Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Many works by our Visiting Writers' Series authors are pulled from their normal places on the shelves and temporarily located in a special display in the Browsing Collection. This collection is located near the Information Commons service desk, next to the vending machines and newspapers.
When you look at an item's record in WorldCat Discovery, be sure to note whether the items is in the General Stacks (mostly 2nd floor) or the Browsing Collection (1st floor). If you have any questions about locating an item on the shelf, don't hesitate to ask us!
Remember - if we don't own it or our copy is currently checked out, you probably can still get a copy through PALShare or interlibrary loan! Learn more.
Human Dark with Sugar by
"Brenda Shaughnessy's Human Dark with Sugar revisits and modernizes the classic themes that have inspired generations of poets: Love. Loss. Sex. Rejection. Pain. Time. Exploring the strange wonder that is perception, Shaughnessy pressures language and holds nothing back; her poems encompass emotional states such as tenderness, devotion, resignation, bitterness, and rage."--Jacket.
Interior with Sudden Joy by
Call Number: Available via PALNI
At once hyper-contemporary and archaic, erotic, indecorous, and extravagant like nobody else, Brenda Shaughnessy seeks outrageous avenues of access to the heart. - Amazon.com description
Our Andromeda by
Confronting hard realities, Shaughnessy's heart opens wide as she explores parallel universes and writes a utopian Andromeda of her imagination.
So Much Synth by
"Shaughnessy's fourth collection as she approaches middle age and revisits the memories, romances, and music of adolescence. So Much Synth is a brave and ferocious collection composed of equal parts femininity, pain, pleasure, and synthesizer. While Shaughnessy tenderly winces at her youthful excesses, we humbly catch glimpses of our own"-- Provided by publisher.
"Brenda Shaughnessy was born in Okinawa, Japan, but grew up primarily in Southern California. A writer, poet, editor, and educator, she earned her undergraduate degree in literature and women's studies from the University of California at Santa Cruz, then went on to complete her education with a master of fine arts degree from Columbia University in New York. She has worked as a lecturer in creative writing for Princeton University's Lewis Center for the Arts in New Jersey, and has also taught at Rutgers University. In addition, she has served as the poetry editor for both Tin House magazine and Tin House Books.
Over the course of her writing career, Shaughnessy has won a number of awards and fellowships. She was named Village Voice Writer on the Verge in 1999, and has been awarded a Bunting Fellowship by the Radcliffe Institute of Advanced Study, an Artist Fellowship from the Japan-U.S. Friendship Commission, and an Isabella Gardner Fellowship from the MacDowell Colony. She was also granted fellowships from both the Greenwall Foundation and Yaddo. She is a regular contributor of poetry to a number of publications, including Bomb, Boston Review, Colorado Review, Conjunctions, McSweeney's, New Yorker, Paris Review, and Yale Review.
Her first collection of poetry, Interior with Sudden Joy, was nominated for several prestigious awards, including the PEN/Joyce Osterweil Award for Poetry, a Lambda Literary Award, and the Norma Farber First Book Award. She is also the author of Human Dark with Sugar and Our Andromeda."
Source: "Brenda Shaughnessy." Contemporary Authors Online. Detroit: Gale, 2014. Biography in Context. Web. 25 May 2016
Use the author's name or one of her primary texts to find reviews and criticism of her work.
Library Journal Book Review
Click on the Library Journal link (use the one that has more full texts available) to access it through the Butler library. Use the author's name as your search term in the "search within the publication" box to find reviews of his work.
New York Times Book Review
This link will take you to the New York Times Book Review hosted on the Literature Resource Center database. It includes issues from 2001 to present. You can search within the entire publication (box at top of page) or you can select a specific year from the drop-down menu. Older issues are available via other databases - ask a librarian for help accessing these issues.