Research Guides (LibGuides): EI101: First-Year Business Experience 2022-23 (all sections): Economic Analysis

Economic Analysis Resources

Tip: The Passport database is an excellent resource for economic info for the total U.S. and selected cities. Also use Statista for economic reports. For help with databases, see the tutorials linked on this LibGuide. TIP: The "North America Regional Info" section in First Research has economic info by state. Also see the U.S. Business Environment reports under "Industry Reports" in IBISWorld.

First Research (via Mergent Intellect)
First Research provides comprehensive research reports on over 200 industries. Search by keyword, SIC, or NAICS codes to find industry studies that cover trends and opportunities, the competitive environment, financials, and executive profiles. NOTE: To get to First Research, click on the First Research link below the search bar on the Mergent Intellect home page.
IBISWorld
Provides industry research, industry risk rating reports, and business environment reports. Industry research reports provide key statistics, market characteristics, operating conditions, current and forecasted performance, major industry participants, and other information.
Passport (Euromonitor)
Provides marketing data and reports on countries, companies, markets, and consumers from approximately 200 countries.
SimplyAnalytics
Choose "Sign in as guest" to access without creating an account. Limited to 3 concurrent users. SimplyAnalytics is a web-based mapping, analytics and data visualization program providing over 100,000 data variables.
Statista
Statista.com provides companies, business customers, research institutions, and the academic community with direct access to quantitative data on media, business, finance, politics, and a wide variety of other areas of interest or markets.

Bureau of Economic Analysis
Butler LibGuide on Government Information Resources for Business Information
See this LibGuide for links to Federal, State, and Local Government Resources.
Census Bureau Economic Statistics
Data USA
Small Business Lending Survey
Information on credit market for small businesses. From Federal Reserve Bank of Kansas City
U.S. Cluster Mapping

Try the databases linked below to find general business news articles (ex: WSJ, Forbes, local business newspapers).

Tip: Try a Google search to find WSJ articles. Example: economy site:wsj.com

Business Source Elite

Business Source Elite encompasses a selection of business disciplines, offering access to 492 active full-text journals, along with abstracted and indexed journals..
Wall Street Journal - Eastern Edition (ProQuest)
This is the Eastern edition of the Wall Street Journal, available from 1984 to the present.

Use the databases linked below to help you find articles from trade publications or links to trade sources.

Other Tips on finding trade sources:

Google industry keywords with the word "association." ex: "fast food" association
Find an industry report and look for links to trade sources in the report (ex: First Research report).
Use keywords to search a database and then filter results to trade publications. (ex: Business Source Complete database).

Business Source Elite

Business Source Elite encompasses a selection of business disciplines, offering access to 492 active full-text journals, along with abstracted and indexed journals..
First Research (via Mergent Intellect)
First Research provides comprehensive research reports on over 200 industries. Search by keyword, SIC, or NAICS codes to find industry studies that cover trends and opportunities, the competitive environment, financials, and executive profiles. NOTE: To get to First Research, click on the First Research link below the search bar on the Mergent Intellect home page.
One Business (ProQuest)
ProQuest One Business is a business library containing millions of full-text items across scholarly and popular periodicals, newspapers, market research reports, dissertations, books, videos and more.

EI101: First-Year Business Experience 2022-23 (all sections): Economic Analysis

Economic Analysis Resources

CONTACT

QUICK LINKS