LibGuides: GHS 211: Website Project: Finding Information Sources

Library Resources

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
This large multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,770 journals, including full text for over 4,000 peer-reviewed titles.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR provides access to full-text academic electronic journals in various disciplines including economics and finance, political science, history, literature, anthropology, mathematics, sociology, statistics, and education.
EBSCO Ebook Collection This link opens in a new window
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Covers literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, etc. Contains current full text scholarly journals which cover these fields and a significant collection of recent scholarly books.

MEDIA

Kanopy Streaming This link opens in a new window
A collection of more than 19,000 streaming documentaries and foreign/indie feature films, available on a patron-driven acquisition model (all titles are available to you, Butler University Libraries pays for licenses that hit usage triggers)
Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
Films on Demand is a state-of-the-art streaming video platform for a variety of educational media content.

World History in Context This link opens in a new window
From ancient Europe to Latin America and from the Far East to the Renaissance, World History in Context is a collection of reference, full-text articles from leading scholarly publications, an array of primary sources, and images, maps and charts which provide expansive geographic and chronological research materials for the study of world history.
Cambridge Histories Online This link opens in a new window
The Cambridge Histories is a globally respected series of over 400 volumes spanning fifteen subject areas across the humanities and social sciences, with a concentration on political and cultural history, literature, philosophy, religious studies, music and the arts.
Global Road Warrior This link opens in a new window
Use this database to find cultural, economic, and travel information for over 170 countries. Includes statistics, maps, and photos.
Global Issues in Context This link opens in a new window
Global Issues in Context covers a wide variety of subject areas, including sociology, current events, civics, politics, science, economics, cultural/religious studies, women's studies, human rights, English composition and many more.
Art & Architecture (Oxford Reference Online) This link opens in a new window
Oxford Reference provides definitions and in-depth, specialist encyclopedic entries across the broad disciplines of Art and Architecture.
U.S. History in Context This link opens in a new window
History Resource Center: U.S. provides integrated access to over 4,000 historical (primary) documents, articles from more than 30 reference titles, and over 110 full-text journal covering themes, events, individuals and periods in U.S. history from pre-Colonial times to the present.

UN Data
Statistics from United Nations members states on a variety of topics

SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
SocINDEX with Full Text is the world's most comprehensive and highest quality sociology research database.
Cambridge Companions to Philosophy, Religion, & Culture This link opens in a new window
This online collection serves as reference works for an inter-disciplinary audience, and contains over 900 downloadable essays taken from the Cambridge Companions to Philosophy, Religion and Culture (more than 90 volumes).
Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective: 1907-1984 This link opens in a new window
The Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective indexes a wide range of important journals in the humanities and social sciences, dating as far back as 1907.
Life Magazine Archive This link opens in a new window
Complete digital version of Life Magazine from 1936 through 2000

U.N. Human Development Reports
2018 Statistical Update: Includes information related to the development of a country's society, including information related to health, education, income, and poverty.

ScienceDirect (Elsevier) This link opens in a new window

World Health Organization
Trying to find international health information and statistics? This site contains statistics on - "Road safety," "Air pollution," "Water, sanitation, and hygiene," "Chemicals and second-hand smoke," and "Epidemic prone diseases," to name a few.

International Financial Statistics (International Monetary Fund) This link opens in a new window
The IFS includes data on the following topics: balance of payments, banking and financial systems, labor, exchange rates, fund position, government finance, interest rates, international liquidity, national accounts, population, prices, production, and trade.
One Business (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
ProQuest One Business is a business library containing millions of full-text items across scholarly and popular periodicals, newspapers, market research reports, dissertations, books, videos and more.

Additional Sources: Databases & Journals

BEST-BET DATABASES

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
This large multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,770 journals, including full text for over 4,000 peer-reviewed titles.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR provides access to full-text academic electronic journals in various disciplines including economics and finance, political science, history, literature, anthropology, mathematics, sociology, statistics, and education.

NEWSPAPERS & MAGAZINES

Alt-Press Watch This link opens in a new window
Alt-Press Watch showcases unique, independent voices from a variety grassroots newspapers, magazines, and journals.
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
Included are journals, magazines, and newspapers from ethnic and minority presses, providing researchers access to essential, often overlooked perspectives.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni provides access to the full text of hundreds of major business and legal journals, magazines, and U.S. and international newspapers. Company financial, country, tax, medical, federal and state legal information, and accounting information can also be accessed.
PressReader This link opens in a new window
Access to 7000 newspapers and magazines, including international sources.

BLOGS

the Black Perspectives Blog of the African American Intellectual History Society

Curated by an editorial board of respected scholars, Black Perspectives posts relatively short posts about the Black transatlantic past and present.

Historical Statistics of the United States This link opens in a new window
Statistics of the U.S. in five categories: population, work and welfare, economic structure and performance, economic sectors, and governance and international relations.
Cambridge Histories Online This link opens in a new window
The Cambridge Histories is a globally respected series of over 400 volumes spanning fifteen subject areas across the humanities and social sciences, with a concentration on political and cultural history, literature, philosophy, religious studies, music and the arts.
History Reference Center This link opens in a new window
This database features full text for thousands of primary source documents and informational texts.

LIBGUIDES

American Civil War at 150
Be sure to check out the Web Resources tab to learn about several excellent online repositories.
The U.S. South
This page highlights several websites with narratives, newspapers, and other sources of information.
African Studies LibGuide
Includes information on current affairs, media, and research resources.

SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
SocINDEX with Full Text is the world's most comprehensive and highest quality sociology research database.
GenderWatch This link opens in a new window
This is a database of unique and diverse publications that focus on how gender impacts a broad spectrum of subject areas. With its archival material, dating back to 1970 in some cases, GenderWatch is a repository of important historical perspectives on the evolution of the women's movement, men's studies, the transgendered community and the changes in gender roles over the years.
Cambridge Companions to Philosophy, Religion, & Culture This link opens in a new window
This online collection serves as reference works for an inter-disciplinary audience, and contains over 900 downloadable essays taken from the Cambridge Companions to Philosophy, Religion and Culture (more than 90 volumes).
Oxford Reference Online (ORO) This link opens in a new window
The Premium Collection offers a huge range of fully-indexed, extensively linked, up to date, and cross-searchable dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works published by Oxford University Press, including detailed information across a broad subject range from titles in the world-renowned Oxford Companions series.
ERIC [Educational Resources Information Center] (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
ERIC is an internet-based digital library of education research and information sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences (IES) of the U.S. Department of Education. ERIC contains citations for articles from education literature and journals from 1966 to the present, and links are provided to the full text of the articles when available. By using this EBSCO version, rather than the public ERIC site, you can easily link to the full text of additional articles if the library has access to them.

STATS & DATA

Census - People
The US Census data that pertains to people, populations, and households.
UN Data
Statistics from United Nations members states on a variety of topics
Freedom House
This organization has a clear agenda, but they do bring together interesting data related to different types of freedom, separated geographically and by issue.

ART & ARCHITECTURE

Databases:

Art & Architecture (Oxford Reference Online) This link opens in a new window
Oxford Reference provides definitions and in-depth, specialist encyclopedic entries across the broad disciplines of Art and Architecture.
Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new window
Includes Grove Art Online and Oxford Art Reference in one location.

LibGuides:

Art and Visual Rhetoric
by Sarah Ward Last Updated Mar 20, 2024 74 views this year

MUSIC

Databases:

African American Music Reference This link opens in a new window
Essays and images on blues, jazz, spirituals, gospel, ragtime, civil rights songs, rhythm and blues, hip hop and rap and other forms of African American musical expression.
Cambridge Companions to Music This link opens in a new window
Cambridge Companions to Music provide clear and accessible information on composers, instruments or musical topics. Each volume provides essays by leading authorities offering comprehensive coverage and indispensable reference material.
Oxford Music Online This link opens in a new window
Includes: Encyclopedia of Popular Music, Grove Music Online, Oxford Companion to Music, and Oxford Dictionary of Music.
Oxford Bibliographies: Music This link opens in a new window
Oxford Bibliographies: Music contains articles on current scholarship in the field of Music with original commentary and annotations and provides researches a pathway to reliable resources.

