Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
- GT 500-GT 2370 Costuming
- M 1500 Operas & musicals, full scores
- M 1503 Operas & musicals, piano-vocal scores
- M 1507 Operas & musicals, excerpts, piano-vocal scores of 2+ works
- M 1508 Operas & musicals, excerpts, piano-vocal scores of separate works
- ML 50 Libretti (operas and musicals)
- ML 102 .O6 Dictionaries, encyclopedias (most of these are "reference")
- ML 128 .O4 Opera bibliographies
- ML 410 Composer biographies
- ML 420 Singer biographies
- ML1950 Dramatic secular vocal music, history & criticism
- MT 955 Musical theater (operas, musical comedies, etc.) - production, direction, costume, scenery, etc.
- MT 956 Musical theater (operas, musical comedies, etc.) - performing
Opera Verdi Europa's "Macbeth"
Useful Databases & Websites
Ballad Operas Online
This ballad opera website was created at Oxford University and represents the collective efforts of a team of British and American music scholars.
The website does a great job of informing visitors about the attributes of the ballad opera and the societal context in which it came about, by including sections on "Theatre & Dance History", "Cultural History", "Political History", and "Stars of Ballad Operas". Visitors should not miss the "Audio Samples" link, on the left hand menu.
Donald Pippin Collection (Pocket Opera)
Pippin founded Pocket Opera, which started in 1977 with the purpose of making opera more accessible to the average concertgoer by presenting opera in unique English language translations with a small chamber ensemble. The Donald Pippin Collection consists primarily of Pippin's English translations of opera librettos available as pdf files. Additional materials include facsimiles of over 300 print media reviews of Pocket Opera productions; copies of two anthologies published by Pippin, A Pocketful of Lyrics and As the Lights Go Up…: Tales from the Opera; a speech on Offenbach given by Pippin in San Francisco in 1996; a tribute ode by Anne Dudley on the occasion of Pippin's 60th birthday; and finally an interview with Pippin published in Journal Français d'Amérique in 1996.
Grove Music Online This link opens in a new window
Grove Music Online provides information about the lives of composers and performers; musical styles, periods, terms, and genres; musical instruments; music printing and publishing; world musics; popular music; and other music-related topics.
Music Periodicals Database (ProQuest) [Formerly IIMP-Full Text] This link opens in a new window
A music journal resource with more than half a million indexed articles from over 430 journals, plus detailed abstracts and full text from 1874 to current, covering the scholarly to the popular.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni provides access to the full text of hundreds of major business and legal journals, magazines, and U.S. and international newspapers. Company financial, country, tax, medical, federal and state legal information, and accounting information can also be accessed.
This German site sponsored by the Bayerische StaatsBibliothek provides access to libretti of hundreds of operas, oratorios, and ballets.
Met Opera Archives
This includes everything from opera synopses and historical pictures to timelines and facts. The main part of hte site discusses the Met's history.
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature This link opens in a new window
Provides article citations and abstracts from 3500 international music journals and other scholarly works including books, dissertations, bibliographies, concert reviews, critical commentaries, videos and films, etc.
Naxos Music Library This link opens in a new window
This online collection of music includes the complete Naxos, Marco Polo, and Dacapo catalogues of over 85,000 tracks. Genres covered include Classical music, Jazz, World, Folk and Chinese music. The database also provides access to notes on the works being played as well as biographical information on composers or artists. [Subscription limits to 15 simultaneous users!]
New York Times (Historical) This link opens in a new window
The New York Times (1851-2013) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
An aria database containing information about more than 150 Opera Composers, 470 Operas (including libretti), 2,800 Opera Arias, 800 Opera Duets, 570 Opera Ensembles and a total of over 7,400 Opera Scenes. The searchability of this aria database has been designed to be as easy as possible and the information as complete as possible. You can search through opera arias, duets, ensembles, scenes, roles, operas and composers in many different ways.
Operabase has documented operatic activity worldwide since 1996, with over 190,000 performances on file. It records the work of artists in over 600 theatres, and publishes season information to opera-goers in 7 languages.
Includes an alphabetized list of operas and associated resources, e.g. a synopsis and/or the full libretto, performance history, discography, pictures, or other source materials.
Contains birth (and some death) dates for composers and singers, full libretti for numerous operas, an aria index, a list of operas and composers, and a music lexicon (in German).
The Opera Singer's Career Guide by
Publication Date: 2010-08-01
Any singer longing to have a career in opera, particularly in Europe, should be familiar with the European system of classifying voices know as Fach. The Opera Singer's Career Guide: Understanding the European Fach System presents valuable information to help readers learn, understand, and use the Fach system to their professional advantage. More than just soprano, alto, tenor, or bass, students and professionals alike should know the 25 different Fach categories fully defined here, along with the examples of roles, audition arias, and European opera houses and agents provided.
Selected Dictionaries and Encyclopedias
Opera Aria Translations & Interpretive Info
Also, check out several volumes of OPERA LIBRETTI with International Phonetic Alphabet transcriptions, word for word translations, and a guide to the I.P.A. by Nico CASTEL in the REF ML 48 and REF ML 49 areas!
Opera & Voice-Related Periodicals in the Irwin Library (Current)
- Gramophone (for record reviews)
v. 57- (1979-) Current issues are online; Look up using "Journals A-Z" from the BU Libraries' Homepage
- Journal of Singing (previously NATS Bulletin)
v. 1- (1944-)
- Medical Problems of Performing Artists
v. 1- (1986-)
v. 1- (1950-)
- Opera News
v. 1- (1936-)
Useful LC Subject Headings
- Music--[CENTURY]--History and criticism
- Music--[COUNTRY]--History and criticism
- Opera--France--19th Century
- Opera--Juvenile--Production and direction
- Opera companies--Auditions
- Opera companies--Directories
- Opera--Vocational guidance--Directories
- Operas--Excerpts--Vocal scores with piano
- Operas--Excerpts--Vocal scores with piano--Instructive editions
- Operas--Instruction and study
- Operas--Interpretation (Phrasing, dynamics, etc.)
- Operas--Stories, plots, etc.
- Sex in opera
- Singing--Interpretation (Phrasing, dynamics, etc.)
- Sopranos (Singers)
- Vocal duets with orchestra--Vocal scores with piano
- Women in opera