The Butler University campus is closed for the Thanksgiving holiday break from Wednesday, November 25, through Friday, November 27. Special Collections will be closed during this time.
Special Collections will reopen on Monday, November 30, and email and phone messages will be checked at this time. We apologize for any inconvenience.
Please see Special Collections' COVID-19 Statement below that provides more information on the department's limited hours.
Special Collections is operating on a limited appointment-only basis due to the measures being taken by Butler University and the state government to limit the spread of COVID-19. This policy will allow for proper social distancing within our space while also allowing us to work from home periodically to limit exposure.
We will continue to answer reference queries via email and phone from 9:00 AM to 4:00 PM, Monday through Friday. Queries that require accessing physical materials in the archives will be answered as soon as possible depending on staffing on-site.
Appointments need to be made at least 24 hours in advance. Please contact us to request a time to come in and view materials. Our contact information is:
Appointments will be available during the following hours:
For individuals not associated with Butler University, please contact us for University safety protocols that must be followed while on campus.
Please be advised that reference services could be disrupted further. We apologize in advance for the inconvenience.
For more information on services and policies offered by Butler Universities Libraries during this time, please refer to the latest update. For more information on COVID-19, please check out this Butler University Libraries LibGuide.
The department of Special Collections, Rare Books, and University Archives at Butler University actively works to preserve the history of Butler University as well as supporting faculty teaching and student research.
Search Butler University Libraries online catalog for materials held by the department of Special Collections, Rare Books, and University Archives: