Research Guides (LibGuides): HST 302: History and Memory (Nebiolo): Library Resources

Primary Sources

Want help learning to navigate the primary source databases?

There's a guide for that:

All About Primary Sources
by Information Commons Last Updated Jul 16, 2025 153 views this year

General Primary Sources:

Umbra Search

more... less...

a search tool that seeks to make African American history more broadly accessible…nearly a million items from more than 1,000 U.S. archives, libraries, and museums.
Library of Congress: Digital Collections

more... less...

The Library of Congress has incredible collections of documents, images, multimedia, and more about many facets of American history.
DPLA Primary Source Sets

more... less...

Sets of primary source documents to explore a variety of topics in US history from the Digital Public Library of America (DPLA)

Primary Sources
Use this to access a cross-search platform for all primary source content collections in the Gale database.

Additional Subjects:

Historical U.S. Newspapers

Wikipedia: List of online newspaper archives

Documenting the American South
The Gilder Lehrman Collection
The Collection ranges from 1493 through the twentieth century and is widely considered one of the nation’s great archives.

Latino Civil Rights durings the Carter Administration

Latino Civil Rights During the Carter Administration gives rich insight into the efforts of the Executive Branch of U.S. government to reach out to the burgeoning Latino population during the last 2 years of the Carter Administration. In the summer of 1979, the Carter Administration created the White House Office of Hispanic Affairs in order to address issues of critical importance to the Latino community. The coming decade of the 1980s was being hailed as “the Decade of the Hispanic,” and many were looking to the president and Congress to show more respect for Latinos and their manifold contributions to the United States. Latino Civil Rights during the Carter Administration also documents some of the most important Latino organizations of the time, including LULAC, TELACU, La Raza, the Puerto Rican Legal Defense and Education Fund, the Mexican American Legal Defense and Education Fund, and the American G.I. Forum.

U.S. History in Context

Border and Migration Studies Online

The fundamental themes associated with border and migration issues are covered such as the migrant crisis, refugee camps, human trafficking, women and children migrants and much more.
European Views of the Americas
Global Issues in Context
Human Rights Studies Online
World History in Context

Gerritsen Women's History Collection of Aletta H. Jacobs

By the time their successors finished their work in 1945, the Gerritsen Collection was the greatest single source for the study of women's history in the world, with more than 4,700 books, pamphlets and journals spanning four centuries and 15 languages
Struggle for Women's Rights

Originally a committee of the National American Woman Suffrage Association (NAWSA), the National Woman's Party (NWP) was founded in 1913 when Alice Paul and her colleagues broke away from NAWSA in dissent over strategy and tactics. The Women's Action Alliance, established in 1971 as a grass-roots organization, concerned itself with issues such as employment and employment discrimination, childcare, health care, and education. The League of Women Voters collection documents almost every facet of women's involvement in U.S. politics from 1920 to 1974.
Women & Social Movements in the United States (1600-2000)
Women and Social Movements, Modern Empires Since 1820
Women and Social Movements: Development and the Global South, 1919-2019
Women's Studies Archive

Forced Labor: 1939-1945, Memory and History
For privacy concerns, requires individual registration. After registering in the online archive, you can search and listen to the complete interviews, access full transcripts, and more.

Fortunoff Video Archive
Each user must register a personal account, and request access to a testimony to gain access to the video archive. Butler University is a recognized access site for the Fortunoff Archives.
Japanese American Incarceration: Records of the War Relocation Authority, 1942-1946
Mass Incarceration and Prison Studies

Special Collections, Rare Books, and University Archives at Butler University

more... less...

The department of Special Collections, Rare Books, and University Archives at Butler University contains many books and manuscript collections relating to Indiana history and influential Hoosiers including the Etheridge Knight Collection, the Will D. Howe / Irvington Athenaeum Collection, the Kin Hubbard Collection, the papers of Emma Lou Thornbrough, and also the Butler University Archives. For more information, please visit the Special Collections' website or come to the Irwin Library, third floor.
Indiana Historical Society Collections

more... less...

The Indiana Historical Society Archives and Library owns houses one of the largest collections of Indiana's history. The IHS has 100,000 digital items, 5,450 processed manuscript collections, 1.7 million photographs in 800 visual collections, and 45,000 cataloged printed items.
Indiana Memory

more... less...

Indiana Memory collaborates to make primary sources in libraries, archives, museums, and other cultural institutions accessible to all. Explore Indiana's history and culture through digitized books, manuscripts, photographs, newspapers, maps, and other digital media.
IUI Special Collections

more... less...

Ruth Lilly Special Collections and Archives collects and makes unique materials available to support faculty, students, and the broader Indianapolis community.
UIndy's Institute for Civic Leadership & Mayoral Archives

more... less...

The Digital Mayoral Archives at Univeristy of Indianapolis holds nearly 400,000 items about Indianapolis' history organized by mayoral politicians in Indianapolis. This includes images, government documents, correspondence, artifacts, audio/visual materials, and memorabilia.

Additional Sources: Databases & Journals

BEST-BET DATABASES

Academic Search Elite

This large multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,770 journals, including full text for over 4,000 peer-reviewed titles.
JSTOR
JSTOR provides access to full-text academic electronic journals in various disciplines including economics and finance, political science, history, literature, anthropology, mathematics, sociology, statistics, and education.

NEWSPAPERS & MAGAZINES

Alt-Press Watch
Alt-Press Watch showcases unique, independent voices from a variety grassroots newspapers, magazines, and journals.
Ethnic NewsWatch
Included are journals, magazines, and newspapers from ethnic and minority presses, providing researchers access to essential, often overlooked perspectives.
Nexis Uni
Nexis Uni provides access to the full text of hundreds of major business and legal journals, magazines, and U.S. and international newspapers. Company financial, country, tax, medical, federal and state legal information, and accounting information can also be accessed.
PressReader
Access to 7000 newspapers and magazines, including international sources.

BLOGS

the Black Perspectives Blog of the African American Intellectual History Society

Curated by an editorial board of respected scholars, Black Perspectives posts relatively short posts about the Black transatlantic past and present.

Historical Statistics of the United States
Statistics of the U.S. in five categories: population, work and welfare, economic structure and performance, economic sectors, and governance and international relations.
Cambridge Histories Online
The Cambridge Histories is a globally respected series of over 400 volumes spanning fifteen subject areas across the humanities and social sciences, with a concentration on political and cultural history, literature, philosophy, religious studies, music and the arts.

RESEARCH GUIDES

American Civil War at 150
Be sure to check out the Web Resources tab to learn about several excellent online repositories.
The U.S. South
This page highlights several websites with narratives, newspapers, and other sources of information.
African Studies LibGuide
Includes information on current affairs, media, and research resources.

SocINDEX with Full Text

A comprehensive and high quality sociology research database, including full text coverage of more than 500 sociology journals dating back to 1908, and abstracts for more than 800 journals dating back to 1895. This database also includes ebooks, conference papers, and “Author Profiles” on prominent authors within the database.
GenderWatch
This is a database of unique and diverse publications that focus on how gender impacts a broad spectrum of subject areas. With its archival material, dating back to 1970 in some cases, GenderWatch is a repository of important historical perspectives on the evolution of the women's movement, men's studies, the transgendered community and the changes in gender roles over the years.
Cambridge Companions to Philosophy, Religion, & Culture
This online collection serves as reference works for an inter-disciplinary audience, and contains over 900 downloadable essays taken from the Cambridge Companions to Philosophy, Religion and Culture (more than 90 volumes).
Oxford Reference Online (ORO)
The Premium Collection offers a huge range of fully-indexed, extensively linked, up to date, and cross-searchable dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works published by Oxford University Press, including detailed information across a broad subject range from titles in the world-renowned Oxford Companions series.
ERIC [Educational Resources Information Center] (EBSCO)
ERIC is an internet-based digital library of education research and information sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences (IES) of the U.S. Department of Education. ERIC contains citations for articles from education literature and journals from 1966 to the present, and links are provided to the full text of the articles when available. By using this EBSCO version, rather than the public ERIC site, you can easily link to the full text of additional articles if the library has access to them.

STATS & DATA

Census - People
The US Census data that pertains to people, populations, and households.
UN Data
Statistics from United Nations members states on a variety of topics
Freedom House
This organization has a clear agenda, but they do bring together interesting data related to different types of freedom, separated geographically and by issue.

ART & ARCHITECTURE

Databases:

Art & Architecture (Oxford Reference Online)
Oxford Reference provides definitions and in-depth, specialist encyclopedic entries across the broad disciplines of Art and Architecture.
Oxford Art Online
Includes Grove Art Online and Oxford Art Reference in one location.

