LibGuides: EI 101: First-Year Business Experience 2023-24 (all sections): Supply Chain Analysis

Supply Chain Resources

Tip: Review a public company's Form 10-K (SEC filing) to find information about the industry supply chain.

Butler LibGuide on Government Information Resources for Business Information
See this LibGuide for links to Federal, State, and Local Government Resources.
Census Bureau Economic Statistics
U.S. Census--Business and Economy

Statista This link opens in a new window
The Statista database has reports and tables with government statistics.

Start with the IBISWorld database for an industry supply chain overview. This overview will be for the "industry," not for individual companies, but you can apply the industry information for your analysis.

Hoovers and Mergent Intellect have company profiles.
Mergent Online: *Includes Supply Chain information for public companies.
Also see the IBISWorld database for industry reports with a section on the supply chain.
For help using databases, see the tutorials linked on this LibGuide.

AtoZ International Business This link opens in a new window
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
First Research This link opens in a new window
First Research provides comprehensive research reports on over 200 industries. Search by keyword, SIC, or NAICS codes to find industry studies that cover trends and opportunities, the competitive environment, financials, and executive profiles.
Hoovers This link opens in a new window
IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
Mergent Intellect This link opens in a new window
Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
Statista This link opens in a new window
Statista.com provides companies, business customers, research institutions, and the academic community with direct access to quantitative data on media, business, finance, politics, and a wide variety of other areas of interest or markets.

TIP: Start with ThomasNet.com (linked below) to look for information on suppliers.

Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Business Source Complete is the world's definitive scholarly business database. Includes books, case studies, company profiles, economic reports, industry reports, SWOT analyses, in addition to nearly 2,000 peer-reviewed journals.
One Business (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
ProQuest One Business is a business library containing millions of full-text items across scholarly and popular periodicals, newspapers, market research reports, dissertations, books, videos and more.

CSIMarket
Website with information on public companies. Some profiles include supplier information.
Industrial Quick Search Directory
Manufacturer Directory
Kompass Directory
An international directory of suppliers in most industries. Search for suppliers and build lists by industry, product, or service.
MacRAE's Blue Book
Information on over 1,200,000 North American industrial companies with more than 2 million product listings indexed under more than 50,000 product headings.
ThomasNet.com
Website for finding suppliers and product sourcing

Try the databases linked below to find general business news articles (ex: WSJ, Forbes, local business newspapers). Tip: Try Google to find WSJ articles. Ex: "supply chain" site:wsj.com

Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
One Business (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Regional Business News This link opens in a new window
Wall Street Journal This link opens in a new window
This is the Eastern edition of the Wall Street Journal, available from 1984 to the present.

Wall Street Journal (online edition)
You have full access if you signed up for your free Butler WSJ account.

Public companies will often name some of their top suppliers on their corporate website or in reports such as the Form 10-K. Use the website search box to find information on suppliers and/or look for trade and news articles that mention suppliers.

Business Databases by Topic
Use this chart to help you find the best database for specific topics.

EI 101: First-Year Business Experience 2023-24 (all sections): Supply Chain Analysis

Supply Chain Resources

CONTACT

QUICK LINKS