Butler Libraries' Butler+ Guide for Faculty

Looking for research or magazine articles?

Butler Libraries has over 200 databases that contain research articles, trade and magazine articles, book chapters, conference proceedings, reports and other materials.  The following links direct you to these:

• Databases A-Z (alphabetical listing by name)

• Databases by Subject 

• LibGuides (Research Guides created by librarians)

Can't decide which database to search?  Contact our LibChat or your Subject Librarian.

Steps for finding Articles

• Locate a database from the Databases by Subject.  We have so many that this can be challenging!  Remember to contact our LibChat for assistance with this.
   
• Search the database with keywords and use database filters such as: date limits, resource types, and other limiters to direct your search
   
• If the article is not directly available as a PDF or html full text, look for the 'Find Full Text' link to find it in another library database: 
   
• Locate the persistent link generator for the resource and copy & paste the link into your Canvas site (remember, linking follows copyright best practices).

Can an article obtained through Interlibrary Loan be put in Canvas?

Interlibrary Loan is a service where, if Butler Libraries' does not have access to the article, we will request it from another academic or public library. The article will be delivered to you, electronically, via an email notification.

Interlibrary loan is for individual research, not as a way to make instructional materials available in Canvas.  That being said, Fair Use may allow some exceptions. Consult with your Subject Librarian for guidance on copyright and instructional materials or refer to Butler Libraries' Copyright: In the Classroom and Online LibGuide.