Research Guides (LibGuides): *Reusable LibGuides Boxes: Music

Score Call Numbers

A stack of scores each volume labeled with a call number A score call number with the library of congress classification numbers circled in red and the composer catalog number circled in green. Score call numbers are just like book call numbers…but they often cram multiple organization systems into the same number. If the work has a composition number, or the composer has their own catalog

op.3 – not a Cutter number, short for Opus (work in Latin)

BWV.1043 – composer catalogue number

Bach-Werke-Verzeichnis (Bach Works Catalogue)

Sometimes not intuitive!

Often, the catalogue is named after the compiler, not the composer:

Mozart = K. (Koechel)

Haydn = HV or Hob. (Hoboken)

Schubert = D (Deutsch)

Beethoven = in addition to Opus number

Hess (Hess Catalogue – Pieces not included in the 19th century complete ed.)

WoO (Kinsky Catalogue – “Werke ohne Opuszahl”)

Bia (Biamonti Catalogue – Chronological order)

Your friend: Grove Music Online

Buying Music

Alfred Music
A music resource company that supports music education and pedagogy -- covers all instruments and ensembles at all levels of music performance and instruction.
di-arezzo: The World of Sheet Music
An excellent source for European scores!
Ficks Music
Professional-quality sheet music for instrumentalists, chamber ensembles, choirs and orchestras.
Groth Music
"Groth is a traditional "full-line" music store dealing in instrument sales, rental, and repair, sheet music and books, and musical accessories and gift items." -- from their website
Hickey's Music Online
"Hickey's Music Center is a full line music service specializing in music, instruments, accessories, rentals, and repairs for nearly all instruments." -- from their website
IMSLP: International Music Score Library Project (Petrucci)
IMSLP, also known as the International Music Score Library Project or Petrucci Music Library, was started in 2006 with the goal of freely providing music scores. It has expanded to provide scores, recordings, and analyses with an ultimate goal of gathering all public domain scores and music released to the public. On the main page, visitors may search for works by composer (or composer's nationality), genre, time period, or difficulty.
J.W. Pepper
The largest sheet music retailer in the world -- excellent for both performance and pedagogy resources
Sheet Music Plus
Online sheet music source for music books, music sheets, songbooks, music scores, and more!
Theodore Front Musical Literature, Inc.
Shop like a librarian: T. Front will give you easy access to performing and study music editions as well as historical, biographical and theoretical monographs (books).

Band Music PDF Library
BandMusic PDF Library preserves and shares band music from the Golden Age of the American Town Band. If you are looking for free, downloadable, public domain music to play with your school band, community band or other group, you'll find it here.
Bovaco Music
"BOVACO was founded by Dr. Leonard B. Smith (1915-2002) in response to a great demand for band accompaniments of vocal and instrumental solos as performed by the Detroit Concert Band. Acquired from some of the greatest private band libraries of the Classic Concert Band Era, these unique works have been made available on an on demand basis."

ChoralWiki / Choral Public Domain Library (CPDL)
CPDL was founded in December 1998, as a resource for free choral/vocal scores, texts, translations, and other useful information.
Classical Vocal Reprints (print scores)
Holds scores and sheet music for "operas, art songs, specialty numbers, new composers, rare music, and old favorites." This site is for purchasing of print scores.
Classical Vocal Reprints (PDFs)
Classical Vocal Reprints ALSO sells digital PDF scores and sheet music for download, but their digital storefront is a separate website from their print catalog.
Musical Resources
Located in Toledo, Ohio, Musical Resources has been providing "choral literature for the choral professional since 1986." Products include: "printed music of all publishers, choral and conducting texts, and choral compact discs and DVDs. This service offers standard discounts for schools and churches.

4barsrest.com
Good for articles, reviews, band rankings, etc. Offers CDs, DVDs, and books as well as classified ads for position vacancies, professional cards, concerts, and contests.
Cimarron Music Press: Music for Woodwinds
Specializing in music (original and arranged) for woodwinds and brass
Music for Brass.com
"Music for Brass.com provides pdf files of brass sheet music, from unaccompanied solos to 17 piece ensembles. Our high quality arrangements are prepared by working musicians, and are available for immediate download after placing a secure order on our website."

Lemur Music
"The World's Most Complete Source of Instruments & Supplies for Double Bass" -- has a comprehensive double bass sheet music department
Shar Music
Shar Music is the recognized string community market leader in the US, providing violin family instruments, bows, cases, accessories, strings and sheet music through their Ann Arbor-based, family-owned business since 1962.

Percussion Source
Provides percussion instruments and accessories (including world drums), print music for percussion, CDs & DVDs, stands and hardware, and student education kits.
Steve Weiss Music
Provides percussion instruments and accessories, sheet music, method books, recordings, and videos.

Carolyn Nussbaum Music Co. (flute)
Provides flute instruments and accessories, sheet music, CDs, books & videos, teaching and health resources, and flute-related gifts.
Cimarron Music Press: Music for Woodwinds
Specializing in music (original and arranged) for woodwinds and brass
Flute World
Provides new and used instruments and accessories, flute and chamber music scores, and recordings.
rdg inc. woodwinds
Provides instruments and accessories, sheet music, CDs and DVDs for oboes, bassoons, clarinets, and chamber music.
TrevCo Music (double reeds)
"TrevCo is the one place to shop for repertoire for Oboe, Oboe d'Amore, English Horn, Bassoon, and Contrabassoon - solo or in any combination with any other instrument. We carry a complete stock of chamber music incorporating the double reed family as well as books, methods, orchestra sets, and scores."

Arkiv Music
An online retailer of classical and jazz music with a focus on physical media (CD, DVD/Blu-ray, SACD and Vinyl formats).
Discogs - Music Database and Marketplace
One of the best places to discover and purchase vinyl online.

*Reusable LibGuides Boxes: Music

Score Call Numbers

Buying Music

Databases for Studios

Library Databases:

Open Source Public Resources:

CONTACT

QUICK LINKS