LibGuides:

Music Basics
by Sarah Ward Last Updated Mar 20, 2024 624 views this year
PCA 241: Hip Hop: History, Evolution, and Culture (Voice)
by Sarah Ward Last Updated Mar 20, 2024 413 views this year
World Music
by Sarah Ward Last Updated Mar 20, 2024 90 views this year

DANCE

Databases:

Dance Online: Dance Studies Collection This link opens in a new window
Dance Online: Dance Studies Collection presents the historical context of 20th and 21st century dance through 150,000 pages of exclusive photographs, correspondence, magazines, dance notation, and reference materials.
International Bibliography of Theater and Dance Full Text This link opens in a new window
International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance with Full Text is the definitive research tool for the study of theatre and the performing arts. This database was initiated by the American Society for Theatre Research, and contains more than 450 full-text titles, including more than 140 full-text journals, and more than 300 full-text books & monographs.
Oxford Dictionary of Dance This link opens in a new window
This dictionary covers all aspects of the diverse dance world from classical ballet to modern, from flamenco to hip-hop, from tap to South Asian dance forms and includes detailed entries on technical terms, steps, styles, works, and countries, in addition to many biographies of dancers, choreographers, and companies.

LibGuides:

Dance
by Sarah Ward Last Updated Mar 20, 2024 203 views this year

DATABASES

Health Business FullTEXT This link opens in a new window
Health Business FullTEXT provides full text coverage for nearly 130 administrative journals covering the business of health care administration.
PubMed (MEDLINE) This link opens in a new window
Article citations, often with abstracts, from more than 4,000 national and international periodicals, books and dissertations in medicine, nursing, dentistry, and related topics; online equivalent to Index Medicus.
Consumer Health Complete This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive resource for consumer-oriented health content, Consumer Health Complete is designed to support the information needs of patients and to foster an overall understanding of health-related topics. This resource provides content covering all key areas of health and wellness, from mainstream medicine to the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated medicine.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
PsycINFO, from the American Psychological Association (APA), contains nearly 2.3 million citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, all in psychology and related disciplines, dating as far back as the 1800s.

LIBGUIDE

Health Sciences
by Brittany Heer Last Updated Apr 24, 2024 1325 views this year

STATS & DATA

World Health Organization: Data
Welcome to the Global Health Observatory, WHO's gateway to health-related statistics for more than 1000 indicators for its 194 Member States.
UN Data
Statistics from United Nations members states on a variety of topics
OECD iLibrary
Examines national health systems from 1960 forward for OECD member countries in a general, demographic, economic, and social context.

Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
Communications and Mass Media Complete combines two previous resources related to communication and mass media (CommSearch and Mass Media Articles Index). It provides full text for over 200 journals and contains citation coverage for more.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Business Source Complete is the world's definitive scholarly business database. Includes books, case studies, company profiles, economic reports, industry reports, SWOT analyses, in addition to nearly 2,000 peer-reviewed journals.

Business Database Help LibGuide
We have access to over a dozen specialized business databases. Teresa Williams, our LSB Librarian, has created this awesome chart to help you know which database will meet your information need.

STATS & DATA

Historical Statistics of the United States This link opens in a new window
Statistics of the U.S. in five categories: population, work and welfare, economic structure and performance, economic sectors, and governance and international relations.

Data.gov
"Data, tools, and resources to conduct research, develop web and mobile applications, design data visualizations, and more." Browse by topic.
UN Data
Statistics from United Nations members states on a variety of topics

Backwards Reference Searching

What it yields:

It looks into the sources that your author referenced. This means the sources have already been vetted by your author for credibility, and you know that they are related to the topic at hand. However, it also means that the sources must have been published before your original source, so you will be retrieving older materials.

A vintage-style pocket watch

How to do it:

Look through the reference page of your source.
Identify sources that seem relevant or interesting.
Track down the full-text of these sources.

Tools to use:

Journals A-Z
Trying to track down an article? Journals A-Z will show you whether we own the journal, what years we have access to, and give you links into the databases that provide full-text. Search by journal title.
WorldCat Discovery
Search Butler University Libraries and beyond for articles, books, media, and more.

Internet Search
Is the source freely available online?
Interlibrary Loan
If we don't have access to something you need, submit an interlibrary loan request!

Forward Reference Searching

What it yields:

Lego homeage to the Back to the Future movie. DeLorean flying in the sky.

It looks into the newer sources that have cited your original source. It is a good indicator that the sources will be on related topics and of good quality.

How to do it:

There are several tools to help you identify which newer sources list your original source on their reference page.

Do You Remember ... The Future? by JD Hancock. Used under CC BY 2.0

Tools to use:

Google Scholar
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations.
Web of Science
Web of Science provides access to the world's leading citation databases, with current and retrospective coverage in the sciences, social sciences, arts and humanities, with backfiles to 1999..

Finding Images and Media

Wikimedia Commons
Large collection of public domain and Creative Commons images, sounds, maps, and other media.

FINDING A WIKIMEDIA IMAGE:

Browse through categories or use the search feature at the top of the page. Images are nested in categories and folders; if you don't appreciate their search interface, remember that Google Image searches will return items within Wikimedia Commons.

FINDING A LICENSE FOR A WIKIMEDIA IMAGE:

If you can get to the Image File page, you'll be set. You may have to click on "More Details about this File" to get to this page.

There are helpful options to the right of the image on this page. You can download the file and get information about how to reuse the file in various ways. License information, image url, and author information is provided.

Wikimedia Commons image file page

License information is provided in an easier way if you continue to scroll down on this page. There will be a section labeled "License" that gives an explanation of the image license and links to additional information too.

Wikimedia commons image license

Google Images
Click on the Search Tools button to see helpful limiters, including image size, color, type, time, etc.

Google Images search with arrow pointing to Search Tools button

Not filtered by license - Results will include images that are protected under copyright (All Rights Reserved). They may be usable under Fair Use with proper attribution, but we recommend that you select another option.
Reuse - Results will be Creative Commons or public domain images that allow you to reuse them. Look for the individual license to know what specifically you need to do to reuse the image. Alt. term: free to use or share.
Modification - You can change these images however you would like. Include adding borders, making collages, etc
Noncommercial use - You cannot use these images for commercial purposes.

Internet Archive: Audio
This library contains recordings ranging from alternative news programming, to Grateful Dead concerts, to Old Time Radio shows, to book and poetry readings, to original music uploaded by our users. Many of these audios and MP3s are available for free download.
Soundcloud: Creative Commons
Curated collection of Creative Commons-licensed tracks from Soundcloud users
Freesound Project
"The Freesound Project is a collaborative database of Creative Commons licensed sounds."
Creative Commons: Legal Music for Videos
A listing of sites with Creative Commons-licensed music and guidelines for how to use Creative Commons music

Creative Commons Search
Portal for searching various sites for Creative Commons images, audio, video, and other media. Select a site to begin your search; your currently selected site will be highlighted in light blue.
WikiPaintings
Need art? Check out WikiPaintings for beautiful, high-resolution images of fine art.
Flickr
You will need to apply a Creative Commons limiter to your search results.
Getty Images
A select part of Getty Images is open for reuse; however, you must embed the photos instead of downloading and reusing.
The Public Domain Project
Pond5 licenses stock audio/visual, royalty-free. As part of their Free Media Collection, Pond5 has further curated thousands of historic media files for your creative projects, all in the public domain.

GHS 211: Website Project: Finding Information Sources

Library Resources

Additional Sources: Databases & Journals

BEST-BET DATABASES

NEWSPAPERS & MAGAZINES

BLOGS

LIBGUIDES

STATS & DATA

ART & ARCHITECTURE

Databases:

LibGuides:

MUSIC

Databases:

LibGuides:

DANCE

Databases:

LibGuides:

DATABASES

LIBGUIDE

STATS & DATA

STATS & DATA

When You Have Identified A Good Source

Finding Images and Media

CONTACT

QUICK LINKS