Research Guides (LibGuides): EI 101: First-Year Business Experience 2024-25 (all sections): Global Analysis

Global Analysis Resources

TIPS on finding trade sources:

Google industry keywords with the word "association." ex: "food processing" association
When you find a trade association website relevant to the industry, review the site's menu headings and/or use the search box on the site to look for information for your analysis (ex: global trends).
Find Trade Sources in an IBISWorld report by going to the "About this Industry" section of the report. Look for "Additional Resources."
Use keywords to search a database and then filter results to trade publications.

Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
First Research (via Mergent Intellect) This link opens in a new window
One Business (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
Find Trade Sources in an IBISWorld report by going to the "About this Industry" section of the report. Look for "Additional Resources."

International Business LibGuide
See the links under the Statistics tab and the Country Reports tab.

Tip: The Form 10-K is a government source. Look in the Business section of a public company's Form 10-K for information about any global operations.

Statista This link opens in a new window
The Statista database has reports and tables with government statistics.

Government Information Resources for Business

Start with the Statista and Passport databases for information on global business.

The AtoZ International database includes information on imports/exports and trade logistics.
First-time users of Passport: See the registration instructions below.

AtoZ International Business This link opens in a new window
AtoZ International Business is a source for international trade and business information product for importers, exporters, logistics professionals, bankers, attorneys, global entrepreneurs, trade promotion agencies, government agencies, and graduate school business programs.
IBISWorld This link opens in a new window

Passport Database Registration Instructions

Passport (Euromonitor) This link opens in a new window
Provides marketing data and reports on countries, companies, markets, and consumers from approximately 200 countries.
Statista This link opens in a new window

Tip: Start by looking for WSJ articles. Try Google to find WSJ articles. Example: "fast food" site:wsj.com

Try the databases linked below to find general business news articles (ex: from Forbes, local business newspapers).

Wall Street Journal (online edition)
You have full access if you signed up for your free Butler WSJ account.

Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Regional Business News This link opens in a new window
Wall Street Journal - Eastern Edition (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
This is the Eastern edition of the Wall Street Journal, available from 1984 to the present.

Tip: Try the IB 320 International Business Research Guide linked below to find helpful resources on doing business in other countries.

Business Databases by Topic
Use this chart to help you find specific databases by topic.
IB 320 International Business Research Guide

EI 101: First-Year Business Experience 2024-25 (all sections)

Global Analysis Resources

CONTACT

QUICK LINKS