Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
by Tanya Rosen Jones
“Kazim Ali is a poet, novelist, and professor. He was born April 5, 1971, in London, England, but he soon moved to Canada where he spent a few years of his early life. Eventually he settled in the United States. Ali's first introduction to poetry and the cadence of language was listening to his father recite verses from the Qur'an. Ali attended the University of Albany in New York where he studied political science, folklore, and poetry, eventually earning his M.A. in English literature. He completed some political work for a statewide organization and taught literary workshops in the Buffalo area before he returned to school to earn an M.F.A. in creative writing from New York University.”
Source: "Kazim Ali." Contemporary Authors Online, Gale, 2010. Literature Resource Center. Accessed 4 Dec. 2017.
Many works by our Visiting Writers' Series authors are pulled from their normal places on the shelves and temporarily located in a special display in the Browsing Collection. This collection is located near the Information Commons service desk, next to the vending machines and newspapers.
When you look at an item's record in WorldCat Discovery, be sure to note whether the items is in the General Stacks (mostly 2nd floor) or the Browsing Collection (1st floor). If you have any questions about locating an item on the shelf, don't hesitate to ask us!
Remember - if we don't own it or our copy is currently checked out, you probably can still get a copy through PALShare or interlibrary loan! Learn more.
Bright Felon by
Publication Date: 2009
"Kazim Ali details the struggle of coming of age between cultures, overcoming personal and family strictures to talk about private affairs and secrets long held."
The Far Mosque by
Publication Date: 2005
"Ali travels by water and by night, seeking the Far Mosque and its overarching paradox: that when God and Self are one, an ascent into Heaven is a voyage within."
The Fortieth Day by
Publication Date: 2014
"Kazim Ali follows the fractured narratives and moving lyrics of his debut collection, The Far Mosque, with a deeply spiritual and meditative book exploring the rhetoric of prayer."
Orange Alert by
Publication Date: 2010
"Ali discusses contemporary poetry in relation to other art forms and to contemporary television; film; and electronic media, including the Internet, YouTube, and Facebook."
Sky Ward by
Publication Date: 2013
"Drunk on the sun and the sea, Kazim Ali’s new poems swoop linguistically but ground themselves vividly in the daily and real. Both imprisoned by endlessness and dependent on it for nurturing and care, in Sky Ward Ali goes further than ever before in sounding out the spaces between music and silence, between sky and ocean, between human and eternal."
Literary Sources This link opens in a new window
Literary Sources provides information in primary sources, critical articles, literary and cultural analysis, and biographies.
New York Times Book Review
This link will take you to the New York Times Book Review hosted on the Literature Resource Center database. It includes issues from 2001 to present. You can search within the entire publication (box at top of page) or you can select a specific year from the drop-down menu. Older issues are available via other databases - ask a librarian for help accessing these issues.
Library Journal Book Review
Click on the Library Journal link (use the one that has more full texts available) to access it through the Butler library. Use the author's name as your search term in the "search within the publication" box to find reviews of his work.