LibGuides: Strategic Communication: Market Research Databases

Market Research Statistical Tools

Statistical Tools - statistics on what consumers buy, do, think, and value

MRI-Simmons Catalyst This link opens in a new window
Via questionnaires and interviews, Simmons provides a study of American adult consumer behaviors regarding: media usage, products/brands used, services, and in-depth demographic, lifestyle and psychographic characteristics.

How to read a Simmons Crosstab - how to interpret your Cross Tab results
Citing Simmons Insights:
MRI Simmons Insights. (2017, Spring). Energy Snack Consumption and Recycling Behaviors based on Age Demographic [Data file]. Retrieved from Simmons Insights database.

SimplyAnalytics This link opens in a new window
Choose "Sign in as guest" to access without creating an account. Limited to 3 concurrent users. SimplyAnalytics is a web-based mapping, analytics and data visualization program providing over 100,000 data variables.
Statista This link opens in a new window
Statista.com provides companies, business customers, research institutions, and the academic community with direct access to quantitative data on media, business, finance, politics, and a wide variety of other areas of interest or markets.
RKMA eBooks This link opens in a new window
Richard K. Miller & Associates (RKMA) Market Research reports contain a number of business reference handbooks These reports cover: Consumer Behavior • Consumer Marketing • Consumer Use of the Internet & Mobile • Entertainment & Leisure Market Research • Restaurant, Food & Beverage Market Research • Retail & E-Commerce Market Research • Sports Marketing • Travel & Tourism Market Research • U.S. Cities & Communities • Business-to-Business Marketing.

Claritas: ZIP Code Look-up
Claritas’ lifestyle segmentation systems define every household in the U.S. by distinct lifestyle types called segments to provide a picture of who lives where and what they are like. Marketers use these insights to create more effective and efficient marketing strategies.
SAVI
Provides reliable data about communities in the Marion County area and surrounding suburbs.

Market Research Databases

Market Research Databases - provide reports and statistics on markets for: consumer goods, services, companies, and activities (work, leisure, entertainment, etc.).

Mintel Reports This link opens in a new window
Mintel Reports offers product and industry market research reports covering US marketplaces. Each report combines data and analysis of the competitive landscape, supply chain, market-share size and trends, and consumer profiles.
IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
Provides industry research, industry risk rating reports, and business environment reports. Industry research reports provide key statistics, market characteristics, operating conditions, current and forecasted performance, major industry participants, and other information.
First Research This link opens in a new window
First Research provides comprehensive research reports on over 200 industries. Search by keyword, SIC, or NAICS codes to find industry studies that cover trends and opportunities, the competitive environment, financials, and executive profiles.
Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
Data includes: company histories, business, property, officers, directors, long term debt, Moody's ratings, capital stock, income statement, balance sheet, stock splits, and dividend payment history. Information also includes annual reports (full-image), company archives for many inactive U.S. firms, EDGAR access for US companies (i.e., 10-K, 10-Q, etc.), and "equity portraits" for over 10,000 U.S. firms.
Mergent Intellect This link opens in a new window
Powered by D&B's Hoover's, Intellect provides access to private and public U.S and international business data, industry news, facts and figures, executive contact information, the ability to access industry profiles and much more. It also provides access to contact information for over 210 million U.S. consumers using WhitePages Pro data.
Passport (Euromonitor) This link opens in a new window
Provides marketing data and reports on countries, companies, markets, and consumers from approximately 200 countries.
Global Road Warrior This link opens in a new window
Use this database to find cultural, economic, and travel information for over 170 countries. Includes statistics, maps, and photos.

Nielsen Insights
Nielsen, provides market research, insights & data about what people watch, listen to, & buy. Insight articles analyze consumer trends, behaviors and activities. These articles are provided for free on the Nielsen website platform.

GuideStar This link opens in a new window
Contains detailed information for non-profit organizations, including revenue and expense data, contact information, and annual reports

Strategic Communication

Market Research Nonprofits

Global Communication

Global Communication

Market Research Statistical Tools

Statistical Tools - statistics on what consumers buy, do, think, and value

Market Research Databases

Market Research Databases - provide reports and statistics on markets for: consumer goods, services, companies, and activities (work, leisure, entertainment, etc.).

CONTACT

QUICK LINKS