars. It includes handbooks and guides; encyclopedias and dictionaries; indexes and bibliographies; journals; media sources; and archives. It also offers annotated entries on the basic literature of ethnomusicological history and research. Part Two provides a list of current publications in the field that are widely used by ethnomusicologists. Multiply indexed, this book serves as an excellent tool for librarians, researchers, and scholars in sorting through the massive amount of new material that has appeared in the field over the last decades.
Historical Dictionary of Popular Music by Norman Abjorensen
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9781538102145
Publication Date: 2017
TThe Historical Dictionary of Popular Music contains a chronology, an introduction, an appendix, and an extensive bibliography. The dictionary section has over 1000 cross-referenced entries on major figures across genres, definitions of genres, technical innovations and surveys of countries and regions.
The Bloomsbury Handbook of Religion and Popular Music by Christopher Partridge (Editor); Marcus Moberg (Editor)
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9781474237352
Publication Date: 2017
The Bloomsbury Handbook of Religion and Popular Music is the first comprehensive analysis of the most important themes and concepts in this field. Featuring chapters on methodology, key genres, religious traditions and popular music subcultures, this volume provides the essential reference point for anyone with an interest in religion and popular music as well as popular culture more broadly. Religious traditions covered include Christianity, Islam, Judaism, Hinduism, Buddhism, Paganism and occultism. Coverage of genres and religion ranges from heavy metal, rap and hip hop to country music and film and television music.

Print Reference:

Location: Basement of Irwin Library

The Rough Guide to World Music by Simon Broughton (Editor); Mark Ellingham (Editor); Jon Lusk (Editor); Rough Guides Staff
Call Number: Music Reference: ML102.W67 W67 2006 v.1
ISBN: 1843535513
Publication Date: 2006-10-30
The Rough Guide to World Music is the unchallenged reference work on sounds from around the globe. This third edition is more comprehensive than ever - updated and expanded throughout and with a number of new countries added. Volume 1: Africa & Middle East has full coverage of genres from Afrobeat to Arabesque, and artists from Amadou & Mariam to Umm Kulthum. The book includes articles on more than 60 countries written by expert contributors, discographies for each article with biographical notes on thousands of musicians and reviews of their best CDs.
The Encyclopedia of Popular Music by Colin Larkin
Call Number: Music Reference: ML102.P66 G84 2006 v.1-10
ISBN: 9780195313734
Publication Date: 2006
This authoritative biographical encyclopedia of rock, pop, and jazz artists covers popular music from 1900 to the present, including folk, blues, world music, rock, heavy metal, techno, reggae, and hip hop. Expanded to ten volumes, the new edition contains 6,000 new entries, and extensive revisions and updates throughout. In addition to thousands of biographical entries, this A-Z reference also includes entries covering popular music genres, trends, styles, record lables, venues, and festivals. Key dates, biographies, and further reading are provided for artists covered, along with complete discographies that include record labels, release dates, and a 5-star album rating system.

Latin America and the Caribbean:

Music in Latin America and the Caribbean: an Encyclopedic History by Malena Kuss (Editor)
Call Number: Music Reference: ML 199 .M858 2004 v.1-2
ISBN: 0292702981
Publication Date: 2004-12-01
Taking a sociocultural and human-centered approach, Music in Latin America and the Caribbean gathers the best scholarship from writers all over the world to cover in depth the musical legacies of indigenous peoples, creoles, African descendants, Iberian colonizers, and other immigrant groups that met and mixed in the New World...The four volumes that constitute this work are structured as parts of a single conception and gather 150 contributions by more than 100 distinguished scholars representing 36 countries [from Publisher description].
Caribbean Popular Music by David V. Moskowitz
Call Number: eBook AND in print: ML102.P66 M667 2006 (general stacks)
ISBN: 9780313017629
Publication Date: 2005
Due to its depth and extensive coverage, this book is the most complete and up to date encyclopedia about reggae, mento, ska, rocksteady, and dancehall music on the market today. Indices in both the front and back of the book make navigating through entries extremely user-friendly. Entries cover singers and songwriters, producers, record labels, and different styles of music that evolved from reggae.
Encyclopedia of Latin American Popular Music by George Torres (Editor)
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9781299548145
Publication Date: 2013
"Encyclopedia of Latin American Popular Music" delivers scholarly, authoritative, and accessible information on the subject, and is the only single-volume reference in English that is devoted to an encyclopedic study of the popular music in this genre. This comprehensive text organized alphabetically contains roughly 200 entries and includes a chronology, discussion of themes in Latin American music, and 37 biographical sidebars of significant musicians and performers.

