Business Source Elite encompasses a selection of business disciplines, offering access to 492 active full-text journals, along with abstracted and indexed journals..
TIP: Start with the AtoZ or Mergent Intellect database to create a list of competitors. AtoZ will let you create a heat map of companies in a specific location. The PrivCo databases focuses on private companies. The BizMiner database will provide financial norms for industries and will also help you find competitors within a market area. For help using Mergent and other databases, see the tutorials linked on this guide.
Guidestar provides information on nonprofit organizations.
*Also see the IBISWorld and First Research databases for reports that include a broad perspective on the competitive environment of the industry.
NOTE: Hoover's data is also available in Mergent Intellect;
Hoover's provides information on over 24 million public and private companies. Search by company name or ticker symbol for competitor lists, company profiles, financials, IPO filings, news, and executive bios. Use multiple criteria to create company lists targeted to specific industries or geographic regions. Hoover's also provides a link to industry reports generated by First Research.
Try the databases linked below to find general business news articles (ex: WSJ, Forbes, local business newspapers). You can also look up companies at the Better Business Bureau website. Tip: try Google to find WSJ articles.
Business Source Elite encompasses a selection of business disciplines, offering access to 492 active full-text journals, along with abstracted and indexed journals..
Library Hours
Study Rooms
My Library Account
Library Website
