Skip to Main Content

Visiting Writers' Series LibGuide: Brandon Hobson

“People live and die. People kill themselves or they get killed. The rest of us live on, burdened by what is inescapable.”
― Brandon Hobson, Where the Dead Sit Talking

Campus Visit


Brandon Hobson

Photo Source: Hinrichs, Christie. “Hobson.” Authors Unbound, 25 Oct. 2023,

More About Brandon Hobson

Brandon Hobson is the author of four adult novels, including his latest work The Removed about a fractured family reckoning with the tragic death of their son long ago. Where the Dead Sit Talking, was a finalist for the 2018 National Book Award, winner of the Reading the West Award, and longlisted for the Dublin International Literary Award. Set in rural Oklahoma during the late 1980’s, it is a startling, authentically voiced and lyrically written Native American coming-of-age story. In 2023, Hobson published his first children’s book, The Storyteller, a middle-grade adventure about a Cherokee boy dealing with anxiety while experiencing Cherokee history and lore.

Hobson has won a Pushcart Prize, and his fiction has appeared in such places as McSweeney’s, Conjunctions, American Short Fiction, NOON, and elsewhere. In 2022, Brandon was awarded a Guggenheim Fellowship.

Brandon Hobson is an assistant professor of English at New Mexico State University, and he also teaches at the Institute of American Indian Arts in Santa Fe. He is an enrolled citizen of the Cherokee Nation Tribe of Oklahoma and lives with his family in New Mexico.

via Butler University Visiting Writers

For more information, visit Brandon's Website

Brandon Hobson has won several awards throughout his career. They are as follows:

  • Guggenheim Fellowship in 2022. A Guggenheim is an award given to 175 people every year and consists of funds given to writers to enable them to pursue their projects. This is a very prestigious honor!
  • National Book Award Finalist. This means he was longlisted for the National Book Award in the year he was submitted for it.
  • Pushcart Prize. This is an award given to short stories, poetry, and essays published in literary magazines in a given year. Each magazine can submit their six best pieces, so being given this award is a big deal!
  • Reading the West Award. An award system that honors the best books published from a given set of publishers in a given year.
  • Longlisted for the Dublin Literary Award. This is one of the most prestigious literature awards. It gives prizes for winners that are upward of $100,000.


Email Butler University Libraries
Irwin Library: 317-940-9227
Science Library: 317-940-9937

Like us on FacebookInstagramFollow us on Twitter