Research Guides (LibGuides): FYS: Living Lives that Matter (Furuness): Welcome!

Welcome to FYS: The Climate Project!

Welcome to the Research Guide for the First Year Seminar:

Living Lives that Matter

This guide is meant to help you develop the skills and tools to accomplish your course objectives:

To reflect on significant questions about yourself, your community, and your world.
To develop the capacity to read and think critically.
To develop the capacity to write clear and persuasive expository and argumentative essays with an emphasis on thesis formation and development.
To gain an understanding of basic principles of oral communication as they apply to classroom discussion.
To understand the liberal arts as a vital and evolving tradition and to see yourself as agents within that tradition.
To develop capacities for careful and open reflection on questions of values and norms.
To develop the ability to carry out research for the purpose of inquiry and to support claims.

The library (and your librarian) are here to help you! Use us early and often!

Resources to Think About

Occupational Outlook Handbook
The Occupational Outlook Handbook (OOH) provides information on what workers do; the work environment; education, training, and other qualifications; pay; the job outlook; information on state and area data; similar occupations; and sources of additional information for more than 300 occupational profiles covering about 4 out of 5 jobs in the economy.

Academic Search Elite

This large multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,770 journals, including full text for over 4,000 peer-reviewed titles.
JSTOR
JSTOR provides access to full-text academic electronic journals in various disciplines including economics and finance, political science, history, literature, anthropology, mathematics, sociology, statistics, and education.
Project MUSE
Covers literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, etc. Contains current full text scholarly journals which cover these fields and a significant collection of recent scholarly books.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context
A variety of reference materials, commentaries and viewpoints, periodical and news articles, primary sources, statistics and multimedia to help present different sides of controversial topics. Highly recommended for argumentative/persuasive research topics.
Google Scholar
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations.

Looking for more?

Don't limit yourself to the databases listed above! Do you know what sort of subject area that your research would best fall under? You can find Databases Grouped by Subject! Pick the subject that best matches your research question and you'll be taken to a page where the liaision librarian for that subject has compiled a list of appropriate databases for you to use.

Academic Search Elite

This large multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,770 journals, including full text for over 4,000 peer-reviewed titles.
AGRICOLA
This database, produced by the National Agricultural Library, provides article citations from journal articles, proceedings, books, reports, theses, computer software, etc. on agriculture and other related subjects such as chemistry, botany, pollution, etc.
Global Issues in Context
Global Issues in Context covers a wide variety of subject areas, including sociology, current events, civics, politics, science, economics, cultural/religious studies, women's studies, human rights, English composition and many more.
Natural Science Collection
The Natural Science Collection provides full-text titles from around the world including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, government publications about the natural sciences.
ScienceDirect (Elsevier)
SpringerLink
SpringerLink offers over 2,250 peer reviewed eJournals, more than 45,000 eBooks and 24,000 Protocols spanning many disciplines but focusing on Science, Technology, & Medicine. More than 7,000 eBooks, eReferences and eBook Series titles are scheduled to be added each year.
Web News
News Harvester provides near real-time access to thousands of top news feeds from around the globe.

Education Databases LibGuide
Extensive list of educational databases, many grouped by age.

The Butler Collegian
Current issues of the campus student newspaper.
Archives of the Butler Collegian
First published in 1886, The Butler Collegian has served as as the student newspaper of Butler University for more than 100 years. Its archives are being made available here. The online archive currently covers January 1886-February 1893, and September 1935-April 2005.

Indianapolis Star/News (1991 - present)
Full text of newspaper articles indexed from the Indianapolis Star, Indianapolis News, and Sunday Star.
Indianapolis Star (1903-2004)
Historical backfile for the Indianapolis Star
Newspaper Source

This database provides a full-text digital collection of the world's major news content. It includes millions of articles from newspapers, newswires and news magazines. In addition, it offers television and radio news transcripts and ongoing daily updates from popular news sources.
PressReader
Access to 7000 newspapers and magazines, including international sources.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context
A variety of reference materials, commentaries and viewpoints, periodical and news articles, primary sources, statistics and multimedia to help present different sides of controversial topics. Highly recommended for argumentative/persuasive research topics.

Looking for more journalism sources?

Visit our Journalism LibGuide for more information and check out the full list of our databases here!

PsycINFO
PsycInfo, from the American Psychological Association (APA), contains nearly 2.3 million citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, all in psychology and related disciplines, dating as far back as the 1800s.

Includes access to APA PsycInfo research services, an alternative interface for searching and browsing the PsycInfo database. To access PsycInfo research services, visit the following url and enter your Butler email address: https://psycinfo.apa.org
SocINDEX with Full Text

A comprehensive and high quality sociology research database, including full text coverage of more than 500 sociology journals dating back to 1908, and abstracts for more than 800 journals dating back to 1895. This database also includes ebooks, conference papers, and “Author Profiles” on prominent authors within the database.
Academic Search Elite

This large multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,770 journals, including full text for over 4,000 peer-reviewed titles.

All About eBooks LibGuide

ACLS Humanities E-Book Collection
ACLS Humanities E-Book (HEB) is an online collection of more than 5,000 books of high quality in the humanities, dating from the mid-20th century through the 2010s.
EBSCO Ebook Collection
Taylor & Francis eBooks
This eBook database contains accessible titles in the sociology, history, politics, and business & management collections

A book held by the Libraries will be listed in WorldCAT with the following information:

First, you'll want to note where it is. Is it in the Irwin Library? Or Science Library? Is it in a special collection or on reserve? If you're not sure what the location is or where it is, ask at the IC desk. After that, you'll need to look at the call number: this will tell you where exactly the book is in the library and on the shelf. The call number is like coordinates for finding a book on the shelves.

FYS: Living Lives that Matter (Furuness)

Your FYS Librarian

Welcome to FYS: The Climate Project!

Resources to Think About

CONTACT

QUICK LINKS