Research Guides (LibGuides): Strategic Communication: Case Studies

Case Study Resources

Case Studies

SAGE Business Cases This link opens in a new window
SAGE Business Cases provides access to 1,700 business cases in national and international business. A source for discovering best practices and learning from unsuccessful ventures. Written in both short vignettes to long narrative form, and written using field research and publicly available sources, business case topics include marketing, operations management, small business & entrepreneurship, international business, human resource management, and more.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Business Source Complete is the world's definitive scholarly business database. Includes books, case studies, company profiles, economic reports, industry reports, SWOT analyses, in addition to nearly 2,000 peer-reviewed journals.
One Business (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
ProQuest One Business is a business library containing millions of full-text items across scholarly and popular periodicals, newspapers, market research reports, dissertations, books, videos and more.

TIPS:

To find case studies in the ABI/Inform and Business Source Complete databases, select the Advanced Search option. Then enter your keyword and select the option to filter results by document or publication type for "Case Study." You can also enter "case studies" in the search box and select "subject terms" in the dropdown box for field type. NOTE: Limit your search results to those cases available in full-text in the database; the Library cannot request case studies via interlibrary loan.
Teaching notes are available for case studies found in the Sage Business Cases database. Contact your Librarian for a code to access teaching notes.
Note: You will find Harvard cases in Business Source Complete, but to comply with the policy set by Harvard Business Publishing, you should not distribute these cases (in print or electronically) for course readings. Harvard cases are not sold to libraries, and must be purchased directly by the end user from Harvard Business Publishing for Educators.

Harvard Business Publishing has strict licensing terms regarding access and use of its case studies and articles. Harvard does not sell its cases to libraries. In addition, the cases cannot be placed on reserve at the library or distributed via interlibrary loan. To learn more about obtaining materials from Harvard Business Publishing, go to the site for Harvard Business Publishing for Educators (linked below).

*If you do not want to require your students to purchase commercial cases, such as those from Harvard Business Publishing, consider using one of the free resources linked on this LibGuide.

Harvard Business Publishing for Education

LearningEdge (MIT) Case Studies
UCLA Statistics Case Studies
World Business Council for Sustainable Development Case Studies
Portland State University Case Studies Collection
Focus on social entrepreneurship and sustainability

Strategic Communication

Case Study Resources

CONTACT

QUICK LINKS