North America:

The Encyclopedia of Native Music by Brian Wright-McLeod
Call Number: ML156.4.I5 W75 2005 (Music Reference)
ISBN: 0816524475
Publication Date: 2005-04-01
Native music embraces a wide range of forms: country and folk, jazz and swing, reggae and rap. Brian Wright-McLeod, producer/host of Canada's longest-running Native radio program, has gathered the musicians and their music into this comprehensive reference, an authoritative source for biographies and discographies of hundreds of Native artists.
Encyclopedia of Native American Music of North America by Timothy Archambault; Elaine Keillor; John M. H. Kelly
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9780313055065
Publication Date: 2013
This book is a one-stop reference resource for the vast variety of musical expressions of the First Peoples' cultures of North America, both past and present. It supplies a detailed yet accessible and approachable overview of the substantial contributions and influence of First Peoples that can be appreciated by both native and nonnative audiences, regardless of their familiarity with musical theory.
Encyclopedia of African American Music [3 Volumes] by Tammy L. Kernodle (Editor); Horace Maxile (Editor); Emmett G. Price (Editor)
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9780313342004
Publication Date: 2010
Showcases all facets of African American music, including folk, religious, concert, and popular styles of today. Illuminates the profound role that African American music has plays in American cultural history.
The New Encyclopedia of Southern Culture: Folklife by Glenn Hinson (Editor); William Ferris (Editor)
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9780807898550
Publication Date: 2010
Fifty thematic entries address subjects such as hip-hop, collegiate stepping, quinceanera celebrations, New Orleans marching bands, and powwows. Together, the entries demonstrate that southern folklife is dynamically alive and everywhere around us, giving meaning to the everyday unfolding of community life.
The New Encyclopedia of Southern Culture: Music by Bill C. Malone (Editor)
Call Number: eBook AND in print: ML101.S9 M8 2008
ISBN: 9780807832394
Publication Date: 2009
This much-anticipated volume in The New Encyclopedia of Southern Culture celebrates an essential element of southern life and makes available for the first time a stand-alone reference to the music and music makers of the American South. From Mahalia Jackson to R.E.M., from Doc Watson to OutKast, this volume considers a diverse array of topics, drawing on the best historical and contemporary scholarship on southern music.

Asia:

The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Music of India by Sangit Mahabharati
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 0195650980
Publication Date: 2011
The most authoritative, comprehensive, and up-to-date reference on the subject, this encyclopaedia covers the story of music in India spread over almost 2000 years and includes more than 5000 in-depth entries by over 100 acclaimed contributors from India and abroad.Covering classical, folk, film, and other forms of music in India, the three volumes provide an overview of the historical and cultural contexts of the musical forms, instruments, and composers.
Unplayed Melodies by Marc Perlman
Call Number: eBook and in print (ML345.J383 P48 2004)
ISBN: 0520930495
Publication Date: 2004
The gamelan music of Central Java is one of the world's great orchestral traditions. Its rich sonic texture is not based on Western-style harmony or counterpoint, but revolves around a single melody. The nature of that melody, however, is puzzling. In this book, Marc Perlman uses this puzzle as a key to both the art of the gamelan and the nature of musical knowledge in general.
Ritual and Music of North China by Stephen Jones
Call Number: ML3917.C6 J663 2007
ISBN: 0754665909
Publication Date: 2009
This second volume of Stephen Jones' work on ritual and musical life in north China, again with an accompanying DVD, gives an impression of music-making in daily life in the poor mountainous region of Shaanbei, northwest China.
Sizhu Instrumental Music of South China by Alan Thrasher
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9781282398023
Publication Date: 2008
A study on Chinese music, based on the author's extensive fieldwork and a thorough knowledge of the scholarly literature. It examines the theoretical underpinnings.
The Ashgate Research Companion to Japanese Music by David W. Hughes; Alison McQueen Tokita (Editor)
Call Number: ML340.A854 A85 2008
ISBN: 0754656993
Publication Date: 2008
This is the first book to cover in detail all genres including court music, Buddhist chant, theatre music, chamber ensemble music and folk music, as well as contemporary music and the connections between music and society in various periods. The book is a collaborative effort, involving both Japanese and English speaking authors, and was conceived by the editors to form a balanced approach that comprehensively treats the full range of Japanese musical culture.
P'ungmul by Nathan Hesselink
Call Number: ML3752.7.C5 H487 2006
ISBN: 9780226330938
Publication Date: 2006
Composed of a core set of two drums and two gongs, p'ungmul is a South Korean tradition of rural folk percussion. Steeped in music, dance, theater, and pageantry, but centrally focused on rhythm, such ensembles have been an integral part of village life in South Korea for centuries, serving as a musical accompaniment in the often overlapping and shifting contexts of labor, ritual, and entertainment.
K-pop live : fans, idols, and multimedia performance by Suk-Young Kim
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9781503606005
Publication Date: 2018
1990s South Korea saw the transition from a military dictatorship to a civilian government, from a manufacturing economy to a postindustrial hub, and from a cloistered society to a more dynamic transnational juncture. These seismic shifts had a profound impact on the media industry and the rise of K-pop.

