Research Guides (LibGuides): Visiting Writers' Series LibGuide: Madeline Miller

Campus Visit

Madeline Miller

Subin, Nina. “Madeline Miller.” Madeline Miller: The Author, www.madelinemiller.com/the-author.

More Information

Madeline Miller grew up in New York City and Philadelphia. She attended Brown University, where she earned her BA and MA in Classics. She has taught and tutored Latin, Greek and Shakespeare to high school students for the past twenty years.

She has also studied at the University of Chicago’s Committee on Social Thought, and in the Dramaturgy department at Yale School of Drama, where she focused on the adaptation of classical texts to modern forms.

The Song of Achilles, her first novel, was awarded the 2012 Orange Prize for Fiction and was a New York Times Bestseller. It has been translated into over twenty-five languages including Dutch, Mandarin, Japanese, Turkish, Arabic and Greek. Madeline was also shortlisted for the 2012 Stonewall Writer of the Year. Her second novel, Circe, was an instant number 1 New York Times bestseller, is currently short-listed for the Women's Prize for Fiction, and won the Indies Choice Best Adult Fiction of the Year Award and the the Indies Choice Best Audiobook of the Year Award. It was also given The Red Tentacle Award, an American Library Association Alex Award (adult books of special interest to teen readers), and the 2018 Elle Big Book Award. Madeline's essays have appeared in a number of publications including the Guardian, Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, Telegraph, Lapham's Quarterly and NPR.org. She currently lives outside Philadelphia, Pennsylvania.

Source:

Miller, Madeline. "Madeline Miller." madelinemiller.com, madelinemiller.com/the-author/. Accessed 17 May 2019.

Dictionary of Literary Biography Complete

The series provides information on authors and their works while placing writers in the larger perspective of literary history.

Podcasts:

Reimagining the Gods
A discussion of how Greek Gods play a role in Madeline Miller's writing, and why she chose to alter their original roles.
~30 minutes
Madeline Miller and Toby Litt
A discussion between Madeline Miller and Toby Litt about how history and myth connect with modern feminist movements.
~48:05
Madeline Miller on Women's Work, Translation, and Gender in "The Odyssey"
Madeline Miller discusses ancient Greek epic, translation, mythological realism, and literary adaptation in this podcast.
~56:03

Interviews:

Madeline Miller and Gregory Maguire talk about THE SONG OF ACHILLES
Published on Mar 15, 2012
~2:27

Writing of Gods and Mortals: A Madeline Miller Interview
An interview discussing the new point-of-view of famous Greek stories Madeline Miller provides in her novels.

More Resources:

'Circe' Gives The Witch Of The Odyssey A New Life
A book review of "Circe" by Madeline Miller addressing the new role the character Circe plays in the novel.
Madeline Miller on the character of Circe
Published on Mar 28, 2019
~0:44

Madeline Miller - The Song of Achilles
Published on Apr 13, 2012
~3:34

Many works by our Visiting Writers' Series authors are pulled from their normal places on the shelves and temporarily located in a special display in the Browsing Collection. This collection is located near the Information Commons service desk, next to the vending machines and newspapers.

When you look at an item's record in WorldCat Discovery, be sure to note whether the items is in the General Stacks (mostly 2nd floor) or the Browsing Collection (1st floor). If you have any questions about locating an item on the shelf, don't hesitate to ask us!

Remember - if we don't own it or our copy is currently checked out, you probably can still get a copy through PALShare or interlibrary loan! Learn more.

Circe by Madeline Miller
ISBN: 9780316556347
Publication Date: 2018
“In the house of Helios, god of the sun and mightiest of the Titans, a daughter is born. But Circe is a strange child -- not powerful, like her father, nor viciously alluring like her mother. Turning to the world of mortals for companionship, she discovers that she does possess power -- the power of witchcraft, which can transform rivals into monsters and menace the gods themselves. Threatened, Zeus banishes her to a deserted island, where she hones her occult craft, tames wild beasts and crosses paths with many of the most famous figures in all of mythology, including the Minotaur, Daedalus and his doomed son Icarus, the murderous Medea, and, of course, wily Odysseus. But there is danger, too, for a woman who stands alone, and Circe unwittingly draws the wrath of both men and gods, ultimately finding herself pitted against one of the most terrifying and vengeful of the Olympians. To protect what she loves most, Circe must summon all her strength and choose, once and for all, whether she belongs with the gods she is born from, or the mortals she has come to love.”
The Song of Achilles by Madeline Miller
ISBN: 9780062060617
Publication Date: 2012
"Patroclus, an awkward young prince, follows Achilles into war, little knowing that the years that follow will test everything they have learned, everything they hold dear. And that, before he is ready, he will be forced to surrender his friend to the hands of Fate. Set during the Trojan War."

Literary Sources
Literary Sources provides information in primary sources, critical articles, literary and cultural analysis, and biographies.

New York Times Book Review
This link will take you to the New York Times Book Review hosted on the Literature Resource Center database. It includes issues from 2001 to present. You can search within the entire publication (box at top of page) or you can select a specific year from the drop-down menu. Older issues are available via other databases - ask a librarian for help accessing these issues.
Library Journal Book Review
Click on the Library Journal link (use the one that has more full texts available) to access it through the Butler library. Use the author's name as your search term in the "search within the publication" box to find reviews of his/her work.

Visiting Writers' Series LibGuide: Madeline Miller

Campus Visit

Madeline Miller

More Information

CONTACT

QUICK LINKS