LibGuides: Visiting Writers' Series LibGuide: André Aciman

Campus Visit

André Aciman

André Aciman Call Me By Your Name Press Conference Berlinale 2017 by Maximilian Bühn (CC Share Alike)

More Information

Now living in the United States, where he teaches comparative literature, André Aciman has charmed readers with reflections on his childhood in Egypt and the ramifications of being exiled from one's homeland. His 1994 book, Out of Egypt: A Memoir, and his 2000 collection of essays, False Papers: Essays on Exile and Memory, earned him a reputation as a skilled writer and a careful, engaging observer on the subjects of home and family.

AWARDS:

Whiting Foundation Writers' Award, 1995; Guggenheim fellowship, 1997; New York Institute for the Humanities fellowship, 1998; New York Public Library's Center for Scholars and Writers fellowship, 2000; Lambda Literary Award, 2007.

Source:

"Andre Aciman." Contemporary Authors Online, Gale, 2018. Biography In Context, http://link.galegroup.com/apps/doc/H1000135563/BIC?u=butleru&sid=BIC&xid=62b0f7e2. Accessed 14 Dec. 2018.

Dictionary of Literary Biography Complete

The series provides information on authors and their works while placing writers in the larger perspective of literary history.

Podcasts:

Marquette Radio: André Aciman talks "Call Me By Your Name"
Andre Aciman talks ‘Call Me By Your Name’ on Marquette Radio. Published on February 26, 2018. (~14 minutes)

The Wheeler Centre: André Aciman’s "Call Me by Your Name"
Conversation with Andre Aciman about the exploration of queer sexuality. Published May 3, 2018. (~59 minutes)

Interviews:

Conversation with Author André Aciman
Best-selling author André Aciman discusses his critically acclaimed novel, "Call Me By Your Name." Published on August 13, 2018. (~1 hour)

André Aciman: The Meaning and Message of 'Call Me By Your Name'
Author André Aciman discusses what inspired him to write his novel, 'Call Me By Your Name', how readers have responded to the book, and his reaction to the novel being made into an Academy Award-winning film. (~28 minutes)

Call Me by Your Name by André Aciman
ISBN: 9780857895264
Publication Date: 2012
"Andre Aciman's 'Call Me by Your Name' is the story of a sudden and powerful romance that blossoms between an adolescent boy and a summer guest at his parents’ cliffside mansion on the Italian Riviera. Each is unprepared for the consequences of their attraction, when, during the restless summer weeks, unrelenting currents of obsession, fascination, and desire intensify their passion and test the charged ground between them. Recklessly, the two verge toward the one thing both fear they may never truly find again: total intimacy. It is an instant classic and one of the great love stories of our time."

Literary Sources
Literary Sources provides information in primary sources, critical articles, literary and cultural analysis, and biographies.

New York Times Book Review
This link will take you to the New York Times Book Review hosted on the Literature Resource Center database. It includes issues from 2001 to present. You can search within the entire publication (box at top of page) or you can select a specific year from the drop-down menu. Older issues are available via other databases - ask a librarian for help accessing these issues.
Library Journal Book Review
Click on the Library Journal link (use the one that has more full texts available) to access it through the Butler library. Use the author's name as your search term in the "search within the publication" box to find reviews of his work.

Visiting Writers' Series LibGuide: André Aciman

Campus Visit

André Aciman

More Information

CONTACT

QUICK LINKS