Europe:

Companion to Irish Traditional Music by Fintan Vallely
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9781782050148
Publication Date: 2011
The Companion to Irish Traditional Music is a landmark, easy to use A-Z format for studying, exploring and researching one of Ireland's most universally recognisable cultural expressions.
Music in the Balkans by Jim Samson
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9004250379
Publication Date: 2013
This book asks how a study of many different musics in South East Europe can help us understand the construction of cultural traditions, East and West. It crosses boundaries of many kinds, political, cultural, repertorial and disciplinary. South East Europe, with its mix of ethnicities and religions, presents an exceptionally rich field of study in this respect.
A Selection of European Folk Dances by Sam Stuart
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 1483139883
Publication Date: 2014 [1980]
A selection of folk dances from various European countries outside the British Isles, complete with dance sequence and music. This is a four-volume set with each volume separately catalogued. All are available electronically: Volume 2, Volume 3, and Volume 4.

Australasia:

Community Music in Oceania by Brydie-Leigh Bartleet, et al. (Editor)
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 0824867033
Publication Date: 2018
Covering a wide range of perspectives from Australia, Timor-Leste, New Zealand, Japan, Fiji, China, Taiwan, Malaysia, Singapore, and Korea, the essays raise common themes in terms of the pedagogies and practices used, pointing collectively toward one horizon of approach. Book chapters discuss the maintenance and recontextualization of music traditions, the lingering impact of colonization, the growing demands for professionalization of community music, the implications of government policies, tensions between various ethnic groups within countries, and the role of institutions such as universities across the region.
The Oxford Companion to Australian Music by Warren Bebbington (Editor)
Call Number: General Stacks: ML101.A9 O94 1997
ISBN: 0195534328
Publication Date: 1998-04-30
With more than 2,000 entries, the Companion ranges across a wide spectrum, from ancient Aboriginal traditions and European-derived orchestral, operatic and concert music, to Australian folk jazz, country, popular, rock, electronic and experimental music. There are numerous entries on Aboriginal subjects and on key musical organizations and considerable space is given to a series of longer entries covering musical works, institutions, genres, instruments, terms, and many of the historical contexts of Australian music. These key essays offer an authoritative framework for a better understanding of the shape and originality of music-making in Australia.
Antarctica - music, sounds and cultural connections by Bernadette Hince
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9781925022285
Publication Date: 2015
This is the first book whose subject is the music, sounds and silences of Antarctica. The icy continent, with its extremes of climate and environment and unique soundscapes, offers great potential for creative achievements in the world of music and sound. This book demonstrates the intellectual and creative engagement of artists, musicians, scientists and writers. Consciousness of sounds -- in particular, musical ones -- has not been at the forefront of our aims in polar endeavours, but listening to and appreciating them has been as important there as elsewhere.

