The Ancestry Library Edition database offers Butler University students, staff and faculty access to a limited version of Ancestry.com. Government documents such as censuses, military registration, immigration forms, and various certificates can be found within this database. This resource might be useful for genealogical projects or assignments concerning specific legal aspects of United States immigration or military documentation.
U.S., Civil War Pension Index: General Index to Pension Files, 1861-1934
National Archives and Records Administration. U.S., Civil War Pension Index: General Index to Pension Files, 1861-1934 [database on-line]. Provo, UT, USA: Ancestry.com Operations Inc, 2000.
Original data: General Index to Pension Files, 1861-1934. Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Administration. T288, 546 rolls.
Explore U.S. Federal Census collections from 1790-1940s.
For most accurate searches it is important to identify:
1. Personal Information: Date of birth, date of death, locations, marriages, etc.
2. Any potential family members: Paternal or maternal information, siblings, spouses, etc.
3. Important dates, nationality, gender, or keywords
Ancestry links to various databases and sources where information on important events happened within a person's life. While this information may not be directly on the cite, with a proper search, resources may be made available.
Military history can be search by having the name, specific dates, locations, and keywords.
This collection deals specifically Canadian immigration information. There are also records about Canadian census, and tax records going back to the 1730s.
Library Hours
Study Rooms
My Library Account
Library Website
