Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
"Brando Skyhorse is an author, editor, and professor. He was born in Echo Park, California in 1973. He earned his Bachelor of Arts degree from Stanford University in 1995 and his Master of Fine Arts degree from University of California, Irvine in 1997. Skyhorse worked for ten years (1999-2009) as a book editor in New York before his first book, The Madonnas of Echo Park, was published in 2010. Skyhorse wrote the book over a three-year period after quitting his last editorial position. The book is a series of interconnected short stories focusing on Mexican Americans who live in the Echo Park section of Los Angeles, where the author was born and raised. Skyhorse published the memoir Take This Man in 2014. The personal account reveals Skyhorse's dysfunctional childhood in Los Angeles. After his father abandoned the family, his mother created a new identity for herself as a Native American and legally changed her son's name. By the time he was eighteen, he had gone through half a dozen "fathers" and found out that the man his mother said was his father was not. Skyhorse tracks down his biological father and attempts to turn his own family into one that is as normal as possible."
Source: "Brando Skyhorse." Contemporary Authors Online, Gale, 2015. Biography In Context, http://link.galegroup.com/apps/doc/H1000202887/BIC?u=butleru&sid=BIC&xid=e8208e30. Accessed 23 May 2018.
Many works by our Visiting Writers' Series authors are pulled from their normal places on the shelves and temporarily located in a special display in the Browsing Collection. This collection is located near the Information Commons service desk, next to the vending machines and newspapers.
When you look at an item's record in WorldCat Discovery, be sure to note whether the items is in the General Stacks (mostly 2nd floor) or the Browsing Collection (1st floor). If you have any questions about locating an item on the shelf, don't hesitate to ask us!
Remember - if we don't own it or our copy is currently checked out, you probably can still get a copy through PALShare or interlibrary loan! Learn more.
We Wear the Mask by
Publication Date: 2017
"For some, "passing" means opportunity, access, or safety. Others don't willfully pass but are "passed" in specific situations by someone else. We Wear the Mask, edited by authors Brando Skyhorse and Lisa Page, is an illuminating and timely anthology of original essays that examines the complex reality of passing in America."
Take This Man by
Publication Date: 2015
The author traces his turbulent childhood under the shadow of his dynamic mother and five stepfathers, describing how his mother reinvented their pasts in ways that challenged his efforts to reconnect with his biological father.
The Madonnas of Echo Park by
Publication Date: 2011
"The Madonnas of Echo Park is both a grand mural of a Los Angeles neighborhood and an intimate glimpse into the lives of the men and women who struggle to lose their ethnic identity in the pursuit of the American dream. Each chapter summons a different voice—poetic, fierce, comic. We meet Hector, a day laborer who trolls the streets for work and witnesses a murder that pits his morality against his illegal status; his ex-wife Felicia, who narrowly survives a shooting and lands a cleaning job in a Hollywood Hills house as desolate as its owner; and young Aurora, who journeys through her now gentrified childhood neighborhood to discover her own history and her place in the land that all Mexican-Americans dream of, “the land that belongs to us again.” "
Brando Skyhorse | Take This Man: A Memoir
Recorded: Jul 29, 2014 (82 mins)
"Determined to give her son everything but the truth of his father or Mexican ancestry, Brando Skyhorse’s mother took the last name of a stranger in prison for armed robbery and created a new identity for her young child as the Native American son of an incarcerated political activist. Acclaimed for his “indelible storytelling” (O, The Oprah Magazine), Skyhorse recounts his turbulent childhood growing up with five stepfathers in his memoir Take This Man. Skyhorse’s debut novel, The Madonnas of Echo Park, received the 2011 PEN/Hemingway Award and the Sue Kaufman Award for First Fiction from the American Academy of Arts and Letters. "
Brando Skyhorse: “Take This Man”
Recorded: June 4th, 2014 (51 minutes)
Literary Sources This link opens in a new window
Literary Sources provides information in primary sources, critical articles, literary and cultural analysis, and biographies.
New York Times Book Review
This link will take you to the New York Times Book Review hosted on the Literature Resource Center database. It includes issues from 2001 to present. You can search within the entire publication (box at top of page) or you can select a specific year from the drop-down menu. Older issues are available via other databases - ask a librarian for help accessing these issues.
Library Journal Book Review
Click on the Library Journal link (use the one that has more full texts available) to access it through the Butler library. Use the author's name as your search term in the "search within the publication" box to find reviews of his work.