Skip to main content

All About eBooks: EBSCO

All About EBSCO Ebook Collections

Supported Devices

Computer monitor EBSCO ebooks can be read instantly within any Internet browser. 

Tablet

EBSCO also allows books to be downloaded for offline use on most devices. The process for this and the programs/accounts required varies by device.

Using an EBSCO Ebook

Searching in the Ebook Collection is very similar to searching in any EBSCO database. To browse, click on the eBooks tab at the top to see categories and highlighted titles.


When search results are listed in EBSCO, you are given the ability to:

1.  See the book's record by clicking on the book's title. The book's record page includes options for eBook Full Text viewing and downloading, as well as the traditional EBSCO features to save, email, cite, etc.

2.  View the book instantly in your browser by clicking on eBook Full Text.

3.  Download the text so it can be available offline. The process varies with different devices.

Results list after a search in EBSCO Ebook Collection

To view a book in your browser, select the eBook Full Text option on the results page or in the left column of the book record. If the text does not load in your window, you may need to perform updates, disable pop-up blockers, or try another browser. If you continue to have problems loading the page, please contact the libraries.

You can navigate by clicking on the hyperlinked chapters in the table of contents, or by clicking the advance buttons at the bottom of the page. The EBSCO options to save, send, cite, etc. are still available on the right. 

EBSCO ebook full text viewing option

Downloading an ebook allows for offline reading. You must have an EBSCO account to be able to download a book. In order to view after downloading, you may need to install a special program:

  • Download onto computer -- Adobe Digital Editions
  • Download onto Apple and Android devices -- Bluefire Reader

To download a book to your Kindle, you first must create a PDF within the eBook Full Text view of EBSCO. Then you can transfer the file using the Send to Kindle option. Learn more.

Loading

CONTACT

Email Butler University Libraries
Irwin Library: 317-940-9227
Science Library: 317-940-9937
CAT: 317-940-8575

Like us on FacebookInstagramFollow us on Twitter