Skip to Main Content

Visiting Writers' Series LibGuide: Tiana Clark

“Something in your past wants to be touched, healed.”
― Tiana Clark, I Can't Talk About the Trees Without the Blood

Campus Visit


More About Tiana Clark

Tiana Clark is the author of the poetry collection, I Can’t Talk About the Trees Without the Blood, winner of the 2017 Agnes Lynch Starrett Prize, and Equilibrium, selected by Afaa Michael Weaver for the 2016 Frost Place Chapbook Competition. Clark is a winner for the 2020 Kate Tufts Discovery Award (Claremont Graduate University), a 2019 National Endowment for the Arts Literature Fellow, and the 2015 Rattle Poetry Prize. She is a recipient of the 2021-2022 Amy Lowell Poetry Traveling Scholarship and 2019 Pushcart Prize. Clark is the 2017-2018 Jay C. and Ruth Halls Poetry Fellow at the Wisconsin Institute of Creative Writing. She is the recipient of scholarships and fellowships to the Bread Loaf Writers’ Conference, Sewanee Writers’ Conference, and Kenyon Review Writers Workshop.

Clark is a graduate of Vanderbilt University (M.F.A) and Tennessee State University (B.A.) where she studied Africana and Women’s studies. Her writing has appeared in or is forthcoming from The New Yorker, Poetry Magazine, The Atlantic, The Washington Post, Virginia Quarterly Review, Tin House Online, Kenyon Review, BuzzFeed News, American Poetry Review, Oxford American, The Best American Poetry 2022, and elsewhere. She teaches at the Sewanee School of Letters. She is the Grace Hazard Conkling Writer-in-Residence at Smith College. Clark is currently working on her next two books.

Via Butler University Visiting Writers Series

Find out more on Tiana's Website

Pushcart Prize in 2019. This is an award given to short stories, poetry, and essays published in literary magazines in a given year. Each magazine can submit their six best pieces, so being given this award is a big deal!

Agnes Lynch Starrett Poetry Prize Winner and Essayist. This is a $5,000 dollar prize given by The University of Pittsburgh Press that also comes with publication as part of their Pitt Poetry Series.

Kate Tufts Poetry Award. This award is given to a first book by a poet who shows promise within the writing world. The award also comes with a $10,000 prize. Tiana Clark was a recipient of this award in 2020.

National Endowment for the Arts Literature Fellow in 2019. These awards are $25,000 grants given in prose and poetry on a 2 year cycle. It enables authors to travel and research for their projects.

Rattle Poetry Prize in 2015. These awards are given by the Rattle Magazine and come with a $15,000 prize alongside publication.


Email Butler University Libraries
Irwin Library: 317-940-9227
Science Library: 317-940-9937

Like us on FacebookInstagramFollow us on Twitter