Encyclopedia of American Gospel Music by W. K. McNeil (Editor)
Call Number: Music Reference: ML102.G6 E63 2005
ISBN: 0415941792
Publication Date: 2005
The Encyclopedia of American Gospel Music is the first comprehensive reference to cover this important American musical form. Coverage includes all aspects of both African-American and white gospel from history and performers to recording techniques and styles as well as the influence of gospel on different musical genres and cultural trends.
Encyclopedia of the Blues by Edward M. Komara
Call Number: eBook AND in print: Music Reference: ML102.B584 E5 2006
ISBN: 0415927005
Publication Date: 2005-10-01
This comprehensive two-volume set brings together all aspects of the blues from performers and musical styles to record labels and cultural issues, including regional evolution and history. Organized in an accessible A-to-Z format, the Encyclopedia of the Blues is an essential reference resource for information on this unique American music genre.
Encyclopedia of Classic Rock by David Luhrssen; Michael Larson
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9781440835148
Publication Date: 2017
Examining one of the most popular and enduring genres of American music, this encyclopedia of classic rock from 1965 to 1975 provides an indispensable resource for cultural historians and music fans.
Encyclopedia of Contemporary Christian Music: Pop, Rock, and Worship by Don Cusic (Editor)
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 0313344264
Publication Date: 2009
The Encyclopedia of Contemporary Christian Music: Pop, Rock, and Worship is the first comprehensive reference work filling a major gap in the literature on American music and Christian culture, looking at this genre in the context of the overall history of religious music in the United States. With over 200 entries, The Encyclopedia of Contemporary Christian Music covers important performers and industry figures, songs and albums, concerts and festivals, the rise of Christian radio and television, and other issues related to the growth of inspirational music.
Country Music by Richard Carlin
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9781135361044
Publication Date: 2014
This illustrated A-Z guide covers more than 700 country music artists, groups, and bands. Articles also cover specific genres within country music as well as instruments used. Select discographies are provided at the end of each entry, while a bibliography and indexes by instrument, musical style, genre, and song title round out the work.
Encyclopedia of Heavy Metal Music by William Phillips; Brian Cogan
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9780313348013
Publication Date: 2009
Providing an extensive overview of the music, fashion, films, and philosophies behind the movement, this inclusive encyclopedia chronicles the history and development of heavy metal, including sub-movements such as death metal, speed metal, grindcore, and hair metal.The Encyclopedia of Heavy Metal Music and Culture offers a guide to the ultimate underground music, exploring its rich cultural diversity, resilience, and adaptability. Entries for musicians include a discography for those wanting to start or develop their music collections.
Encyclopedia of Indie Rock by Kerry L. Smith
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9780313341199
Publication Date: 2008-06-30
Encyclopedia of Indie Rock chronicles the history and development indie rock, providing students, scholars, and music fans with an extensive overview of the musical and cultural phenomenon. This work also includes a timeline; a resource guide, which includes recommended books and articles, Web sites, and festivals; and indices in both the front and back of the book to make navigation very user-friendly.
The Encyclopedia of New Wave by Daniel Bukszpan; Gerald Casale (Foreword by)
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9781402784729
Publication Date: 2012
The Encyclopedia of New Wave comprehensively captures this eclectic music and profiles the movement's most popular and influential bands and artists, including Blondie, INXS, XTC, Grace Jones, and Depeche Mode.
An Encyclopedia of Political Record Labels by Josh MacPhee
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9781942173113
Publication Date: 2019
An Encyclopedia of Political Record Labels is a compendium of information about political music and radical cultural production. Focusing on vinyl records and the labels that released them, this groundbreaking book traces the parallel rise of social movements in the second half of the twentieth century and the vinyl record as the dominant form of music distribution. Each entry features the logo of the label, a brief synopsis of its history, and additional interesting information. Truly international in scope, over two dozen countries and territories are represented, as well as a myriad of musical styles and forms.
Encyclopedia of Punk Music and Culture by Brian Cogan
Call Number: Music Reference: ML102.R6 C649 2006 (in the basement of Irwin Library)
ISBN: 0313333408
Publication Date: 2006
This inclusive encyclopedia chronicles the history and development of punk, including sub-movements such as Hardcore, Post-punk, Queercore, and Emo, to provide readers with an extensive overview of the music, fashion, films, and philosophies behind it. Entries for musicians include a discography for those wanting to start, or develop, their music collections.
Encyclopedia of Rap and Hip Hop Culture by Yvonne Bynoe
Call Number: Music Reference: ML102.R27 B96 2006 (in the basement of Irwin Library)
ISBN: 0313330581
Publication Date: 2005
This encyclopedia examines all four elements of Hip Hop Culture, providing students, scholars, and music fans with a complete history of the thirty-year music genre. This encyclopedia includes approximately 100 photographs, discographies after each entry, and a for further listening list at the end of the volume. Also included is the Hip Hop Declaration of Peace.
Encyclopedia of Television Theme Songs by Mark A. Robinson
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9780786465170
Publication Date: 2011
Featuring 1,000 detailed entries, this encyclopedia examines the phenomenon of television theme songs. Organized alphabetically by TV series from The A-Team to Zorro, the individual themes are designated by title, composer, lyricist and performer, with an analysis of how the theme captured the show's spirit. Each entry also includes the series' cast credits, its network, the years of its original run, and an in-depth program description.
Encyclopedia of World Pop Music, 1980-2001 by Stan Jeffries
Call Number: ML102.P66 J44 2003
ISBN: 0313315477
Publication Date: 2003-06-30
In this eclectic encyclopedia, author Stan Jeffries chronicles the careers of over 110 musical artists from 37 different nations. Entries include biographical information, trace the entrants' musical development, and recount the performers' critical and popular reception. Annotation. Weighted heavily towards European acts and secondarily towards Asian ones, this encyclopedia contains some 130 entries offering career details of groups and single artists who have achieved success in world pop charts. The selection is arbitrary and incomplete, with four entries from South Africa representing the entirety of the African continent, the growing influence of Arab pop music completely ignored, and the arguably crucial contribution of Jamaica to world pop utterly neglected.

