Skip to Main Content

Singers' and Choral Directors' Bible

Resources for the classical singer, including how to find repertoire, translations, pronunciations, and pedagogical works. Choral music resources also are included.

Locating Info About Choral Music via Online Databases

Choir Research

Collected Editions, Historical Series and Sets, and Monuments of Music by George R. Hill; Norris L. Stephens
Call Number: REF ML113 .H55 1997

ISBN: 0914913220

Publication Date: 1997-01-01

This book will help you find info about complete works of composers and musical monuments. It is especially useful to locate specific works in Das Chorwerk, Fellerer's Anthology of Music, Denkmaler deutsche Tonkunst, Denkmaler der Tonkunst in Osterreich, etc.
Avant-Garde Choral Music: an annotated selected bibliography by James D. May
Call Number: REF ML128.V7 M43

ISBN: 0810810158

Publication Date: 1977-05-01
A Checklist of Twentieth-Century Choral Music for Male Voices by Kenneth Creighton. Roberts
Call Number: REF ML128.V7 R6

Publication Date: 1970
Choral Music by Avery T. Sharp; James Michael Floyd
Call Number: REF ML128.C48 S53 2011

ISBN: 9780415994194

Publication Date: 2011-03-23
Choral Music by African-American Composers: a selected, annotated bibliography by Evelyn Davidson White
Call Number: REF ML128.C48 W5 1996

ISBN: 081083037X

Publication Date: 1996-04-09
Choral Music for Women's Voices: an annotated bibliography of recommended works by Charles C. Burnsworth
Call Number: REF ML128.V7 B87

Publication Date: 1968
The Choral Music of Latin America: a guide to compositions and research by Suzanne Spicer Tiemstra
Call Number: REF ML128.C48 T5 1992

ISBN: 0313282080

Publication Date: 1992-03-30
Choral Repertoire by Dennis Shrock
Call Number: REF ML128.C48 S57 2009

ISBN: 9780195327786

Publication Date: 2009-04-07

eBook available
The Chorus in Opera: a guide to the repertory by David P. DeVenney; Craig R. Johnson
Call Number: REF ML128.C48 D423 1993

ISBN: 9780810826205

Publication Date: 1992-12-01
The Madrigal: a research and information guide by Susan Lewis Hammond
Call Number: REF ML128.M2 L49 2011

ISBN: 9780415801027

Publication Date: 2011-03-23

The Complete Church and Secular Cantatas by Johann Sebastian Bach; trans. by Richard Stokes
Call Number: REF ML53.8 .B33 2000

ISBN: 0810839334

Publication Date: 2000-11-01
Handbook to Bach's Sacred Cantata Texts : an interlinear translation with reference guide to Biblical quotations and allusions by Melvin P. Unger
Call Number: REF ML54.B15 C329 1996

ISBN: 0810829797

Publication Date: 1996-04-16
Texte zu den Kirchenkantaten von Johann Sebastian Bach = The texts to Johann Sebastian Bach's church cantatas by Trans. by Z. Philip. Ambrose
Call Number: REF ML54.B15 C3298 1984

ISBN: 9783775109703

Publication Date: 1984
Translations and Annotations of Choral Repertoire by Compiled by Ron. Jeffers, Gordon. Paine, Ethan. Nash, Joshua R. Jacobson
Call Number: REF ML48.T736 E37 1988 v.1-3

ISBN: 0962153206

Publication Date: 1988-11-01

Vol. 1: Sacred Latin Texts
Vol. 2: German Texts
Vol. 3: French and Italian Texts
Vol. 4: Hebrew Texts

An Annotated Bibliography of Church Music by Fang-Lan Hsieh (Compiled by); Jason M. Runnels
Call Number: REF ML128.C54 H75 2003

ISBN: 9780773465800

Publication Date: 2003-01-01
Catalogue of Choral Music Arranged in Biblical Order by James H. Laster (Compiled by)
Call Number: ML128.C54 C37 1983

ISBN: 0810815923

Publication Date: 1983-01-01
Catalogue of Choral Music Arranged in Biblical Order. Supplement by James H. Laster
Call Number: REF ML128.C54 L4 1996

ISBN: 081084138X

Publication Date: 2001-12-01
Church and Worship Music: an annotated bibliography of contemporary scholarship : a research and information guide by James Michael Floyd; Avery T. Sharp
Call Number: REF ML128.C5368 S53 2005

ISBN: 0415966477

Publication Date: 2005-08-24

Choral Educators Resource Handbook by Allen Young, Sherri Phillips
Call Number: REF ML128.C48 Y7 1985

Publication Date: 1985
The Foundation of Artistry: an annotated bibliography of distinctive choral literature for high school mixed choirs by Linda Allen Anderson (Editor)
Call Number: REF ML128.V7 A5 2002

ISBN: 1882648110

Publication Date: 2002-01-01
Twentieth-Century Choral Music: an annotated bibliography of music appropriate for college and university choirs by Richard J. Bloesch; Weyburn Wasson; Gordon Paine
Call Number: REF ML128.C48 B56 1997

ISBN: 9781882648092

Publication Date: 1997-01-01
Twentieth-Century Choral Music: an annotated bibliography of music suitable for use by high school choirs by J. Perry White
Call Number: REF ML128.C48 W53 1990

ISBN: 0810823942

Publication Date: 1991-01-01

American Choral Music Since 1920: an annotated guide by David P. DeVenney
Call Number: REF ML128.C48 D42 1993

ISBN: 9780914913283

Publication Date: 1994-01-01
Choral Music in 19th-Century America : a guide to the sources by N. Lee Orr; W. Dan Hardin
Call Number: REF ML128.C48 O77 1999

ISBN: 9780810836648

Publication Date: 1999-08-28
Early American Choral Music: an annotated guide by David P. DeVenney
Call Number: REF ML128.C48 D43 1988

ISBN: 0914913093

Publication Date: 1988-04-01
Nineteenth-Century American Choral Music: an annotated guide by David P. DeVenney
Call Number: REF ML128.C48 D48 1987

ISBN: 0914913085

Publication Date: 1987-01-01

A Conductor's Guide to the Choral-Orchestral Works by Jonathan D. Green
Call Number: ML128.C48 G7 1994 v.1-2

ISBN: 9780810837331

Publication Date: 2000-02-16
A Conductor's Guide to Choral-Orchestral Works, Classical Period by Jonathan D. Green
Call Number: REF ML128.C48 G703 2002

ISBN: 0810842068

Publication Date: 2001-12-11
A Conductor's Guide to Nineteenth-Century Choral-Orchestral Works by Jonathan D. Green
Call Number: REF ML128.C48 G73 2008

ISBN: 9780810860469

Publication Date: 2007-12-13
A Conductor's Guide to the Choral-Orchestral Works of J. S. Bach by Jonathan D. Green
Call Number: REF ML134.B1 G74 2000

ISBN: 0810837331

Publication Date: 2000-02-16
Face to Face with Orchestra and Chorus: a handbook for choral conductors by Don V. Moses; Robert W. Demaree; Allen F. Ohmes
Call Number: MT85 .M683 2004

ISBN: 0253344379

Publication Date: 2004-06-01

Last Updated: Oct 14, 2025 1:23 PM
URL: https://libguides.butler.edu/SingersSurvival
Print Page

Subjects: Music

Tags: choral_music, choral_resources, classical, fine_arts, music, singer, vocal_music, vocal_resources, voice

CONTACT

Email Butler University Libraries
Irwin Library: 317-940-9227
Science Library: 317-940-9937

QUICK LINKS

Library Hours
Study Rooms
My Library Account
Library Website