Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Ada Limón is the author of five books of poetry, including the Carrying which won the National Book Critics Circle Award for Poetry and was named one of the top 5 poetry books of the year by the Washington Post. Her fourth book Bright Dead Things was named a finalist for the National Book Award, a finalist for the Kingsley Tufts Poetry Award, and a finalist for the National Book Critics Circle Award. She serves on the faculty of Queens University of Charlotte Low Residency M.F.A program, and the online and summer programs for the Provincetown Fine Arts Work Center. She also works as a freelance writer in Lexington, Kentucky.
Limón, Ada. “About.” https://adalimon.com/, https://adalimon.com/about.html. Accessed 25 January 2020.
Dictionary of Literary Biography Complete
The series provides information on authors and their works while placing writers in the larger perspective of literary history.
Ep. 69: Ada Limón — Love, Loss, Grief, Joy: Saying “Yes” to It All- THINK ACT BE PODCAST
December 11, 2019; 60 minutes
My guest this week is poet Ada Limón. We discussed several of the recurrent themes in Ada’s two most recent collections of poetry: Bright Dead Things and The Carrying—death, grief, love, joy, and the inextricable link between life’s beauty and sadness. Ada read a few of her poems during the course of our conversation. We also explored the inherent enjoyment in being present, and effective ways of managing stress and uncertainty.
How to Triumph Like a Girl- Poetry Off the Shelf
November 19, 2019; 29 minutes
Producer Helena de Groot explores the diverse world of contemporary poetry with readings by poets, interviews with critics, and short poetry documentaries. Nothing is off limits, and nobody is taken too seriously.
Episode 76: Ada Limón- Commonplace: Conversations with Poets (and Other People)
October 29, 2019; 105 minutes
Rachel Zucker speaks with poet Ada Limón about her life as a poet, especially her two most recent books, The Carrying and Bright Dead Things. Limón speaks openly about contests and prizes, money, taboos around performance, her decision to stop trying to have children, writing about secrets, the privilege of being a writer, leaning toward gratitude, pinning the dragon of the mind to the page, writing as a shareable space and a form of connection and so much more.
Episode 73: Ada Limón- Keep the Channel Open
December 3, 2018; 60 minutes
Ada Limón's latest book of poems, The Carrying, was just released this month by Milkweed Editions, and it's just beautiful. In this episode, Ada and I discuss the book, the power of naming, connection with the Earth, and her collaboration with poet Natalie Diaz. Then in the second segment, we talked about travel and artistic pilgrimages.
Ampersand Episode 21: Ada Limón, Rebecca Solnit- Ampersand: The Poets & Writers Podcast
August 15, 2018; 23 minutes
Ada Limón reads from her new poetry collection, The Carrying; Rebecca Solnit reads from her new essay collection, Call Them by Their True Names.
Ada Limón and Natalie Diaz Discuss "Envelopes of Air"- The New Yorker Poetry Podcast
May 23, 2018; 30 minutes
Ada Limón and Natalie Diaz join Kevin Young to discuss their collaborative poetry project, “Envelopes of Air,” a series of eight poems written in correspondence between the two poets.
The Carrying by
Call Number: Browsing Collection, PS3612.I496 A6 2018
Publication Date: 2018-08-14
"Vulnerable, tender, acute, these are serious poems, brave poems, exploring with honesty the ambiguous moment between the rapture of youth and the grace of acceptance. A daughter tends to aging parents. A woman struggles with infertility--"What if, instead of carrying / a child, I am supposed to carry grief?"--And a body seized by pain and vertigo as well as ecstasy. A nation convulses: "Every song of this country / has an unsung third stanza, something brutal." And still Limón shows us, as ever, the persistence of hunger, love, and joy, the dizzying fullness of our too-short lives. "Fine then, / I'll take it," she writes. "I'll take it all." In Bright Dead Things, Limón showed us a heart "giant with power, heavy with blood"--"the huge beating genius machine / that thinks, no, it knows, / it's going to come in first." In her follow-up collection, that heart is on full display--even as The Carrying continues further and deeper into the bloodstream, following the hard-won truth of what it means to live in an imperfect world."
Bright Dead Things by
Call Number: Browsing Collection, PS3612.I496 .B75 2015
Publication Date: 2015-09-15
""Bright Dead Things" examines the chaos that is life, the dangerous thrill of living in a world you know you have to leave one day, and the search to find something that is ultimately disorderly, and marvelous, and ours"-- Provided by publisher.
Sharks in the Rivers by
Publication Date: 2010-10-01
"Ada Limón is a poet of alchemy, able to transform herself into what is named as she utters the words—hummingbird, river, desire, gone. With Sharks in the Rivers she has created the thing itself, alternating rangy invocations with distilled wildness, always open to wonder." —Nick Flynn
Lucky Wreck by
Call Number: Browsing Collection, PS3612.I496 L83 2006
Publication Date: 2006-01-10
"From the first lines of Lucky Wreck, I was drawn in by this smart, jaunty, musing, quirky voice, and as I read the whole book I felt more and more respect for Ada Limón's risky, haunting, wonderfully unexpected work. Like many of the best writers, she is funny and serious at the same time, the depths and heights are one: lucky wreck!" —Jean Valentine
Literary Sources provides information in primary sources, critical articles, literary and cultural analysis, and biographies.
New York Times Book Review
This link will take you to the New York Times Book Review hosted on the Literature Resource Center database. It includes issues from 2001 to present. You can search within the entire publication (box at top of page) or you can select a specific year from the drop-down menu. Older issues are available via other databases - ask a librarian for help accessing these issues.
Library Journal Book Review
Click on the Library Journal link (use the one that has more full texts available) to access it through the Butler library. Use the author's name as your search term in the "search within the publication" box to find reviews of his/her work.