Grove Music Online This link opens in a new window
Grove Music Online provides information about the lives of composers and performers; musical styles, periods, terms, and genres; musical instruments; music printing and publishing; world musics; popular music; and other music-related topics.

The Grove Dictionary of Musical Instruments by Laurence Libin (Editor-In-Chief)
Call Number: Music Reference: ML102.I5 N48 2014 v.1-5
ISBN: 9780199743391
Publication Date: 2014
At five volumes, the second edition provides greatly expanded coverage of instruments from around the world and their builders, with special attention to electronic and experimental instruments; the human body as instrument; the history and techniques of instrument design and manufacture; performance practice; and scholars whose work has shaped our understanding of musical instruments.
The Billboard Illustrated Musical by Lucien Jenkins (Editor); Evelyn Glennie (Foreword by)
Call Number: Music Reference: ML460.M875 B55 2006
ISBN: 0823077829
Publication Date: 2006
Presents a comprehensive guide to choosing and playing electronic, acoustic, and digital instruments, including percussion, brass, woodwind, strings, and keyboard.
Musical instruments : craftsmanship and traditions from prehistory to the present by Lucie Rault; Jane Brenton (Translator)
Call Number: General Stacks: ML460 .R28 2000
ISBN: 0810943840
Publication Date: 2000
With more than 150 color photographs, this illustrated book by ethnologist Lucie Rault explores the relationship between musical instruments and the people and societies who use them. From the vocal chord to precision string instruments, from the cai trong kuan (Vietnamese zither) to the edungu (Ugandan lyre), Musical Instruments details an array of instruments and provides unique anthropological insights into the relationship between ethnography and music.
A Dictionary for the Modern Percussionist and Drummer by James A. Strain
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9780810886926
Publication Date: 2017
A Dictionary for the Modern Percussionist and Drummer is an essential resource for student, professional and amateur musicians who wish to delve into the vast world of percussion and drumming terminology. Classical music, popular drum set styles, world drumming ensembles, and historical genres are included, all illustrated with over 300 pictures.
Encyclopedia of Percussion by John H. Beck
Call Number: Music Reference: ML102.P4 E5 2007
ISBN: 0415971233
Publication Date: 2007
The volume is divided into 4 major sections: an alphabetical dictionary of percussion instruments and terms; illustrations of key percussion instruments; longer, individual articles on key members of the percussion family, from Bass Drum to Xylophone, written by leading percussionists and scholars; and finally, several appendices of terms and symbols and a comprehensive bibliography.

World Music