LibGuides: Education Research (including Teacher Research ): Articles, Statistics and More

Tools for Finding Articles, Statistics, and More

Although these will not really search everything, these tools will search for many books, articles, and more all with one search:

WorldCat Discovery This link opens in a new window
Search Butler University Libraries and beyond for articles, books, media, and more.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations.

Configuring Google Scholar for Butler
Instructions for configuring Google Scholar to add the Find it at Butler Univ! links to search results when you are off campus

ERIC [Educational Resources Information Center] (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
ERIC is an internet-based digital library of education research and information sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences (IES) of the U.S. Department of Education. ERIC contains citations for articles from education literature and journals from 1966 to the present, and links are provided to the full text of the articles when available. By using this EBSCO version, rather than the public ERIC site, you can easily link to the full text of additional articles if the library has access to them.
ERIC [Educational Resources Information Center] (ERIC site) This link opens in a new window
ERIC is an internet-based digital library of education research and information sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences (IES) of the U.S. Department of Education. ERIC provides access to bibliographic records of journal and non-journal literature from 1966 to the present.
Professional Development Collection This link opens in a new window
Provides citations and abstracts for over 330 journals designed for professional educators. Selected full-text to 250 journals.
Teacher Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing and abstracts for more than 270 of the most popular teacher and administrator journals and magazines to assist professional educators.
Education Index Retrospective: 1929-1983 This link opens in a new window
The Education Index Retrospective indexes education periodicals from 1929 through 1983.

In addition to the Education specific databases, the following may also be of help:

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
This large multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,770 journals, including full text for over 4,000 peer-reviewed titles.
Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ) This link opens in a new window
DOAJ is an online directory that indexes and provides access to quality open access, peer-reviewed journals.
International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS) This link opens in a new window
This database includes over two million bibliographic references to journal articles and to books, reviews and selected chapters dating back to 1951.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR provides access to full-text academic electronic journals in various disciplines including economics and finance, political science, history, literature, anthropology, mathematics, sociology, statistics, and education.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), this database provides a subject index for books and articles published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Covers literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, etc. Contains current full text scholarly journals which cover these fields and a significant collection of recent scholarly books.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus combines a comprehensive, curated abstract and citation database with enriched data and linked scholarly literature across a wide variety of disciplines.

In addition to the Education specific databases, the following should be of help for Human Movement and Health Science Education topics:

Sports Medicine & Education Index This link opens in a new window
Sports Medicine & Education Index is a citation database comprising records from peer-reviewed and non-peer-reviewed sources that focus on exercise physiology and physical education.
SPORTDiscus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
This database is a source of literature for sports and sports medicine studies
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
This large multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,770 journals, including full text for over 4,000 peer-reviewed titles.
Biomedical Reference Collection Basic This link opens in a new window
Designed for doctors, research scientist, students and clinical specialists, this database provides full text for over 100 journals in a variety of areas pertaining to medical study.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition provides full text from almost 520 scholarly journals covering a variety of medical topics.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
PsycINFO, from the American Psychological Association (APA), contains nearly 2.3 million citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, all in psychology and related disciplines, dating as far back as the 1800s.
ScienceDirect (Elsevier) This link opens in a new window
Full text and bibliographic information about science, technology, and medicine with over 950 full text peer-reviewed journals
ClinicalKey This link opens in a new window
ClinicalKey is a database designed for medical professionals. It provides full-text articles from Elsevier’s collection, as well as access to images, videos, and books.

Medline Plus
MedlinePlus is the National Institutes of Health's Web site for patients and their families and friends.

HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
HeinOnline is a fully searchable, image-based government document and legal research database. It contains comprehensive coverage from inception of both U.S. statutory materials, U.S. Congressional Documents and more than 2,300 scholarly journals, all of the world's constitutions, all U.S. treaties, collections of classic treatises and presidential documents, and access to the full text of state and federal case law.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni provides access to the full text of hundreds of major business and legal journals, magazines, and U.S. and international newspapers. Company financial, country, tax, medical, federal and state legal information, and accounting information can also be accessed.

Google Scholar Case Law search
You can search Google Scholar for case law by selecting the Case Law option (rather than the Articles default option)

In addition to the Education specific databases, the following should be of help for School Counseling topics:

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
This large multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,770 journals, including full text for over 4,000 peer-reviewed titles.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
PsycINFO, from the American Psychological Association (APA), contains nearly 2.3 million citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, all in psychology and related disciplines, dating as far back as the 1800s.
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
SocINDEX with Full Text is the world's most comprehensive and highest quality sociology research database.
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection is an essential full-text database for psychologists, counselors, researchers and students.
PsycTESTS This link opens in a new window
Produced by the APA, PsycTESTS is a repository for a growing selection of psychological tests and measures, with thousands of test instruments and items available for immediate download and use in research and teaching.
Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print This link opens in a new window
Produced by the Buros Institute at the University of Nebraska, the Mental Measurements Yearbook (MMY) provides users with a comprehensive guide to over 2,000 contemporary testing instruments. Designed for an audience ranging from novice test consumers to experienced professionals, the MMY series contains information essential for a complete evaluation of test products within such diverse areas as psychology, education, business, and leadership.
DSM-5 Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders This link opens in a new window
The American Psychiatric Association’s Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM) is a tool for clinicians, an essential educational resource for students and practitioners, and a reference for researchers in the field.
SAGE Video This link opens in a new window
SAGE Video showcases relevant educational video across key social, behavioral, and health science disciplines. Each collection includes a breadth of video types to support diverse learning and research needs.
ScienceDirect (Elsevier) This link opens in a new window
Covers scientific, technical, and medical topics in peer-reviewed journals, books, and open access resources

For more information, please see the Research for School Counselors LibGuide

Education Statistics

Indiana Department of Education Data Center
Includes performance data and other information reported by schools in Indiana.
National Center for Education Statistics
The National Center for Education Statistics (NCES) is the primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data related to education.
Kids Count Data Center
Provides data and trend analysis relating to the well-being of children in the United States
Data.Gov Datasets
Includes datasets on education topics from various federal agencies
United States Education Data
Data profiles from U.S. Department of Education
Eurydice: The Information Network on Education in Europe
Covers European education systems and policies
World Bank Education Statistics
Education Statistics from the World Bank

General Statistics (including Education)

UNESCO Institute of Statistics
The primary source for cross-nationally comparable statistics on education, science and technology, culture, and communication for more than 200 countries and territories.
UN Data
Statistics from United Nations members states on a variety of topics

CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
CQ Researcher includes reports that offers in-depth coverage of political and social issues, such as health, international affairs, education, the environment, technology and the U.S. economy.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new window
A variety of reference materials, commentaries and viewpoints, periodical and news articles, primary sources, statistics and multimedia to help present different sides of controversial topics. Highly recommended for argumentative/persuasive research topics.
Education Week This link opens in a new window
Features daily news, commentary and analysis on policy, legislative and overall shifts and trends is the U.S. K-12 space.

MindsShift
Explores the future of learning
NEPC Best of the Ed Blogs
Selected posts from the National Education Policy Center's list of education blogs

TeachingBooks.net This link opens in a new window
Includes information and multimedia resources relating to juvenile and young adult fiction and nonfiction books.

Continuum Encyclopedia of Children's Literature
This encyclopedia includes entries written by experts in the field of children's literature.

Children's Literature Review (Literature Criticism Online) This link opens in a new window
Literature Criticism Online contains the complete full text of Contemporary Literary Criticism and Drama Criticism as well as the full text of Children's Literature Review.
Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
This group of online indexes provides access to biographies, bibliographies and critical analysis of authors, much of it full-text. The database is searchable by Author Name, Title, Genre, Literary Movement or Literary Themes, or a combination of criteria to create more powerful searches.

For more information, please see the Children's and Young Adult Literature LibGuide

Teachers College Record Book Reviews This link opens in a new window
Teachers College Record Book Reviews provides comprehensive reviews of the leading books in education and educational research by major scholars in these fields.
Choice Reviews This link opens in a new window
CHOICE reviews significant current books and electronic resources of interest to those in higher education.
Ulrichsweb This link opens in a new window
Ulrich's can be searched to find information on a journal, including whether or not it is considered to be scholarly.

In addition to the general databases, you may also want to search the Chronicle of Higher Education:

Chronicle of Higher Education This link opens in a new window
The Chronicle of Higher Education is a top source of news, information, and jobs for college and university faculty members and administrators.

For a more complete list of databases, see Databases A-Z (also available from the library home page).

Searching for Journals

Journals A-Z This link opens in a new window
To find out if Butler Libraries has a specific journal, use this Journals A-Z tool and search for the title.
Browzine This link opens in a new window
Browzine allows users to browse, read, and monitor journals which Butler University Libraries provides access to. See also Android and IOS apps.
WorldCat Discovery This link opens in a new window
Another option is to just enter the journal title in the WorldCat Discovery search box (this is also the big search box on the library home page).

Please ask if you need help.

Reminder

InterLibrary Loan
If we don't have access to something you need, you can submit an InterLibrary Loan request!

Warning:

Be sure to use persistent links if you decide to save or email links to articles you found in the results list of a database search. Many times, the URL you see at the top of the page includes session information from your search session and the link will not work after you have closed that session.

In addition to using persistent links, if you note the citation information you can insure that you will be able to find the item again.

Education Research (including Teacher Research ): Articles, Statistics and More

Tools for Finding Articles, Statistics, and More

Searching for Journals

Reminder

Warning:

CONTACT

QUICK LINKS