LibGuides: EI101: First-Year Business Experience 2022-23 (all sections): Customer Analysis

Customer Analysis Resources

Trade sources can include trade publications and trade associations. The databases linked below will provide articles from trade publications and links to associations.

Other tips on finding trade sources:

Google industry keywords with the word "association." ex: "fast food" association
Find an industry report and look for links to trade sources in the report (ex: First Research report).
Use keywords to search a database and then filter results to trade publications. (ex: Business Source Complete database).

Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Business Source Complete is the world's definitive scholarly business database. Includes books, case studies, company profiles, economic reports, industry reports, SWOT analyses, in addition to nearly 2,000 peer-reviewed journals.
First Research This link opens in a new window
First Research provides comprehensive research reports on over 200 industries. Search by keyword, SIC, or NAICS codes to find industry studies that cover trends and opportunities, the competitive environment, financials, and executive profiles.
One Business (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
ProQuest One Business is a business library containing millions of full-text items across scholarly and popular periodicals, newspapers, market research reports, dissertations, books, videos and more.

Footwear Distributors & Retailers of America
Trade Association
Footwear News
Trade publication

American Time Use Survey
Scroll down on this site for tables and charts.
Butler LibGuide on Government Information Resources for Business Information
See this LibGuide for links to Federal, State, and Local Government Resources.

Tip: Start with the Mintel or Statista database for consumer information. SimplyAnalytics is helpful for mapping data.

For help using databases, see the tutorials linked on this LibGuide.

IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
Provides industry research, industry risk rating reports, and business environment reports. Industry research reports provide key statistics, market characteristics, operating conditions, current and forecasted performance, major industry participants, and other information.
Mintel Reports This link opens in a new window
Mintel Reports offers product and industry market research reports covering US marketplaces. Each report combines data and analysis of the competitive landscape, supply chain, market-share size and trends, and consumer profiles.
MRI-Simmons Catalyst This link opens in a new window
Simmons provides a comprehensive study of American adult consumers.
SimplyAnalytics This link opens in a new window
Choose "Sign in as guest" to access without creating an account. Limited to 3 concurrent users. SimplyAnalytics is a web-based mapping, analytics and data visualization program providing over 100,000 data variables.
Sports Market Analytics (SMA) This link opens in a new window
SMA is an online international sport marketing and business information provider focusing on sport participation, fan profiles, sports facilities, sport finance, sporting goods, sponsorship, marketing, media, and directories.
Statista This link opens in a new window
Statista.com provides companies, business customers, research institutions, and the academic community with direct access to quantitative data on media, business, finance, politics, and a wide variety of other areas of interest or markets.

Try the databases linked below to find general business news articles (ex: WSJ, Forbes, local business newspapers). Tip: try Google to find WSJ articles.

Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Business Source Complete is the world's definitive scholarly business database. Includes books, case studies, company profiles, economic reports, industry reports, SWOT analyses, in addition to nearly 2,000 peer-reviewed journals.
Regional Business News This link opens in a new window
This database provides coverage of 75 business journals, newspapers and newswires from all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States.
Wall Street Journal This link opens in a new window
This is the Eastern edition of the Wall Street Journal, available from 1984 to the present.

Strategic Communication LibGuide
Business Databases by Topic
Use this chart to help you find the best databases for specific topics.
Social Searcher
Search social media for customer reviews
Additional Social Media Search sites
Article with listing of Customer Review Sites

EI101: First-Year Business Experience 2022-23 (all sections): Customer Analysis

Customer Analysis Resources

CONTACT

QUICK LINKS