Butler Libraries' Butler+ Guide for Faculty

What is a Subject (Liaison) Librarian?

Butler Libraries' eleven librarians support assigned colleges and majors at Butler.  Depending on the subject of your course, you will work with the librarian who covers that discipline for any library instructional or resource needs. Our photo directory of librarians will help you identify who your Subject Librarian is, or you can reach out to me, Sally Neal, for this information:  sneal@butler.edu, 317-940-9949. 

How we can support your teaching

Librarians provide teaching support through online synchronous or asynchronous learning.  We often teach on:

• Defining the information need – how to develop search terminology, refining a research question.
• How to access library resources – directing students to appropriate resources/databases, teaching search strategies, teaching controlled vocabularies.
• How to evaluate information.
• How to use information ethically  – ex. Copyright, citation style.

Again, review our librarian directory or contact Sally Neal, sneal@butler, to identify the librarian that can support your class needs.

Students have access to one-on-one help with a Librarian

Besides course instruction, librarians are available for student research consultations via Zoom, in-person, or email. Students can make a research consultation appointment with the librarian who is your subject librarian for your course.  The librarian photo directory provides links to librarian appointment calendars.  

Encourage your students to take advantage of this service by noting this in your Canvas site!

Embed Your Librarian into Canvas

Attach your Subject  Librarian to your Canvas site as a TA or Teacher. This allows the librarian to: send announcements, upload assignments/tutorials, grade, and appear in the class roster as the librarian contact for the class.  The Ask.Butler Knowledge Base provides instructions on how to add your librarian to your Canvas Course:  Adding Instructors to Canvas.  Note that it will take up to 24hrs for the enrollment to process and for your librarian to show up in your Canvas course.

Import Butler Library Research Tutorials into Canvas

Butler Libraries has a series of library research modules that you can import into your Canvas site from the Canvas Commons.  The modules cover:

Module 1 Learning the Basics about Butler Libraries
Module 2 Identifying Sources (Scholarly Research, Primary & Secondary sources)
Module 3 How to search the WorldCat catalog & Library Databases
Module 5 Plagiarism & Citing
Module 7 Special Collections, Rare Books, & Archives

The Modules have accompanying 10-point quizzes that you can turn on.  Refer to our Butler Libraries' Import Directions on how to import one or more of the Modules.  Contact Sally Neal, sneal@butler.edu, to discuss what Modules are appropriate for your class; they are good learning units to accompany librarian-led classroom instruction or can stand alone.