Research Guides:

Art and Visual Rhetoric
by Sarah Ward Last Updated Oct 14, 2025 344 views this year

MUSIC

Databases:

African American Music Reference
Essays and images on blues, jazz, spirituals, gospel, ragtime, civil rights songs, rhythm and blues, hip hop and rap and other forms of African American musical expression.
Cambridge Companions to Music
Cambridge Companions to Music provide clear and accessible information on composers, instruments or musical topics. Each volume provides essays by leading authorities offering comprehensive coverage and indispensable reference material.
Oxford Music Online
Includes: Encyclopedia of Popular Music, Grove Music Online, Oxford Companion to Music, and Oxford Dictionary of Music.
Oxford Bibliographies: Music
Oxford Bibliographies: Music contains articles on current scholarship in the field of Music with original commentary and annotations and provides researches a pathway to reliable resources.

Research Guides:

Music Basics
by Sarah Ward Last Updated Oct 14, 2025 947 views this year
PCA 241: Hip Hop: History, Evolution, and Culture (Voice)
by Sarah Ward Last Updated Jul 16, 2025 274 views this year
World Music
by Sarah Ward Last Updated Aug 28, 2025 345 views this year

DANCE

Databases:

Dance Online: Dance Studies Collection
Dance Online: Dance Studies Collection presents the historical context of 20th and 21st century dance through 150,000 pages of exclusive photographs, correspondence, magazines, dance notation, and reference materials.
Oxford Dictionary of Dance
This dictionary covers all aspects of the diverse dance world from classical ballet to modern, from flamenco to hip-hop, from tap to South Asian dance forms and includes detailed entries on technical terms, steps, styles, works, and countries, in addition to many biographies of dancers, choreographers, and companies.

Research Guides:

Dance
by Sarah Ward Last Updated Oct 14, 2025 192 views this year

DATABASES

PubMed (MEDLINE)
Article citations, often with abstracts, from more than 4,000 national and international periodicals, books and dissertations in medicine, nursing, dentistry, and related topics; online equivalent to Index Medicus.
Consumer Health Complete
A comprehensive resource for consumer-oriented health content, Consumer Health Complete is designed to support the information needs of patients and to foster an overall understanding of health-related topics. This resource provides content covering all key areas of health and wellness, from mainstream medicine to the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated medicine.
PsycINFO

PsycInfo, from the American Psychological Association (APA), contains nearly 2.3 million citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, all in psychology and related disciplines, dating as far back as the 1800s.

Includes access to APA PsycInfo research services, an alternative interface for searching and browsing the PsycInfo database. To access PsycInfo research services, visit the following url and enter your Butler email address: https://psycinfo.apa.org

LIBGUIDE

Health Sciences
by Brittany Heer Last Updated Oct 14, 2025 1901 views this year

STATS & DATA

World Health Organization: Data
Welcome to the Global Health Observatory, WHO's gateway to health-related statistics for more than 1000 indicators for its 194 Member States.
UN Data
Statistics from United Nations members states on a variety of topics
OECD iLibrary
Examines national health systems from 1960 forward for OECD member countries in a general, demographic, economic, and social context.

Business Source Elite

Business Source Elite encompasses a selection of business disciplines, offering access to 492 active full-text journals, along with abstracted and indexed journals..

Business Database Help LibGuide
We have access to over a dozen specialized business databases. Teresa Williams, our LSB Librarian, has created this awesome chart to help you know which database will meet your information need.

STATS & DATA

Historical Statistics of the United States
Statistics of the U.S. in five categories: population, work and welfare, economic structure and performance, economic sectors, and governance and international relations.

Data.gov
"Data, tools, and resources to conduct research, develop web and mobile applications, design data visualizations, and more." Browse by topic.
UN Data
Statistics from United Nations members states on a variety of topics

HST 302: History and Memory (Nebiolo)

Primary Sources

Want help learning to navigate the primary source databases?

General Primary Sources:

Additional Subjects:

Additional Sources: Databases & Journals

BEST-BET DATABASES

NEWSPAPERS & MAGAZINES

BLOGS

RESEARCH GUIDES

STATS & DATA

ART & ARCHITECTURE

Databases:

Research Guides:

MUSIC

Databases:

Research Guides:

DANCE

Databases:

Research Guides:

DATABASES

LIBGUIDE

STATS & DATA

STATS & DATA

CONTACT

QUICK LINKS